We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid B&B at the heart of Swakopmund”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swakopmund
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pension Rapmund
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

This Guesthouse is located very close to the coastline, in view of the light house - which is nice for the sunset views. The house itself offers basic facilities and is family run. The rooms are a bit noisy as the backyard is used as smoking area and can be heard in all rooms - which also goes for conversations from neighbouring rooms. Parking facilities are guarded 24/7 - however the nearby park seems to attract some unpleasent folk at night ... .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Mitweltler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms are big, we had two separate bedrooms with locks and a shared living area with small kitchen and a little balcony. Carpets and curtains a bit dated. Breakfast was fine, but could have done with a bigger selection. WiFi didn't work well in the room. But the place is situated in a great location near the beach and the certre of Swakopmund.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We enjoyed staying at hotel pension Rapmund. Room is neat and clean. Breakfast ok. Wifi available, though signal not very strong. Centrally located, and near to the sea. Good value for money. Recommendable!
It is not mossige to have dinner there, but there are plenty of restaurants, Tug being à very good one, though we also enjoyed Lighthouse Restaurant!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank WimBelgieNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is the kind of hotel you want stay in if you do not intend to just stay in your room. It is very efficient and clean. The staff is super helpful and friendly. The location cannot be better, close to everything. Beds very good. Showers very good. Stay here if you are using Swakopmund as a base for exploration of this part of the Namibian coast. We enjoyed it.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I first stayed here in 1989, when it was run by the mother and daughter Rapmund team, and several times since. Now, the elder Mrs. Rapmund is gone, and her daughter has sold the hotel to cousins, so it is still in the family. It is a little more impersonal now, but this remains the best situated hotel in the city, walking distance to any place in town, and a pleasant, relaxed facility.

The breakfast is more substantial now than in the old days, but I missed Mrs. Rapmund's freshly baked pastries. Our room was fine, on the ground floor in the corner, so with cross ventilation. The prices remain reasonable. I wouldn't look anywhere else in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveyL759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed for three days during December holidays and was pleasantly surprised at the value for money we got. We had the family room, it had a sea view and thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast which was included in the rate. Friendly staff, helpful management and a hotel which we will visit again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have been going to Namibia for many years so I know it well. If you want a great place to stay with good value, there is no better. As is typical of Swakopmund, there is no A/C but the ocean breeze cools everything well. The grounds and rooms are well kept and comfortable. You get an ocean view from this hotel, and it is within easy walking distance from downtown. The breakfast is one of the best you will find in Namibia. I highly recommend this place. I have stayed in many places in Swakopmund and the rooms here are as good or better than any other mid priced hotel in the city. It books up early, so reserve as quickly as possible.

Room Tip: Try and get a ground floor room. Some rooms have an ocean view from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geodeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pension A la Mer
Hotel Pension A la Mer
#13 of 19 in Swakopmund
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#10 of 19 in Swakopmund
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Rapmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Rapmund

Address: 6 Bismarck Street | PO Box 425, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range: £86 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Rapmund 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Rapmund Hotel Swakopmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing