We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent experience”

Sun Sail Catamarans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come join us on our luxurious sailing catamarans in comfort and style, with complementary sparkling wine and fresh Atlantic oysters, you experience all the splendid riches our Atlantic ocean has to offer: leaping dolphins, tame seals jumping onboard to greet you, pelicans hovering over looking for fish, and don't forget the seasonal whales. This relaxing yet adventurous cruise is guided by our friendly staff, departing daily from Walvis Bay Waterfront and sailing along the beautiful lagoon area, passing by the oyster farms, shipwreck at Pelican Point, the seal colony and the lighthouse. Duration: +/- 3 hours *Children friendly *Wheelchair friendly
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
228 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went not for the first time into the Walvis Bay Lagoon, but for the first time with a Catamaran. It was very relaxing as we didn't chase after the Dolphins and still saw them. Captain Rudi was funny and explained a lot about the animals which came on board. I never came in such close contact with a seal. She was hugging me and I was soaked but nevertheless it was just GREAT! The snacks and drinks on offer were excellent and tasty!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susanne412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Captain Hans is a funny friendly man, buffet is good, but only one glass of champagne which was a pity

Strangest thing for us was that Hans And his mate were feeding the animale with lots of fish. The seals were not wild anymore as they did all kind of trics for more fish.. Instead of a relaxing sailing trip and enjoying wild nature, it became an animal show.. The Chinese loved it but i couldn't help wondering if this is good for the eco system of Walvis Bay...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susannekoolhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hjm1510, Owner at Sun Sail Catamarans, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Suzanne
Its a pity the tour is not what you expected. The fact that seals jump on the boat has always been an attraction. Most of the seals that jump on the boat do so as they where saved by Skippers who found them dying on the beach at an early age. These animals are free to roam the seas as they wish and we do see that some rehabilitated seals do their own fishing.
Please could you supply us with a date of your cruise as we can not find your name on our booking sheet. We would like to follow up as to why you where only offered one glass of sparkling wine.
Thank you for your review.
all the best
Captain Hans and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Nice tour but not too much action or adventure. They take you out and show you seals and dolphins. The star attraction are the seals when they jump onto the boat. The crew is very friendly. The skipper seems a bit grumpy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank endaxi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hjm1510, Owner at Sun Sail Catamarans, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review. although it is with certainty that seals jump on the boat we can never predict nature. Its like driving to the etosha. will I see lion or not. some days at sea we are presented with natures circus display of dolphins whales etc, but then there are days that we see nothing. The disapointment of these days does sometimes rub off on the skipper who has the task of finding these animals.
Please could we have a date and Catamaran name as found out who the skipper was.
I do hope that you will visit us again and get lucky with seeing the dolphins, whales etc
all the best
Captain Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokhara, Nepal
1 review
“Memories of a life time!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We all such a great time......Carol-Ann you're the best! It was an enjoyable trip with a lot to see. We were fortunate enough to see dolphins, hundreds of seals, pelicans and flamingo's. My kids loved the fresh oysters served on board and the boat ride was fantastic! We would recommend this trip to everyone out there wanting to enjoy a very relaxing tour with Captain Hans and his crew!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Netia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great morning out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Very accommodating, knowledgable and welcoming. Capt hans and wife were funny and kept us well informed about what we were seeing and shared info about pretty much everything. Had a great time on the water. Snacks were more like a lunch.

Seals on the boat and pictures up close. Would recommend them for sure!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bazzabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Sail Catamarans also viewed

Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 

Been to Sun Sail Catamarans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing