We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hansa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hansa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I come regular to Swakopmund , not easy to find a good accommodation. This was my first time in the Hansa Hotel, my previous hotel needed a up grate, refurbish and I tried Hansa...what a pleasure , best Resturant, great service, check rates with booking.com better rates than phoning the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    117
    32
    12
    2
See reviews for
49
149
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
217 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The service was good. Breakfast was average. The rooms were nice. Location was the best part. You can walk to most of the town, including the beach. Most restaurants around were closed on Sunday, so a limited choice for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handywoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Our planned 2-night stay at the Hansa became a 5-night residency following my companion's quad-biking accident & hospitalization -- but despite being fully booked, the kind & caring staff made room for us. I can't say enough good things about the hotel--other reviewers have the great location, charming old-world feel, & delish food covered! So let me just say that the lovely & gracious employees & management of the Hansa are why I'll NEVER stay in a better hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rico, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was undoubtedly the best colonial European style hotel we stayed at during our 17 day travels. Food is excellent - we had a Namibian chateaubriand, that was the best we've ever had. Many really excellant South African wines available, and served in cut crystal wine glasses! Our room was quite spacious, quiet, and comfortable. We walked everywhere from this very central location. Shopping, the Mineral Museum, and restaurants were all close. One feels the German colonial history here. Quite a few small tour groups came and went during our stay. It's wonderful the hotel has been preserved in most of its original state reflecting Namibian history. We had secured, offstreet parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AJCRioRico_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
369 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Amazing hotel excellent service beautiful dinning room and food. The best advice we can say is the value for money of this hotel is excellent. It is priced marginally more than other simple or run of the mill hotels and for an extra $40 US you get the best in town wonderful garden and colonial elegance. It is like the movie Out of Africa. One of our two favourite places out of a 4 week travel around Namibia. Mushara Lodge in Etosha and Palmwag in Damaraland worth looking at, really beautiful. Also Fiume Lodge and a visit to the San bushman a must experience. Cape Cross Lodge Skeleton coast and avoid Damara Mophane Lodge. Waterberg Wilderness Lodge also a very wonderful location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a very pleasant 3 night stay in July. The rooms were spacious and spotless, nicely decorated with a good sitting area. Bathrooms were adequate. The service was good and all staff very friendly and helpful. The location was also good within walking distance of beach and shops. Breakfasts were excellent and catered for all tastes. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leontine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

A fine place to stay in the centre of Swakopmund, with good service, reasonable food and comfortable rooms. Everything feels a bit dated and rather Germanic, but that is part of the charm of a thoroughly enjoyable and historically relevant residence in an interesting, seaside tourist town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BennettG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansa Hotel

Property: Hansa Hotel
Address: 3 Hendrik Witbooi St., Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swakopmund
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hansa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hansa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansa Hotel Swakopmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing