We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“think camp grounds not resort”
Review of Pine Hill Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Hill Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashville
Cleveland, OH
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“think camp grounds not resort”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Its really a matter of opinion if you like this place. It reminded me of camping..which I like. Let me say the interaction with the one staff/owner set the tone for our experience. We tried to check in at 1:30 and were told by the guy at the desk it was 2:00. We pointed out 3x that the confirmation sent said 1:00. He completely ignored that and wouldn't even acknowledge it. We had plans on the other side of the lake and didn't want to come back. When we told him we had somewhere to be -he asked "where do you have to be". He said it kind of condescending (odd). That was not really his business. We asked if we could get the key (since the office closed at 9pm) that was a NO. He couldn't be nice and let us have the key, really? 30 mins made that much of difference to him? So when we came back later, he gave us the key and said park by the cars. Okay what cars? Where is our room? We knew we were getting a small room but didn't think the second bed would be shoved up against the closet. The room itself smelled like a bottle of bleach had been used to clean it. We found straight pins on the floor. We couldn't get the TV to work. The towels were worn out. The 10yr old traveling with us, found a switch above the headboard that worked the TV (the next day). The front desk didn't point out any features, like the fact there was a washer/dryer and where the beach and dock were. Even though there is a tiny beach, you can not swim there with out a lifeguard. There is no lifeguard. It was just all very odd. I felt for $94 a night it was not worth it. More like $50 would have been better. I have included photos - sorry should have taken them before using the room. There are so many ways to make this a really great place. Start with not allow the guy to work the front desk. The women there when we checked out was all smiles and seemed nice. Would I stay here again - only in desperation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nitesky014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2010

A family owned and run facility. Many options between cabins, hotel rooms and efficiencies. Simple, yet CLEAN!!!! It is like having a cottage on the lake. Been staying here for years and have never been disapointed. Again, not fancy but more than needed and the value can't be beat!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1SamsGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrysville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband's parents, sisters and families have stayed at the Pine Hill Cottages for over 20 years. It has been a great way for our kids to get to know their out of town cousins and forge some lasting memories. We have stayed in many different units over the years and like the chalet that backs on the lawn the best. The Browns are welcoming hosts and happy to provide a grill or extra kitchen accessories as needed for preparing your meals, or advice on restaurants for an evening out. They are continually updating the furnishings plus added A/C. The chalet is clean and comfortable - not luxurious, but perfect for a family with growing kids. The living room is large for group gatherings. We love having access to the lawn for family games of badminton or bocce. The younger kids enjoyed the play area. We also like having the water access for sailing, kayaking and fishing. There are a multitude of activities at the Institute or surrounding area.
If you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to spend a week, I'd recommend Pine Hill

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATravelers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroeville
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2010

These accomodations were comfortable, attractive and very clean. A playground is set in a spacious, beautifully landscaped area. Dock facilities are excellent. There is a nice swimming area with a well kept sandy beach. Most of all we appreciated the friendly, helpful management of Pine Hill. An office, which is maintained for guests, has an extensive collection of helpful information for vacationers - including the menu of many local restaurants - and a current listing of special events taking place in the area. Our family had such a good experience at Pine Hill Motel that we will definitely be returning soon !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneMonroevillePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Our large family has rented as many as six cottages for our week-long stay. The grounds are full of trees and wildlife (foxes in 2010!), and the resort is quiet. The owners always attend to our needs as soon as we ask. The cabins are clean and well-equipped. Since we started coming to Pine Hill in 2005 we have had as many as forty family members on the grounds and I've never heard any of them complain. We scouted cabin sites all around Chautauqua before settling on Pine Hill. We knew right away that none of the others compared in quality of the cabins and the beauty of the grounds. What we didn't know was how the service would be, but it has been consistently fine. Our family is treated as if we belong. We are already booked for 2011.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilscot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I return to Pine Hill every year from my home in Los Angeles to visit family in the area and enjoy the quiet, beauty and friendly atmosphere of this Chautauqua Lake gem. Here I can relax and feel confident that I am in safe and healthy surroundings, not far from the Chautauqua Institute and its culture, yet not on the busy Chautauqua grounds. I enjoy sitting on the dock in the evening, talking with other friendly visitors who also return year after year to Pine Hill.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Unit was in desperate need of maintenance and updates. Bathroom door would not shut, shrubs and flowers needed groomed and trimmed. Patio furniture was dingy and old. Roofs have moss growing on them. Meanwhile, staff utilizes John Deere Gator ATVs for transportation all day long. Spend some money on your units, not your toys.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxman_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ashville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashville
3.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
185 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown Falconer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
10.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Downtown Jamestown
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Hill Resort

Property: Pine Hill Resort
Address: 3884 Park Way, Off Route 394, Ashville, NY 14710-9772
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Ashville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashville
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Pine Hill Hotel Ashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing