We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hansa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hansa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First Rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I lead a group to this hotel and all was first rate. Very well organized, personable front desk staff and the rooms are clean, spacious and homey since the open up to a nice central courtyard. We walked down to the pier but when we couldn't get in to the restaurant we wanted, we called and asked for a ride back. We were surprised when the driver wouldn't accept a tip.....and we found out he was the manager. He also made sure we were able to squeeze into his fully booked restaurant. note to all: this is a town where reservations are highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxieL202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    117
    32
    12
    2
See reviews for
49
149
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Nice colonial hotel in a good location and friendly and well trained staff. We have been upgraded to a suite which is beautiful.

A place I recommend to all travellers who like some clean and quality accommodation. Wifi is free!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endaxi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have stayed (once again...) in the Hansa this weekend. The old world charm must be seen to be believed. All staff members are well-trained, polite and do their utmost to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The menu caters for every taste and is rife with little surprises that will satisfy the most discerning palate. The hotel pub sports a vintage flair complete with soft lightening, soothing music and a cosiness that encourage you to linger a while longer. Definitely one of Namibia's biggest assets in the hospitality arena. A warm thank you to the Hansa team for an exceptional stay - time after time...

Room Tip: The garden rooms are always a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent two very comfortable nights here in January.
The hotel is very well located in the town centre and is obviously well managed .
The reception staff were rather surly but the breakfast buffet was amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seventy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed three nights in Jan 2014 at the Hansa based on TripAdvisor reviews. Look and feel of the building is certainly very traditional, but everything was kept clean and in tip-top shape. Staff could not be more accommodating. Restaurant truly excellent -- highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go for a suite -- great value for the small extra price! Only caveat is that my suite had aircondit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our family stayed here in January of 2014. The hotel gives off a traditional, old-world, cozy feel. The rooms do need some upgrading. Our showerhead in the bathroom for instance sprayed laterally out of the tubes. The shelf in the closet collapsed after I placed clothes on it. However, despite the need for upgrades to the rooms, overall, I really liked this hotel. Our room had a nice little terrace and it was quiet even though we were in the center of town, conveniently located to all the shops and the waterfront. The service was amazing from the bell-man to the staff at reception to the personnel in the dining room/breakfast area. They were kind, impressively efficient and always helpful. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner - and the food was top-notch, as again was the service. I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Swakopmund.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartaH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Hansa Hotel were able to help me at short notice on my trip to Swakopmund.
Between them and Deutsche Haus they sorted me out with accommodation across a very busy time of year. Following up with me when cancellations came in.

Breakfast service I found to be a bit slow and difficult to get service, but to be honest I was grateful for the room.

Rooms were very nice. The large rooms facing onto the garden are huge.

Slightly more expensive than Deutsche Haus, but much nicer rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground level opening out onto the Garden are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallinandfilmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansa Hotel

Property: Hansa Hotel
Address: 3 Hendrik Witbooi St., Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swakopmund
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hansa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hansa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansa Hotel Swakopmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing