We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pension A la Mer
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights during a 2 week tour of Nambia. Great location close to the sea front and jetty. Nice, if a little dark, spacious rooms and friendly staff. The (German) lady running the breakfast seems a little scary at first as you have to follow her system for ordering, or else! In fact she just wanted to make sure everyone got exactly what they wanted - the choices were endless, and was charming. It was the most fun breakfast you could imagine with lots of laughter all round and most importantly it sets everyone up for another busy long day exploring Namibia. Don't miss the underfloor heating in the bathroom - very welcome and useful. The hotel is secure at night with a gate attendant. There are lots of choices for food around town in the evening. This is the ideal place for a (slightly) more relaxed stopover than elswhere in this spectacular wonderful country.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeasonedTraveller055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

The location is perfect. Close to the shopping areas and the jetty and beach. The main part of the hotel is two storeyed. We stayed on one of the rooms on the side that made for a quieter experience. Breakfast was full English and it was cute seeing the hand signs used by our waitress to describe eggs - whether scrambled, fried or hard-boiled. The room was clean and comfortable with an attached bath. The parking lot was secure. We walked to the light house and all the shopping areas.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main block make for a more private experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kashgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed at A La Mer in July as part of a tour group of 6 people. Great location. Rooms were fine. Not much light but clean. Didn't discover the heated floor in the bathroom until the last day :(
Very nice breakfast though they are stingy with the bacon. Ask for extra as you order your eggs.
My main complaint is that they tried to overcharge us on the laundry by 50%. When we arrived I asked about charges. I was told it was N$80 for a small bag. When we got the bill the desk person said it was N$120. I showed the gentleman my receipt which clearly said N$80 and he grudgingly accepted it. The next morning as we were leaving the woman at the front desk was very unpleasant and aggressive in trying to collect the balance. She said the old price was N$80 when they did the laundry in house but now they were sending it out so it was more expensive. I said they hadn't made that clear from the start. She was so aggressive I finally called in our tour leader to get her off my back. It's a small amount but the attitude rankled. She gave in b/c I guess she needs the tour business. So, overall, hotel was ok but I'm taking off a star for the unpleasantness at the end.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francoise1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

OK, let me start with the hotel! It is a gated facility with about 25 rooms located 3 blocks from the ocean. They have WiFi here so you can get a few emails read. The rooms are not spectacular but the breakfast is the best we had in weeks. An old German woman takes egg orders and runs the dining room like a military commander! I mean that in the most wonderful way she had us laughing all morning. The food was fantastic with lots of German dishes thrown in. The city was just a pleasure to visit. Be sure to dine at the Lighthouse, it's a local place and the food was really good. The shops had lots of great items and if you can don't miss the township tour you will not be sorry, they serve a traditional African lunch and the singing by local boys is wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian7992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Great place in Swakopmund. Very good value for money. Bathrooms are very original (design-wise). Rooms are spacious and clean. There is no TV.
Breakfast was generous.
Very helpful staff.
Great location downtown, close to restaurants, bars and seaside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViLidgeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Of course we live in a 100+ year-old house so felt at home in lovely and spacious room. Great location, only about 2 blocks from the beach and short walk to the downtown area. Wonderful complete hot breakfast and buffet. Reassuring to find security guard on duty, even after dark by the hotel's front gate. Prefer this to newer places on the edge of town. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room on SW edge -- good view of Tug Restaurant and the Atlantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights in July 2011.

We usually stay at backpackers but the one we stayed at for our first couple of nights in Swakop didn't seem to do hot water for showers, nor helpful customer service (ie were unable to answer a few questions about where in town to find things), so for our return after 4 weeks camping without showers, we splashed out and stayed here.

The room faced south and didn't get any sun so it was a little dark, but spacious and clean and tidy. We were there in winter and the temperature indoors was fine; I got the impression that it would be lovely and cool in summer. The bathroom was very nice and there was plenty of hot water!!!! The location is excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful; breakfast was also very good. We didn't have a car at that stage, but there seemed to be parking available directly outside the unit

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
BON Hotel Swakopmund
BON Hotel Swakopmund
#13 of 19 in Swakopmund
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
430 reviews
0 mi away
African Pride Burning Shore
African Pride Burning Shore
#19 of 19 in Swakopmund
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension A la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension A la Mer

Address: 4 Libertina Amathila Ave, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range: £52 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension A la Mer 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pension A la Mer is situated in the heart of Swakopmund and offers you charming accommodation with en-suite bathrooms. We are only 20sec away from the beach and jetty and 60sec from city centre. Warm and friendly atmosphere with a sumptious breakfast. 24 hour security and secured parking is part of the service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pension A la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing