We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to catch the boat trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Walvis Bay Pelican Bay
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Walvis Bay
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were a small group consisting of family members and friends that stayed there for one night with the primary aim to do a boat cruise. We stayed on the first floor with a view over the lagoon which is west and thus ideal for sunset viewing. We were booked for "double rooms" with the option of inner connecting doors that was welcomed by some members in our party. The rooms were very spacious and neat and they have small balcony with a view over the lagoon. The staff were very friendly and also assisted us with the booking for a boat cruise at no extra cost. The departure points for the boat cruises are within walking distance (5 minutes) from the hotel. The hotel has a spacious restaurant with one side also facing the lagoon. The car parking is unfortunately uncovered but the drop off at the entrance is covered.

Room Tip: It seemed as if all rooms are facing towards the lagoon, but I think those more towards the middle c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIMSPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Probably the best place to stay if you are in Walvis Bay.

Pleasant hotel with amazing views..... flamingos, pelicans...

Also has a great pathway for walks along the beach in the morning/afternoon. There are also a couple of good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RN717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Friendly reception staff and an awesome setting on the lagoon make this a great choice when staying in Walvis Bay - My wife and I enjoyed our stay as we had a top floor lagoon facing room. Beds were comfortable and the room clean and tidy complete with bar fridge and coffee station. The Bathroom has a shower and bath combination and the usual toiletries are provided. The view of the flamingoes and pelicans that walk past is just magical and especially at sundown.
Breakfast is included and is a superb buffet spread. Service was good and the waiters friendly.
It's very well situated allowing you to go on long walks around the lagoon and access nearby cafes and a coffee shop.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I got a room facing the lagoon and woke up to see the pink flamingos every morning. That was really beautiful. It was a pleasant and relaxing stay compared to most business hotels I stayed before. The baht tub was also very big and nice. The food was so-so but not bad. I went there to host a conference and the staff were very helpful and friendly. They were very professional and helped us with no hesitation with last minute request. Generally, I'd stay there again on my next business trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janjarang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights on business. Room facing the lagoon was excellent. Staff all very friendly and helpful.
I would have given 5* but for the water went off on the last day, with no idea when it was going to come back on again, so had to travel without having a shower. Also, the hotel restaurant wasn't up to much at all. Tinned vegetables, and a fillet steak that really was not a fillet steak.
But I would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Spongeandcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is kind of like Walvis/Pelican Bay itself -- fine, but nothing great. It's a standard chain hotel. Food is so-so, rooms are fine (have wifi, which is great). Views from the room facing the bay are nice, though, especially at sunset.

Room Tip: Some rooms share a (locked) interior door with another, which can let noise through, so ask for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huntersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Nice looking hotel, more modern than most places we saw in namibia. Room very spacious with excellent sea view and balcony. Free wi-fi, friendly staff (also not a given in namibia) and big bed. Tv guide with a good variety of channels, enough packing space, great shower pressure. Could use a little tweaking here and there, but very happy, will recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank voyagersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walvis Bay
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay
0.8 mi away
Lagoon Loge
Lagoon Loge
#1 of 5 in Walvis Bay
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langholm Hotel
The Langholm Hotel
#2 of 5 in Walvis Bay
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
300 reviews
22.8 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
340 reviews
20.1 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Walvis Bay Pelican Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Walvis Bay Pelican Bay

Address: The Esplanade, Walvis Bay, Namibia (Formerly Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay)
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Walvis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Walvis Bay
Price Range: £96 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel Walvis Bay Pelican Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Walvis Bay Pelican Bay - Your Refuge on the Walvis Bay Lagoon. Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Walvis Bay Pelican Bay overlooks one of the most important wetland areas on the African Coastline, the Walvis Bay Lagoon, declared a Ramsar site to ensure that its protection is guaranteed by the Namibian government. With its temperate climate, Walvis Bay and the Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Walvis Bay Pelican Bay offers a safe refuge from the Atlantic Ocean to the abundance of majestic flamingos and gigantic whales that flock to these waters. With uninterrupted view of the Walvis Bay Lagoon, where dolphins are often spotted playing in the water, Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Walvis Bay Pelican Bay offers comfortable en-suite rooms, a restaurant, bar and coffee shop, as well as secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel Walvis Bay Pelican Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing