We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and good value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swakopmund
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pension Rapmund
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have been going to Namibia for many years so I know it well. If you want a great place to stay with good value, there is no better. As is typical of Swakopmund, there is no A/C but the ocean breeze cools everything well. The grounds and rooms are well kept and comfortable. You get an ocean view from this hotel, and it is within easy walking distance from downtown. The breakfast is one of the best you will find in Namibia. I highly recommend this place. I have stayed in many places in Swakopmund and the rooms here are as good or better than any other mid priced hotel in the city. It books up early, so reserve as quickly as possible.

Room Tip: Try and get a ground floor room. Some rooms have an ocean view from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geodeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 130 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
105112
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Found this room very tired and dated. Wood paneling with an old green carpet. Very small bathroom. Single beds. Narrow hallways. In need of a complete remodel. Would give it a pass.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This pension is an amazing location! You are 2 minutes from the center or the beach! The value is really good for Swakopmund. We stayed for 4 nights in December and for the first 2 nights had a recently renovated room which was very clean and well done for our last 2 nights they moved us to a sea view room that had not yet been renovated. The reason for the move was because we had not pre-booked and they were trying to accomodate us at a busy time.

The un-renovated room was still clean, the view was ok not great but nice and it offered a patio. Overall for the price still a good value.

Other perks were a nice breakfast complete with made to order eggs, wifi and laundry service. The grounds are well kept and there is a 24 hour security guard for the car park.

A great choice for Swakopmund!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheGirlontheMove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Pension Rapmund is perfectly located in central Swakopmund, a short walking distance from many of the town’s attractions & cafes/restaurants. Our room was simple, bright & clean – the only small concern being the ceiling of the bathroom looked to be old low–density type asbestos panels that weren’t in the best condition. The breakfast was very good. I think we were an oddity as possibly the only non-german speaking guests! – it’s a very german influenced hotel, but the staff were very helpful & friendly despite our language difference. It was a great value stay – very reasonably priced even in peak season.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinkyfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Good clean hotel in the heart of Swakopmund - we had 2 seaview rooms which were light and airy and very clean. Breakfast is also great and overall it's really good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Very clean rooms, very good breakfast and very good position because near shops and sea

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank mariamichela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Last years always stayed here for 2 nights on our trips to Namibia because it has good location and good breakfast. The rooms however needed some updating - which I specified in an earlier review I think.

Now the rooms have been repainted, the bathrooms have been redone and the breakfast room has been updated in nice fresh colours and it's again a GREAT PLACE, really value for money !!
Believe me we went to different hotels and B&B's in Swakopmund and most of them were overpriced. Depending of course if it's value for money or luxury and fancy rooms you're after: we were looking for location, quiet room and clean bathroom.

The rooms are not fancily decorated, just a good bed with clean linen, 2 nighttables with a lamp, desk with chair, 2 easy chairs, cupboard with lock, a bathroom with shower and good towels.
What more do you need?

And the service has - luckily - not changed: a nice hearty breakfast buffet with juice, coffee/ tea, eggs and bacon the way you like, cold meats and cheese, marmite, jam, paté, Namibian salami, toast or buns, yogurt, fresh fruit salad...

Oh yes there's a little kitchenette (no cooking) that you can use which has a fridge and water boiler with free coffee/ tea/ sugar/ milk.

Do make reservations ahead when travelling in high season.
We will be definitely returning to Rapmund Pension for a 5th time :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesertroseBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
297 reviews
3 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
African Pride Burning Shore
African Pride Burning Shore
#19 of 19 in Swakopmund
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension A la Mer
Hotel Pension A la Mer
#13 of 19 in Swakopmund
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Rapmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Rapmund

Address: 6 Bismarck Street | PO Box 425, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range: £91 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Rapmund 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Rapmund Hotel Swakopmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing