We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired hotel...”
Review of Hotel Presidential

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Presidential
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Port Harcourt
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Tired hotel...”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

I had to stay here before joining a vessel in nearby Onne. After dealing with all the hassles of Port Harcourt airport i looked forward to a decent rest in a decent hotel. I was to be disappointed.

The room was defintitely past it's best. It looked as though it had been cleaned once. Bed sheets didn't look all that clean either. The best bit was when the porter asked me if I could do anything else, like get a girl for me. Just because I am white doesn't mean I want a hooker.

Anyway, went down to the bar after a meal in the Chinese Restaurant (very good, the highlight of the stay). Didn't get more than a mouthful of a beer before me and my two travelling companions were surrounded by hookers. This doesn't bother me muc as normally telling them you aren't interested is enough. Not this time. I hate being pawed by strangers and the management shouldn't let them into the hotel.

I can't say I would want to stay here again, but perhaps one of the refurbished rooms might be more worth the price tag. The only bright spot was the excellent Chinese restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skottydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    21
    23
    11
    8
See reviews for
2
4
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abakaliki, Ebonyi, Nigeria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

In a country where government property is treated with levity, it is a wonder that this hotel still has charm. The rooms are cosy, antique and surprisingly comfortable. The food is good with a wide variety of dishes. The elevators work well but is curiously located a distance from the reception area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back row are quiter and presents a view of the swimming pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chooks O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Maybe it was good once, but when I was there nothing worked and everything is dirty and old. Even the shower/bath was filthy. Cant get a drink in the bar due to lots of hookers harassing you at every chance. The pool was green. The room service was ok. I stayed there when working for Shell, who were nto any better organised.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinhatter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear sir, we thank you for your review. The hotel has drastically changed since you were here last. The pool is no more green for instance but a clear blue as you can see from the unedited pictures.
The majority of the rooms have been renovated.
The hotel is on a major renovation program.
However, this looks like a review based on your experience of many years back.
We would like you to experience the new and improved Hotel Presidential.
We thank you once more for your review and we hope to see you again soon in Nigeria and Hotel Presidential so you can give a review based on an recent experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Nothing works and everything is dirty and old. Tons of hookers will harass you at every chance. The pool scene is rad. The room service sucks. The Lebanese restaurant is good. General all around terrible African service. But it's kinda cool.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakesterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear sir,
We thank you for the 3 stars you gave us.
We hope to serve you better next time you are around.
We appreciate you found something positive in the pool and the Lebanese Restaurant.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Since Novotel again messed up with capacity planning we had to move to Presidential. This Hotel is not recommend by most of the international companies, since it is state owned (just a quote). But security at the gate etc. made a good impression. Check in was quick despite the circumstances. Lobby is huge is in ok condition. After leaving the elevator I was very much impressed in the aisle, but after entering the room I was not impressed anymore. I have never seen such a dirty carpet. My colleagues in his room told me the next day, that he did not remove his socks. Sorry, this looked unhealthy. Otherwise the room is in the typical condition for most of the hotel rooms in tropical countries. Bathrooms are always interesting to look at, since you can discover the hidden talents of the maintenance staff. You better don't touch the door to the balcony, since there are a lot of sharp aluminum edges. Surrounding of the hotel is noisy. The bar staff is friendly, but you are endangered to meet professional ladies here.
Breakfast had the lowest standard of all Nigerian Hotels I visited so far.
As a backpacker I would have been happy with the hotel, but for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank opack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your review of Hotel Presidential.
We will take your comments into consideration and treat them immediately.
Presidential hotel is under a big renovation program. Rooms and public areas are being upgraded regularly.
Most of the carpets in the rooms have been changed and in some rooms carpet is being replaced with tiles and parquet flooring.
We just finished renovating and upgrading our pool area.
The reception will receive a face lift soon.
Our pipes are being completely changed.
We hope to see you again in the hotel and please next time you visit us, try asking for a room with a new carpet or with parquet flooring if you prefer.
We thank you once more for your time in writing your review and we assure that the next time you are at the hotel, you will notice the changes.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Harcourt hotels

Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

We use this hotel as a crew change and I can say that it is ok. The Chinese is a must and everyone I have dined with has rated it very highly. Staying there we are made to feel very welcome and the hotel is clean and homely.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I stayed in one of the newly remodeled single bedrooms at the Hotel Presidential and having travelled all over the nation, I can tell you I was very happy having chosen the Hotel Presidential. Clean and neat rooms with creative decorations was a nice change to what I usually get when I travel in Nigeria.

I think my favorite thing about this hotel though is the amenities. Theres a cool bar near the lobby, or out by the pool where there are always people hanging about for a drink and good conversation. Then the food, I love the choice. There's the Chinese which rivals most places I've been to around the world. The intercontinental restaurant also had a good amount of healthy choices. Lastly the buffet has a nice choice of local delights and deserts.

All in all, I had a decent stay, and going back to port hart court will actually be appealing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marquefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Harcourt hotels
0.0 mi away
Swiss International Mabisel
Swiss International Mabisel
#1 of 38 in Port Harcourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Ogeyi Place
Le Meridien Ogeyi Place
#3 of 38 in Port Harcourt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Port Harcourt - Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Port Harcourt
Novotel Port Harcourt
#18 of 38 in Port Harcourt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sparklyn Hotels and Suites GRA
Sparklyn Hotels and Suites GRA
#8 of 38 in Port Harcourt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Claridon Port Harcourt
Hotel Claridon Port Harcourt
#15 of 38 in Port Harcourt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidential? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidential

Property: Hotel Presidential
Address: Aba Port Harcourt Express Road, Port Harcourt 5141, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Rivers State > Port Harcourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Harcourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Presidential 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Presidential is located in the heart of the Garden City - Port Harcourt 'Capital of Rivers State', Nigeria, less than an hour drive from the international and domestic airport, along Ph-Aba expressway a stone throw from Port Harcourt Libration Stadium. Being centrally situated within the business districts and the main shopping areas of the city, Hotel Presidential is an ideal choice for both leisure and business travelers. The hotel's five star status is reflected through its 241 tastefully furnished and functionally equipped Rooms and 53 spacious Suites including Presidential, Governor, Royal, Luxury, Executive, Senior, Junior and Family Suites for those who prefer that extra touch of luxury. The value of the Hotel is supplemented by our conference and banqueting facilities comprising of three Conference rooms and five banqueting halls: Port Harcourt Room, Royal Banquet Hall, Main Banquet hall, the Atlantic hall with a capacity over 500 persons as well as The Tent that can host up to 2000 guests; all of them just perfect for holding conferences, conventions, seminars, workshops, weddings and other events. Our hotel features a variety of restaurants offering a wide selection of international cuisines and distinctive styles ranging from African and Asian to Lebanese Cuisine specialties. A wide range of drinks with a high level of comfort and service is provided in our bars, offering our guests privacy in conversation and relaxation, ideal for entertaining friends or meeting with your business associates. Moreover, you can enjoy the Platinum Night Club that opens on Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays. Additional services include concierge, 24 hour room service, laundry, business centre, free car park comfortably accommodating over 200 cars and car hire service service. Sporting facilities like gymnasium, tennis courts and outdoor swimming pool are also available. Portraying our image as the biggest and the oldest five star hotel in the east of the Niger Delta, we provide the best security with warm hospitality and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Presidential reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidential Hotel Port Harcourt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing