We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed experience at the Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Presidential

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Presidential
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Port Harcourt
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed experience at the Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at the Presidential for 5 days on completion of business in Port Harcourt. Although the hotel is advertised as 5 star it is far from it. Some parts have been renovated and look fine at first glance, but this simply makes the rest of the hotel look worse.
The staff were mostly rude and unhelpful, with the Rivers restaurant particularly bad if you ask for service while all the staff take 'their' breakfast at 0730. You cant even get tea or coffee served, never mind cold milk or fruit juice. The bar area is rather over priced and full of 'working girls'.

I will say the management team do try very hard to make up for the failings and are friendly and offer good advice on the city. Would not select to revisit if it was my own choice rather than my company.

Room Tip: Inspect the room before unpacking. Some rooms have not been renovated and only have 1 power point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    19
    23
    11
    8
See reviews for
2
4
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I had the unfortunate luck to stay in this hotel. On checking in the service was terrible, the credit card machine would not work and they demanded cash in local currency. I asked about their exchange rate and was given day light robbery rates. I went and sourced a cash machine and returned with local currency. The rooms are poorly maintained and not clean by any standards. The air conditioning barely worked and the bed was the hardest I have every experienced. This hotel rate itself as a five star, I would rate it a a poor three star. I would not recommend this hotel and I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Somerton_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear sir,
We thank you for your review and we regret that you didn't like the hotel.
However i would like to mention to you that if there was a problem with the credit card machine, I'm sure it was a network problem or probably a bank communication problem. We don't control the GSM network that is used for communication between the machine and the bank.
Regarding our exchange rates, they are based on the official exchange rates of CBN (Central Bank of Nigeria) you can check the rates for yourself on CBN's website www.cenbank.org.
Sourcing a cash machine is not difficult in the hotel as there are 5 cash machines in the hotel premises. If our intention was a rip off, we wouldn't have all those ATM machines as well as a bank located in the hotel premises.
We thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Harcourt hotels

Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

First time at this hotel and Nigeria. Found that the hotel had an old world charm about it!
Room was fine, A/C worked well but power would go on and off sporadically! Great shower in room. Internet is free and worked well.
Food in Chinese restaurant was fantastic! Give it a try if you stay here.
Found service to be good and staff friendly. Security around hotel seems to be on the ball.
Nice comfortable hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieBrigid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear sir,
We thank you for your review.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have been in Port Harcourt on and off over the past 18 years and stayed many times in the Presidential. The only improvement I have noticed is that one can now see the bottom of the swimming pool - it used to be green with algae. The rooms are filthy, the staff are mostly tired and some are rude, the food in Rivers Restaurant is appalling, there was no internet access in the rooms, wifi access was not working in the lobby, the working girls dominate the bar areas and everything is overpriced. I have no idea how professionals manage to conduct business here and now that I have found the Protea and Meridien hotels I hope never to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben5425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear sir,
We thank you for your review and we appreciate your patronage over the years.
We understand your choice of other hotels and I want to assure you and other readers that the hotel is not as bad as you make it look.
Regarding the internet, we work with the best provider in the country.
The food in the hotel, according to other reviews, is the best in Port Harcourt.
We thank you once more for your review and we hope the next time you are in Port harcourt, we will have the honor of hosting you again whether for a lunch, dinner, Night Club or even an afternoon drink at the Amazing pool side bar.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I visit Nigeria very often for business, and Port Harcourt is for sure one of the most chaotic, unsafe and unfriendly cities of this wonderful country. When I am in Port Harcourt, I always spend my time at the Presidential, so I know very well the quality and the problems of this hotel. Overall, I consider this hotel really excellent for most aspects: safety, cleaness, pool side and tennis courts are superb. The rooms are certainly pretty much expensive, and their price is much higher than that their quality would have allowed. My suggestion for the Management is too reduce the price of the rooms, in order to meet up with the offered quality standards. The food is mostly great, with impressive choice. Chinese Restaurant is superb, maybe the best Chinese I have eaten in my life (and I live in Europe!). The Why Not restaurant is also excellent. The Rivers Restaurant is nice, but some food are low quality. Spaghetti are really difficult to eat for a customer who knows the taste of the 'real' spaghetti. The bush bar food is also not very good: I tried fish and chips, and it was just eatable. Overall, however, I liked the hotel and its romantic athmosphere. If you don't mind of the truly excessive prices of the rooms, you should go to spend your time in this hotel. If you care about the excessive costs of the rooms, go to sleep in another hotel (I can suggest you Novotel, Le Meridien, City Express Hotel in PH), but still comes to enjoy the pool side and the Chinese and Why Not Restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms are too expensive compared to their quality and services. Choice the cheapest one: it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konrad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear sir,
We thank you for your review and we appreciate your recommendations.
We would like to assure you that your suggestions are well noted.
We hope to see you again soon at Hotel Presidential and we propose that you visit our newly opened state of the art Night club.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I first stayed in this hotel over10 years ago. Then it was a tired old Government hotel, with poor security, run down rooms, poor public areas and riddled with ladies of the night. Now in October 2013 the security is first class the hotel has had a full refurbishment, free internet and wifi in public areas. The whole outdoor space including the pool and internal lobby has been refitted. Result - nice outdoor space and bar area, very chilled out and modern. Rooms are basic but great ac and very clean with good plasma screen. Food and drinks all good and decent choice - far better..... Than it used to be but definitely not 5 star.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank renniealdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear sir,
We thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon at the hotel.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Port Harcourt is a very difficult place for white people: malaria, and social insecurity may compromise our working periods in the city. However, the hotel is absolutely fantastic: the swimming pool is so nice, and the food is excellent (apart from pizza which was not too good). Room services are nice in general. Security is total, and in general the hotel is top standard. I really liked it. The prices are quite high, but this is a problem of the whole of Nigeria. I had experience in many hotels in Lagos and Calabar, and they were as expensive as the Presidential, but often with least services. If you go to Niger Delta for works, and you have to spend many nights in an hotel, go dtraight to the Presidential and enjoy it. Receptionists and personnel is well trained and very kind.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are really nice. You don't need to spend more money for suites, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 307Luca_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Harcourt hotels
0.0 mi away
Swiss International Mabisel
Swiss International Mabisel
#1 of 39 in Port Harcourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Ogeyi Place
Le Meridien Ogeyi Place
#3 of 39 in Port Harcourt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Port Harcourt - Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Landmark Hotels Port Harourt, Nigeria
Landmark Hotels Port Harourt, Ni...
#24 of 39 in Port Harcourt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Port Harcourt
Novotel Port Harcourt
#23 of 39 in Port Harcourt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sparklyn Hotels and Suites GRA
Sparklyn Hotels and Suites GRA
#10 of 39 in Port Harcourt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidential? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidential

Property: Hotel Presidential
Address: Aba Port Harcourt Express Road, Port Harcourt 5141, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Rivers State > Port Harcourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Harcourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Presidential 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Presidential is located in the heart of the Garden City - Port Harcourt 'Capital of Rivers State', Nigeria, less than an hour drive from the international and domestic airport, along Ph-Aba expressway a stone throw from Port Harcourt Libration Stadium. Being centrally situated within the business districts and the main shopping areas of the city, Hotel Presidential is an ideal choice for both leisure and business travelers. The hotel's five star status is reflected through its 241 tastefully furnished and functionally equipped Rooms and 53 spacious Suites including Presidential, Governor, Royal, Luxury, Executive, Senior, Junior and Family Suites for those who prefer that extra touch of luxury. The value of the Hotel is supplemented by our conference and banqueting facilities comprising of three Conference rooms and five banqueting halls: Port Harcourt Room, Royal Banquet Hall, Main Banquet hall, the Atlantic hall with a capacity over 500 persons as well as The Tent that can host up to 2000 guests; all of them just perfect for holding conferences, conventions, seminars, workshops, weddings and other events. Our hotel features a variety of restaurants offering a wide selection of international cuisines and distinctive styles ranging from African and Asian to Lebanese Cuisine specialties. A wide range of drinks with a high level of comfort and service is provided in our bars, offering our guests privacy in conversation and relaxation, ideal for entertaining friends or meeting with your business associates. Moreover, you can enjoy the Platinum Night Club that opens on Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays. Additional services include concierge, 24 hour room service, laundry, business centre, free car park comfortably accommodating over 200 cars and car hire service service. Sporting facilities like gymnasium, tennis courts and outdoor swimming pool are also available. Portraying our image as the biggest and the oldest five star hotel in the east of the Niger Delta, we provide the best security with warm hospitality and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Hotel Presidential reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidential Hotel Port Harcourt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing