We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good I keep going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So good I keep going back!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We came here for the first time in September 2009 for our honeymoon. This place is really amazing, all rooms have views of the ocean which is on your doorstep. Tranquil seaside setting with their own restaurant that serves wonderful breakfasts and dinners.

The best is to sit on your balcony and watch the beautiful Namibian sunsets over a bottle of wine, then take a nice long stroll along the beach.

I can highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you are there for a special event as for the honeymoon suite, it has the most beautiful bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinStyle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    112
    44
    12
    1
See reviews for
79
136
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This place rocked. I only wish I had a few extra days in Swakopmund to truly enjoy it. Fab customer service, great restaurant and large, comfy rooms, right near the waves. I was visiting the Beach Lodge in winter, when there was a lovely chill in the air and fantastic sunsets. Even though this place is a bit farther out of town, it's well worth it (and Taxi services are available). No complaints!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed at the Beach Lodge for 3 nights, and were highly impressed with the cleanliness, comfort, genuine hospitality of the staff and of course, deliciousness of The Wreck restaurant. Definitely one of the best choices for foodies in town! Having access to the beach but being slightly out of the main bustle of Swakopmund couldn't have been a better fit for our needs. Thank you to Andre and everyone at the Beach Lodge who made our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles and Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The Beach Lodge is situated right on the beach so has a great aspect. We had a first floor two bed apartment with balcony facing the sea. The accommodation was very clean and modern with quirky features like circular windows to mimic the porthole of a ship. We had initially thought this would have two separate bedrooms but the doube bed was in an open plan living area just off the kitchen so privacy was a slight issue but we coped.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and had a really great meal. Top quality food, presentation, large portions. A bit formal but great value.

Room Tip: If you need to have two separate bedrooms you would be better booking two separate rooms rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordhoek, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We had a very pleasant two night stay at Beach Lodge. We stayed in a family room on the ground floor, so had a veranda overlooking the beautiful beach, and could take a stroll on the long, sandy beach. Falling asleep at night to the sounds of the waves was blissful. The service from the breakfast staff can definitely be better - it's not bad or rude, but really not friendly or attentive either. I would say the accommodation at Beach Lodge is definitely fair value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solospiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this most unusual of settings - it is difficult to tell in Swakopmund where the desert finishes and the beach starts, so it is handy to have a well-watered lawn in front of the hotel that divides the two!
We actually wanted an extra day but it was no trouble at all to start with one room and then move on to our designated one the next day - both rooms were well appointed, very comfortable, wonderful sea views and balconies for that early evening drink to accompany the sunset. Staff were helpful and informative and very patient - we had three goes at sorting out the safe combination but they remained cheerful throughout!
The Wreck was superb - we eventually dined in every night they were open the food, wine and service were so good. We tried to branch out one night and visited a well-known place in the town but after a very minutes of an indifferent greeting, a dreadful table and poor service we hot-footed it back, and the charming staff fitted us in although they were, like most nights, very busy. We did try the chef's recommendation for lunch, which is actually in the lighthouse, not the Lighthouse Restaurant, and that was very good.
If you want to eat something in your room plates and cutlery can be provided - you have a fridge and a bottle of wine is always forthcoming. We felt that one addition which might be worth considering is the provision of some shade on the lawn - it can get very hot there in the middle of the afternoon - some umbrellas or awnings would help.
All the staff from the man who helps park your car to the restaurant team and the housekeepers were engaged and helpful - you sense a good team spirit operates here.
We did a desert trip one morning with a real local character called Tommy - his wife picked us up and he dropped us off. It was really interesting and good value, but make sure you get him - there are other options, one of which has a similar look and feel, but is not the real deal.
A really fascinating and sophisticated town and what a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a full sea view - it is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

NIce location if a bit out of town, but nice to be on the beach.
The guys in the car park clean your car every day whether to needs it or not.
Very nice restaurant but seem a bit vague service wise for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
3.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
253 reviews
2.9 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
327 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
107 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
242 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge Swakopmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge Swakopmund

Property: Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Address: 1 Stint St | Vogelstrand, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Swakopmund
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Lodge Swakopmund 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Beach Lodge Swakopmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Lodge Swakopmund Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing