We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem at the edge of the Namib desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Breeze Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem at the edge of the Namib desert”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Situated on the bank of the Swakop river, the Desert Breeze Lodge offers fantastic views of the majestic Namib Desert. The modern, comfortable and spacious chalet with it's private balcony was extremely good value and being able to take in the fantastic views from the comfort of one's bed was a treat. Margaret Moolman and her team ensured that we had a most enjoyable stay and booked great restaurants for us each evening. We will certainly be back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MikeC7806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
118
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had just camped for a week and took a break here to catch our breath. It was a great place to stay. The room was fantastic and the shower even better (and huge). The food was fabulous as well as the service we got on a night when only my wife and I were dining in. The views are great considering you are on the edge of Swakopmund. The Lodge has a wall around it, which you don't notice, but it gives an air of security to the place too. The artworks dotted around, which I think are by the owner, just make the place feel cared for. Everyone was helpful with any questions we had and booked us a table at The Jetty too for our second night.
We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gislev, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

After having read several reviews about this place before hand we had to try it out ourselves. Especially as we didn't want to stay in the town itself. We had booked for two nights in advance but arrived one day earlier.....and therefore had an extra night in this absolutly amazing lodge. Everything was 1.class and we loved every minute. Three nights was not a day to much for us. The bungalow, the staff, the stunning view and on top the exellent service from Margareth and the rest of the team.
If you love nature and still want to be close to Swakopmund this place is a must.
P.S. Our last night we stayed in Auas Lodge (a sister lodge to Dezert Breeze) very close to the airport. A super lodge where you are in the middle of nowhere and still only an hour from Windhoek airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamapapa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Wonderful decor, excellent service and superb food. The views through the huge picture windows amazing - only regret is that we only had one night. Highly recommended. There was a lovely lounge area with a log burning stove already to light which made the chilly evening a cozy experience.

Room Tip: Worth more than a single night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetandpearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Desert Breeze offered amazing service and its a perfect location offering you the best of both worlds, with the dunes as well as seeing the ocean. A definite must visit! We enjoyed our stay thoroughly and would most certainly stay there again when we visit Namibie again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Minnette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

It was a great pleasure to have stayed at this wonderful property. I had heard of the lodge before hand and couldn't wait to try it myself.

As we checked in, Margareth was phenomenal, she helped us get to know a few things to do while in Swakopmund, super friendly and always with a smile.

Once we checked in the the room, I was amazed at the decor, 5 stars in my book. There was a cute little lounge with a fire place already set up, an amazing view of the dunes can be seen either from the nice little balcony or as you wake up. The window opposite the bed is very wide, giving you a nice panoramic view of the Namib Desert.

Breakfast was also fantastic and it was in a good quiet area.

Thank you for the stay, I will come back for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, but request a room that is furthest out closer to the dunes, more intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

All been said above, but can honestly say that the whole experience (room, location, staff) etc were awesome. I would definitely stay here again. As I only stayed one night, I did not get to try the evening meal but the menu looked good. Breakfast was good - served in the dining room, which also has a great view of the desert.

Room Tip: All rooms look like they would have a good view of the desert, based on the layout of the individual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
2.0 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
329 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
374 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
254 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
339 reviews
1.8 mi away
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
#2 of 35 in Swakopmund
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Breeze Lodge

Property: Desert Breeze Lodge
Address: Riverside Avenue, Swakopmund 4045, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Desert Breeze Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In it’s prime position above the ephemeral Swakop River overlooking a vast and sensuous apricot dune sea, Desert Breeze offers the ultimate desert experience. A short drive from central Swakopmund, its spectacular location provides peace and tranquillity away from the bustling town, and the privilege of savouring the ancient Namib Desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Desert Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing