We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great secluded lodge with amazing desert views and attentive service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Breeze Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great secluded lodge with amazing desert views and attentive service”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Spent two nights here while visiting Swakopmund in August 2014. You get a standalone cottage with privacy, views and working fireplace. There is internet in the rooms as well as the main lodge. Breakfast was fantastic with great views and spacious surroundings. Will stay there again next time am in town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slaskowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
118
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I am late writing this review - I stayed at the Desert Breeze in Aug 2013 and was blown away by the quality of accommodation and the friendly staff. I actually hid a geocache on this location years before and it can still be found just below the property along the river bank. I hope to return again someday soon to stay at this beautiful facility once again. Having lived in Swakop for a year in 2009, I can say this is the place to stay if you wish to have a truly unique African experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mascato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful view at the desert (you can easily leave the hotel and go for a walk in the dunes), very friendly and helpful staff, very nice and spacious cottages with beautiful design and details. Best breakfast miles around. Don't hesitate to ask for tips and bookings in the region. You can blindly follow their dinner recommendations.
Great internet connection, free and throughout the hotel, which is not a given in Namibia... ;).
Don't forget to have a look at the statues which are placed a little bit everywhere on the site. They can be purchased, but are quite heavy...

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights after 2 nights camping in Sesriem, before going up north.. (It's very cold in Swakop, all the guide books recommend getting a room whilst visiting). Great location, amazing views, lovely rooms, good shower, excellent breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful, and booked restaurants for us during our stay. The only heating is a wood burning stove which is fine if you're in the room in time to heat the room before bed, but we were a little chilly even with the extra blankets. Good fast laundry service! Would recommend staying here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NikiF1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
namibia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

It s another jewel the owner added to Swakopmund. His other hotel is The Stiltz. I love Desert Breeze Lodge because it has the great dune landscape right in your room as the oversize windows allow the spectacular view on the ever changing light on the dunes. Breakfast just 5 star. Setback is only that downtown is not really walking distance but the ambiance makes it worthwhile to use a car. Love it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namibpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here with our 6 year old son. We were very impressed with the service, Margaret and her team are awesome! Service with a smile, such friendly and helpful staff. We didn't even have to worry about booking our dinners at the restaurants in town. I mentioned one or two we'd like to go to, we were given additional advice on the different restaurants booked for us and then we left in the team's capable hands. We stayed in the Villa which was absolutely beautiful, matched the views! Breakfasts were delicious. Great place to relax and just enjoy the natural surroundings. Out of town, but not too far to be a problem. We were sorry to have to leave, as it was the perfect end to a great trip. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania7004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights in early July 2014. It isn't the cheapest place in town, but given the overall quality of the accommodation on offer it can still be regarded as excellent value.The entire complex is set up at on one side of the swakop river (which is normally dry) and overlooks a spectacular series of dunes. It is a little ways out, but given the small size of the town this isn't really an impediment.

This is a venue where attention has really been paid to the small details. A distinctive and original vision can be found everywhere you look. The architecture is organised around large windows, high ceilings and lots of hard wood. Each of the stand alone rooms are spacious and well appointed, have spectacular views, fireplaces, and good bathrooms. Breakfast is included, and comes with more than drinkable coffee and a range of superior food options.

It doesn't get much better!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel_Quirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
1.6 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
385 reviews
2.0 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
344 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
260 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
348 reviews
1.8 mi away
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
#2 of 37 in Swakopmund
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Breeze Lodge

Property: Desert Breeze Lodge
Address: Riverside Avenue, Swakopmund 4045, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Desert Breeze Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In it’s prime position above the ephemeral Swakop River overlooking a vast and sensuous apricot dune sea, Desert Breeze offers the ultimate desert experience. A short drive from central Swakopmund, its spectacular location provides peace and tranquillity away from the bustling town, and the privilege of savouring the ancient Namib Desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Desert Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing