We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint -- we loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pension A la Mer
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Of course we live in a 100+ year-old house so felt at home in lovely and spacious room. Great location, only about 2 blocks from the beach and short walk to the downtown area. Wonderful complete hot breakfast and buffet. Reassuring to find security guard on duty, even after dark by the hotel's front gate. Prefer this to newer places on the edge of town. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room on SW edge -- good view of Tug Restaurant and the Atlantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights in July 2011.

We usually stay at backpackers but the one we stayed at for our first couple of nights in Swakop didn't seem to do hot water for showers, nor helpful customer service (ie were unable to answer a few questions about where in town to find things), so for our return after 4 weeks camping without showers, we splashed out and stayed here.

The room faced south and didn't get any sun so it was a little dark, but spacious and clean and tidy. We were there in winter and the temperature indoors was fine; I got the impression that it would be lovely and cool in summer. The bathroom was very nice and there was plenty of hot water!!!! The location is excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful; breakfast was also very good. We didn't have a car at that stage, but there seemed to be parking available directly outside the unit

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This pleasant guesthouse is well situated in the town centre, not far from the seafront. Everything is within walking distance. The rooms are basic but functional, and the excellent breakfasts are served in magnificent high-ceiling rooms.
The receptionist was extremely helpful in organising our activities/excursions.
If you're looking for a reasonably priced, centrally-located hotel, A la Mer is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

This is a great place if you are on a budget and are ok with the basics. It is spotlessly clean and safe but the rooms are not well lighted if you want to read or work. If you are a tourist, it is in a great walking location to everything in town, especially near to The Tug restaurant, the best for seafood in Swakopmund.

Breakfast is average, limited fresh fruits and the standard English breakfast of cooked eggs and bacon. The proprietor is lovely, friendly and helpful. Remember, the winters (June, July, August) in Swakopmund are cold and foggy and although there is underfloor heating in the bathroom, the bedrooms are cold. Forunately, there were extra blankets. Also, there is no air conditioning, and it does get hot during the summer.

Stayed: July 2008
4  Thank drdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2007

This hotel was well priced, had a very nice tastefull decor and excellent service. Hotel staff make you feel very welcome and will make sure you have everything you need. They will post your cards, call a taxi, switch on underfloor heating in your room and make eggs for breakfast just as you like them. Hotel is close to the town centre and the beach. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank If_else
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Treuiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Elisabetta333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
BON Hotel Swakopmund
BON Hotel Swakopmund
#12 of 19 in Swakopmund
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#10 of 19 in Swakopmund
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension A la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension A la Mer

Address: 4 Libertina Amathila Ave, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range: £52 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension A la Mer 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pension A la Mer is situated in the heart of Swakopmund and offers you charming accommodation with en-suite bathrooms. We are only 20sec away from the beach and jetty and 60sec from city centre. Warm and friendly atmosphere with a sumptious breakfast. 24 hour security and secured parking is part of the service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pension A la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing