We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little old, but charming and nice”
Review of Hansa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hansa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A little old, but charming and nice”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Pros:
Free, good wifi.
Parking only $2, and secure
Awesome breakfast
Nice area to walk around
Big rooms

Cons:
Antiquated rooms
Staff not very helpful (but everyone in swakopmund seems a little sour), although one lady at customer service went above and beyond to help us get breakfast few minutes early before we left. Wish I knew her name, she stood above!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    118
    32
    12
    2
See reviews for
49
153
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darnestown
Level Contributor
170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our safari took a break between lodges and came into Swakopmund as a base for kayaking in Walvis Bay and then flying over the dunes to Sossusvlei. Hansa Hotel was beautifully located in what we took as the center of town and made easy walking to shops, when they were open! (We were there over a weekend!) The breakfast buffet was very nice and we instantly wanted to stay longer. The dinner was also well prepared and tasty. Our room was on the side of a garden that was situated inside a courtyard like arrangement. So, sitting on our porch, and we also had an ante-room as well as a bathroom and sleeping room, we could enjoy the small, colorful birds coming to the waterfall set out for them. I had unknowingly left a ball cap under my table at one of the meals and was relieved to find the Hotel had retrieved it and courteously made it available to me quickly. By the time we left, we certainly wanted to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandlindaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Hansa Hotel is likely the nicest hotel in this German town locate on the coast of Namibia. It is in the heart of town withing easy walking of the seashore, the local museum, some interesting shops and a variety of restaurants (although the hotel has an excellent restaurant as well). After enjoying a variety of safari camps and lodges it was very pleasant to have a very comfortable bed in a exceptionally quiet room (most rooms face onto an inner courtyard). Free WiFi was only available in the lobby area and a few rooms nearby (for some reason it could not be accessed in the hotel lounge).

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are quietest but all rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a very nice, comfortable, German style hotel in Swakopmund.

Pros:
1) Very clean and well run. The management is professional and reliable.
2) Excellent location. From here you can walk to anywhere in Swapkomund. There are many good restaurants within 5 minutes. There are also some great art galleries around the corner.
3) The hotel is quiet at night, so you can open the windows and enjoy the ocean breeze.
4) Breakfast is a buffet and is plentiful, healthy, and tasty.

Cons:
1) Hotel is fairly dark and uninviting from an aesthetic perspective. This is not a big knock against it. Just a subtle point.
2) Rooms are small and sterile. By sterile I mean, they are very plain. The sheets, colors, and furniture offer very little in the way of style or flare.
3) Lunch and dinner are not particularly tasty. The food is decent, but there are better options within town. The food is a meat and potatoes style, which may appeal to some. When traveling I am looking for a little more pizzaz in my cuisine.

Overall, the hotel is a nice place to stay and reasonable value. The location is the best feature of the hotel, because you can walk anywhere in the city. Even at night you can walk down to the water and go for a beach walk, which I highly recommend after dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGO83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is a very good place to stay in Swakopmund. It is in very good conditions. The rooms as well suits are great. If you walk through the hotel it has the positive flair of the past. When you arrive they offer you a glas of champagne. The service is very good. Breakfast is very good. I would also recommend to have dinner. It is a great kitchen and a good variety of food.

Room Tip: Take a Suite. It is worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexGZrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
558 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The best hotel in Swakopmund. Very good installations, Perfect and very good room. The buffet breakfast was wonderful. The best location in town. Very close to all the attractions, restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kartikmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is situated in the heart of town and it is quite large for this town (perhaps the largest?). Breakfast was a buffet and crowded with several tour groups which made it very hectic. Dinner was great, although at least one tour group was there as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmjngsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
242 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
294 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansa Hotel

Property: Hansa Hotel
Address: 3 Hendrik Witbooi St., Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swakopmund
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hansa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hansa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansa Hotel Swakopmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing