We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and dirty.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Hill Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Hill Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashville
durham, nc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old and dirty.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were so excited to spend time in my mothers home town and spend time on chautauqua lake. When we arrived at our cabin the door hinge on the top of the door was super rusty and fell off on our heads. Inside there was a definite smell of mold, and especially in the bathroom all the fixtures and around baseboard of wall was all black mold. Spider webs were covering the walls in all the rooms. The mattress pads were all stained- didn't look like they have been cleaned ever. We complained and they brought new ones to replace the dirty ones. When we took the mattress pads off one mattress- small brown crumbs were all over the mattress. There was also a lamp that the bulb was not working and had to be replaced. Overall not clean at all! In disrepair. But grounds were beautiful- playground cute, and lake dock was great!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mellissaDurham_Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

My family, incl. many extended family, have been vacationing at Chautauqua Lake for 30+ years, the last 15 were at Pine Hill. Out of any place we stayed, Pine Hill is the best! We rent 3-4 cottages to go boating, fishing, swimming, waterskiing, etc., but in all the fun, it is still so beautiful, peaceful, and relaxing. There's a fun, but safe playground and beach well maintained for young children and the Browns are very accommodating to a variety of interests. Can't wait for this year's stay!

Room Tip: For short stays,I recommend the efficiency cottages or log cabins. For a larger family with children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schoolbus256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

My son and I have been doing an annual fishing trip to Chautaqua since 1990 and in Fall of 2011 decided to try a cottage with Pine Hills Resort after visting several other cabin ficilities in the area. When visting with Mrs Brown of Pine Hills she took much time showing and explaining what they had to offer. When we arrived we found Mr Brown to be most accomodating, friendly and informative. The cabin we stayed in was clean and fit our need perfectly. We will be returning for future fishing trips!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denpelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Browns were excellent hosts providing us with much info on restaurants and things to do around the area during our biking weekend. I left my phone charger behind and after I called in the afternoon~it arrived the very next day~safe and sound! Our stay in the motel unit was adequate and clean, yet after we toured the updated and cozy accommodations in the efficiencies, we wished we had stay in one of those~maybe the motel is next on the "to do" list. Overall, had a great weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asmilegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

this hote room we stayed in was very clean just old. It servered its purpose as it was our first trip to chautauqua, lake. we just purchased a boat and wanted to put in in the lake. they provided a dock as well. the owner was helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelinaP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Its really a matter of opinion if you like this place. It reminded me of camping..which I like. Let me say the interaction with the one staff/owner set the tone for our experience. We tried to check in at 1:30 and were told by the guy at the desk it was 2:00. We pointed out 3x that the confirmation sent said 1:00. He completely ignored that and wouldn't even acknowledge it. We had plans on the other side of the lake and didn't want to come back. When we told him we had somewhere to be -he asked "where do you have to be". He said it kind of condescending (odd). That was not really his business. We asked if we could get the key (since the office closed at 9pm) that was a NO. He couldn't be nice and let us have the key, really? 30 mins made that much of difference to him? So when we came back later, he gave us the key and said park by the cars. Okay what cars? Where is our room? We knew we were getting a small room but didn't think the second bed would be shoved up against the closet. The room itself smelled like a bottle of bleach had been used to clean it. We found straight pins on the floor. We couldn't get the TV to work. The towels were worn out. The 10yr old traveling with us, found a switch above the headboard that worked the TV (the next day). The front desk didn't point out any features, like the fact there was a washer/dryer and where the beach and dock were. Even though there is a tiny beach, you can not swim there with out a lifeguard. There is no lifeguard. It was just all very odd. I felt for $94 a night it was not worth it. More like $50 would have been better. I have included photos - sorry should have taken them before using the room. There are so many ways to make this a really great place. Start with not allow the guy to work the front desk. The women there when we checked out was all smiles and seemed nice. Would I stay here again - only in desperation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nitesky014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ashville hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

A family owned and run facility. Many options between cabins, hotel rooms and efficiencies. Simple, yet CLEAN!!!! It is like having a cottage on the lake. Been staying here for years and have never been disapointed. Again, not fancy but more than needed and the value can't be beat!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1SamsGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashville
3.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown Falconer
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Jamestown
9.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Hill Resort

Property: Pine Hill Resort
Address: 3884 Park Way, Off Route 394, Ashville, NY 14710-9772
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Ashville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashville
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Pine Hill Hotel Ashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing