We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories of a life time!!!”

Sun Sail Catamarans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come join us on our catamarans in comfort and style, with complementary sparkling wine and fresh Atlantic oysters, you experience all the splendid riches our Atlantic ocean has to offer: leaping dolphins, tame seals jumping onboard to greet you, pelicans hovering over looking for fish, and don't forget the seasonal whales. This relaxing yet adventurous cruise is guided by our friendly staff, departing daily from Walvis Bay Waterfront and sailing along the beautiful lagoon area, passing by the oyster farms, shipwreck at Pelican Point, the seal colony and the lighthouse. Duration: 3 hours Open on Sundays & Public Holidays *Children friendly *Wheelchair friendly
Pokhara, Nepal
1 review
“Memories of a life time!!!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We all such a great time......Carol-Ann you're the best! It was an enjoyable trip with a lot to see. We were fortunate enough to see dolphins, hundreds of seals, pelicans and flamingo's. My kids loved the fresh oysters served on board and the boat ride was fantastic! We would recommend this trip to everyone out there wanting to enjoy a very relaxing tour with Captain Hans and his crew!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Netia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great morning out”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Very accommodating, knowledgable and welcoming. Capt hans and wife were funny and kept us well informed about what we were seeing and shared info about pretty much everything. Had a great time on the water. Snacks were more like a lunch.

Seals on the boat and pictures up close. Would recommend them for sure!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bazzabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Well worth the price”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were fetched from our hotel in Swakopmund and taken to walvis. The Cat departed on time and Hans and his wife were most informative. We saw pelicans, sea lions , flamingoes and even the elusive sun fish. Lunch was in great abundance and we had a fantastic time. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaunb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
“Awesome, fun, refreshing and insightful!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

What an awesome trip we had, don't even talk about the sense of humour and the best biology lessons from Captain Carol Ann! The crew was so patient and caring and they made sure that we enjoyed every second on the yacht. Will definitely take my family on that sail one day soon. The Nedloans year-end function 2013 will be remembered for a very long time, thanks to this wonderful experience. Isolde

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isolde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“What a fantastic morning!”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We had the most amazing trip with Sun Sail, we picked them as we really wanted a catamaran trip. We met at the yacht club in Walvis Bay and found out that another group had pulled out at the last moment for personal reasons so we were the only guests!

We had the most beautiful morning weather wise but no wind which meant no ‘sailing’ but the motor was so quiet we did not notice it at all. Before we had gone far we were joined on board by ‘Archie’ the most adorable Cape Fur (South African) Seal looking for fish. After he had eaten his allowed 3 he stayed with us a while longer before diving off the boat. He was the first of 3 seals who joined us on our trip the other 2 staying for much longer and one even touring the boat looking for fish!

We went out to the seal colony and got so close it was fantastic, watching them diving in and out of the water as we ‘floated’ amongst them. Watching them interact on the beach was fascinating as well.

We were so lucky and also saw heavy sided dolphins as well as Pelicans who were tempted with fish to fly alongside the boat so we got some great photos of them in flight.

Lunch was an great spread of finger food as well as local oysters and South African ‘champagne’ the crew were wonderful and so knowledgeable we learnt so much from them and had a wonderful morning.

I would really really recommend using them if you are looking to take a boat trip.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma_N68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Sail Catamarans also viewed

Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 

Been to Sun Sail Catamarans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing