We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience, unforgettable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Lodge Swakopmund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Maun
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience, unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Beach Lodge is incredible! We loved every moment of our stay there. Our room was out of this world and we just loved the attention to details. It was luxurious. The staff at Beach Lodge made us feel so welcome and were ever so helpful. Breakfast was always delicious and the staff can be complimented on their excellent warm service. The Wreck restaurant is stunning and can't be beaten! The Gemsbok steak comes highly recommended as well as the decadent chocolate mousse! Compliments to the service staff, they were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BotsTravellerMaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    99
    41
    12
    1
See reviews for
71
124
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Beach Lodge, Swakopmund

The arrival at the lodge is somewhat unfriendly with a security guard checking if you parked in the correct bay, as if you would have any clue on arrival. The rooms have a beautiful view over the Atlantic Ocean ( ours was “outeniqua room”), but are small, especially if you have some luggage. The bathroom is also rather small and wasn’t very clean as some hairs on the floor proved. No guest toiletries available. The restaurant was closed, as it was a public holiday when we stayed at the lodge. A drive to town is about 4 km and the lodge is situated in a newly built development outside town, would have preferred a more typical, “German” accommodation in center town. We also didn't like the children of other guests shouting and screaming early morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stefaan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
188 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Have been there for the second time after almost ten yrs. The hotel is now bigger but still a nice place (with guarded parking, which is a plus, though parking lots are small) as it is located right next to the beach, which is the crucial plus, some km north of Swakop (which is a minus).

The restaurant was closed while we've been there, and -very odd- their espresso-machine is not for breakfast use, not even if you offer to pay.
Bf is good, though not special, service is friendly but slow. Our room was spacious and the terrace facing the garden and Atlantic, we would chose it again.

We've been there in low-season, but prices were not negociable. We were given internet-access f.o.c. but no further discount.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vielreisende R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromont, Canada
Level Contributor
308 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Small scale hotel, all rooms are facing the sea , are spacious and well equipped. Very clean. Those on the first floor have a patio where you can relax with a glass of wine and enjoy the sound of the waves. PS. no a/c.
The restaurant (the wreck) is awesome. Service is exceptional and their wine temperature is perfect.The Presentation of the plates is a delight for the eyes. You would think that you are in a french restaurant (this is not the case) . The food is extremely good.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

A nice, clean lodge in a quiet street about 10 minutes from Swakopmund CBD. Very quaint layout with rooms along oddly angled passages. There are about 7 single rooms, all equipped with all of the comforts from home, and giving a pleasant hotel experience. There are 3 or 4 "suites" which sleep more than 2, and up to 6 (I think). I had no expectations, and I was pleasantly surprised. A little on the expensive side, but the morning walk on the beach made me forget about the price. The breakfast at The Wreck restaurant was average to mediocre, slow service and cold coffee!!
WI Fi access is speedy, but also a bit on the expensive side. N$40 for 60 MB. I will go back, though.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Rude, arrogant Managers & Owner on arrival. Poor room nothing like the pics. We checked out in less than an hour & had been booked in for 12 nights. The location was beautiful and we did enjoy an lovely meal with a beautiful view of the ocean at The Wreck Restaurant at the end of our visit to Swakopmund. We did go on to enjoy a fabulous holiday at another lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TraceyOwgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

When you book a hotel on line.. you have to trust the photos.. when the photos show the honeymoon suite (but don't say it is the honeymoon suite).. you expect your room to look like that.. my disappointment was obvious! The bath with the gorgeous round window and the view of the sea turned out to be a grim musty little room without any windows at all! When we expressed our surprise to the Booking Manager, Ariane van Rensburg.. oh my word!! I have NEVER been spoken to like that in my life before, let alone by someone who is to provide me a service.. after an abusive conversation she told us that if we get out of her hotel we can have our full deposit for the the 14 days back.. I have NEVER left a place so fast before.. never ever again! The restaurant was nice..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
3.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.9 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge Swakopmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge Swakopmund

Property: Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Address: 1 Stint St | Vogelstrand, Swakopmund, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Swakopmund
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Lodge Swakopmund 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Lodge Swakopmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Lodge Swakopmund Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing