We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe,clean & cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oyster Box Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 18 Walvis Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very interesting structure where to stay in Walvys Bay ,prices are ok and is very clean . Security is really ok and you're next to ( about 500 meters by walk) the yacht center where to arrange for sea excursion . In the same area you'll find also restaurant and coffee' lounge bar

Room Tip: with a little extra you can ask for a seaview room but all rooms are really ok
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorenzo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Oyster Box Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

A little pretentious. More show off than substance. Our room was on top of a staircase, difficult to access and we had to carry the luggage up and down.The bedroom was too small, the bathroom too basic. Service lamentably poor and unprofessional (though a common problem in Namibia where people is generally untrained and think that service is a sort of a "capitis diminutio") Probably this was caused by lack of managing supervision. Not good value for money.

Room Tip: Try at least to get a room with sea view.But not on the ground floor because people can watch you fr...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcello R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

After two weeks in game lodges this was a return to something a little more familiar. Spotlessly clean, modern, well equipped and just over the road from the famous lagoon. Location and standard of room could hardly be bettered with a warm welcome from friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had booked a seaview room back in Sept 2012 but when we arrived we were given room 1 on ground floor. If one person sat right by the door, they could just see the sea around the corner - this was a disappointment as we wanted to watch the birdlife. The room was fine and the location itself is good. We found the staff of young women very remote - they did not seem to really understand what their job was about. We only had one night on a Sunday, so all lthe great places to eat were shut - we ate in, and the sausage and chips was ok, the apfelstrudel very good. On trying to check out, we again had to really find the staff - in the end I left the key on the desk as there was noone around and there were several other sets of people waiting to check out. I think that perhaps the manager was not there as there was noone who seemed to be in charge or ready to help with any query or get things to happen.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are probably better and have actual views of the lagoon!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I loved staying in this hotel. The view is just spectacular. The flamingos and the sunset are worth the money you spend here. Service is good and they provide a very good breakfast. I would advice people to eat lunch and dinner somewhere else unless you feel like being lazy and love curry wurst and schnitzel. They even bring it to your room so I opted for an evening eating curry wurst.
The only thing that makes me complain is the fact that the sheets were not clean and the bed covers were full of spots. Pity in a place like this.

Room Tip: If you care about the view choose a room with a lake view
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leehaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I dont think there is any place that beats this in Walvis when it comes to location. Its facing the lagoon, a walk to the waterfront and there is a dining place just a stone away from this guest house. Very airy and spacious, lovely rooms. Unfortunately when we got there it rained for the first time in 2 years and seemed as if noone ever expected the rain so it was a bit chilly and the heater wasnt working properly. BUT everything else was awesome and i'd definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are the best Have a glass of wine at the guest house lounge
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babalina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at the guest house for three nights in May. The location was away from the central business area, but great for walking along the Esplanade and watching the birds, especially the thousands of flamingos. The breakfast room and the sitting area, both with views of the water, were bright and comfortable spaces for reading and checking wifi sites.

The breakfast buffet was good and the staff was very nice, but the lack of attention to detail did not fit with the upscale image the guesthouse seemed to be trying to convey and the cost of the room. For example, the prominent swing seat on the front veranda was broken, the fresh oyster sign in front of the guesthouse had the arrow pointing the wrong way, and there was only one clothes hanger in our room. Another negative was the lack of a kettle in our room which meant we needed to go to reception, order and purchase tea. The nearby Raft Restaurant and Bar on the Esplanade offers excellent and reasonably priced vegan and vegetarian options, beyond the usual pasta.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aroundthenextcorner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walvis Bay
0.7 mi away
Lagoon Loge
Lagoon Loge
#1 of 5 in Walvis Bay
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Langholm Hotel
The Langholm Hotel
#2 of 5 in Walvis Bay
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay
0.4 mi away
1932 House Bed & Breakfast
1932 House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 18 in Walvis Bay
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Box Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Box Guesthouse

Address: Esplanade & 2nd Street, Walvis Bay, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Walvis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Walvis Bay
Price Range: £87 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Box Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oyster Box Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing