We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Walvis Bay
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Usual business stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I often stay at the Protea Hotel Walvis Bay and as a business traveller have found it convenient. The rooms, I prefer the outside rooms, are spacious and comfortable.

The staff are friendly and helpful and there is a reasonable buffet breakfast available (with eggs available to order).

The ugraded wi fi is useful but temperamental at times.

I would only like to have a lamp/light on the desk so that one can work at night.

Otherwise, I will be back again.

Room Tip: If on business for a few days book an outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    35
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
12
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just returned from a two-week stay at the downtown Protea Hotel at Nujoma and 10th Road in Walvis Bay, Namibia. This is my Walvis Bay home, as of now. The two-room suite was home. Laundry was picked up and delivered every day. The restaurant food was just like the food my mother used to make. Meat, veggies, potatoes, and some wonderful dessert. Lots of salads and fruits available. I stuck to meat and potatoes and cauliflower, broccoli, zucchini, squash, and carrots--all subtly flavored for optimum taste. Roast beef, fish, chicken, pork were all yummy. Even occasional pork belly and mealies were tasty diversions, with lots of gravy. The staff is warm and friendly, the grounds are attractive, what more can you want? A nice Windhoek beer to top it off.

Room Tip: We had room 325. Perfect. Secure parking a few steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria da Feira
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel bedrooms are spread over some buildings in a nicely manner. It has plenty of parking. Very nice breakfast with plenty of choices. The only thing that they should improve is the wi-fi, at the time it wasn't working that well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danrodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have been visiting this hotel for many years and its always been a pleasure staying here, specifically for their friendly and accommodating staff. My preferences are noted and always accommodated, both in terms of rooms and meals. With every visit there has been subtle upgrades - the last affected the family units. Rooms have been refurbished - carpets and furnishing - and are spacious and comfortable. Only downside is the outside door linking the adjacent units - its loud on closing and if your neighbor forgets to close it on a windy night.....
Rooms are thoroughly cleaned daily, access to free WIFI. Restaurant provides meals just about all day, with a decent variety for both breakfast and supper,,,, and the chef will happily serve specific needs request.
My preference is the family units - has a massive bathroom with separate lounge area (extra sleepers) as well as a microwave, teas/coffee and bar fridge.

Room Tip: Any of the Family Rooms adjacent to the hotel complex - note though the further you away from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayroon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Kayroon14,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for going the extra mile.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Regards
Werner & The Protea Hotel Walvis Bay TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Brand new conferencing facilities. Softs and many other refurbs are really showing a difference but most impressive of all is the improvement of overall service and attention to detail. Rooms are huge, breakfast variety is beyond expected and the WIFI is free and fast. Very comfortable and clean environment and experience.

Room Tip: Outside family rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle2014-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Michelle 2014-02,

Wow, Thank you very much for the amazing review you left us on TripAdvisor!

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Walvis Bay and to hearing from you again!

Regards
Werner & The Protea Hotel Walvis Bay TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I stay there a few times before . Every visit is welcomed with a smile, friendly service, clean rooms and great coffee. Management is constantly improving on service standarts and Hotels short falls. Last year they did not have conferencing facilities at all. This year the hotel boasts with a brand new state of the art conference venue with the most advanced conference facilities.
It was nice staying there. Home away from home

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tracy-lee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Tracy-lee d,

As a loyal GUEST of the Protea Hotel Walvis Bay, we are delighted to receive your review.

You are spot on when referring to the fact that we constantly aim to improve the standards, infact we strive to delivery spectacular GUEST service by doing the basics right all of the time and not just some of the time.


We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Walvis Bay!

Kind regards

Werner and the Protea Hotel Walvis Bay TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Clean, spacious, comfortable room. We were pleasantly surprised as we expected a standard room but was shown to a 'suite' in the newer part of the building. Large, comfortable lounge area with DSTV, tea and coffee making facilities as well as a microwave. The bathroom was massive and the bed ultra comfortable with another tv in the room.
Loved the chocolates in the room when we came back from lunch in town.
A buffet breakfast, served in the comfortable restaurant, consisted of a decent spread with all the usual offerings.
The staff were friendly, efficient and professional.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Carol N,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback here on TripAdvisor.

We were very happy that the complimentary room upgrade meant this much to you and we appreciate the comments about our facilities.

We are firm believers in getting the basics right and reading your comments about the service & STAFF being friendly and helpful is testament to this.

Thank you so much for the review and be sure to visit us again when next in Walvis Bay.

Kind regards

Werner and the Protea Hotel Walvis Bay TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walvis Bay
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay
0.7 mi away
The Langholm Hotel
The Langholm Hotel
#2 of 5 in Walvis Bay
68 reviews
18.8 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
327 reviews
10.4 mi away
African Pride Burning Shore
African Pride Burning Shore
#19 of 19 in Swakopmund
51 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay
Address: Corner Sam Nujoma and 10th road, Walvis Bay 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Walvis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Walvis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Walvis Bay - Your oasis in the Namib. Located in the heart of a vibrant fishing town, Protea Hotel Walvis Bay offers affordable Namibia accommodation in breathtaking surrounds. Featuring large, airy rooms and modern design, Protea Hotel Walvis Bay Lodge is the ideal springboard to the fascinating harbour town. Set in a landscape of remarkable juxtaposition, where ancient deserts give way to sparkling oceans and rich wetland expanses, Walvis Bay is one of Nambia's most popular destinations. From Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Walvis Bay, you're just a few minutes from the region's top attractions, which include dune, water-based and outdoor activities, from camel rides and quad-biking to hiking, hang-gliding and golf on desert courses. You're also just a short walk from restaurants, banks, the bustling harbour and superb shopping opportunities. As a well-appointed coastal hotel in Namibia, Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Walvis Bay provides every amenity for a comfortable and relaxed stay. All rooms are en-suite and feature air-conditioning, satellite TV, Free Wi-Fi Internet connectivity and ergonomically-designed desks. It's the ideal Walvis Bay accommodation from which to explore the town, unwind after busy days of sightseeing, or marvel at the flocks of flamingos at sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing