We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Should be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Port Harcourt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Port Harcourt
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Port Harcourt
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Should be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Located close to the busy air force roundabout, the brand name goes before it. However, my expectation began to wane when i saw the stump at the entrance of the reception.

The air conditioning is about the best thing I observed at the hotel. They could do with a bit more 'brand consciousness'. The rug in my room was stained and no one seemed to have noticed.

Some things didn't seem right. The breakfast was varied and good but you'll virtually be chased out if you're still eating at 10am.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    25
    37
    12
    10
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
7
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Its a good hotel & it quiet hotel in the midtown:
* Strong points:
- Good rooms area and form.
- The breakfast is something good but the lunch or dinner are not good enough
- The landscape is good
- The restaurant is located in a nice place beside the pool
* Weakness points:
- The internet connection is poor in the rooms
- The pool is not big
- There is just one shop for gifts 7 the gifts are very expensive

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohamed-Abo-Auf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

It is the better hotel in port harcourt but the rooms are dirty and mouldy, while the breakfast is good by port harcourt standards. I think it is the safest hotel in port harcourt with the best security standards and approach.
Simply it is better than the rest which doesn't say much

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manwering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Harcourt hotels

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Would stay here again. Seemed safe enough and reasonable standard. Nice restaurant although menu was a bit limited. Room clean enough although walls a bit thin. Overall, not bad and probably about as good as it gets in PH.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Currylover1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

I've travelled to Port Harcourt many times for business. Fair enough that Port Harcourt is not a beautiful and relaxing vacation destination but instead a bustling city in the heart of the oil rich areas of Nigeria. Traditionally I would stay at one of the competitor franchises and was always greeted with a welcome smile and willingness to assist. It was really quite nice. I decided to try something new which was a mistake. This Novotel is terrible to say the least. The rooms smell damp and smokey. The food is below average. I don't think maintenance has been carried out ever. The bathrooms are miff. The linen is old and tattered.
Avoid if possible!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

A beautiful hotel with excellent location. Room was very clean and attended to everyday. Room service was good and polite.However, check-in was very slow. As an A Club member i expected some priority attention on arrival. But that was not to be as check-in took almost one hour. Reception should improve.
Strongly recommended.
Will come again.!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Uzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

I do not have anything to compare this hotel to in Port Harcourt, but found it very overpriced for what it offers. It is a used, tired, musty place, with simple, clean bedrooms (although carpets seemed questionable), wifi in the lobby (plug-in for the bedroom) and a very expensive restaurant (for what you get). The staff in the restaurant and lobby were quite nice, but the armed guard on every floor was a little intimidating. I know folk say "This is Nigeria, so what do you expect?" Well, for the money, I expected more and have stayed at other hotels in other cities in Nigeria which were a lot more pleasant. Having said that, I felt quite safe here (although very restricted), slept well and was able to access reliable internet service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rothar-gorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Harcourt hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien Ogeyi Place
Le Meridien Ogeyi Place
#3 of 39 in Port Harcourt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Port Harcourt - Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Claridon Port Harcourt
Hotel Claridon Port Harcourt
#16 of 39 in Port Harcourt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidential
Hotel Presidential
#8 of 39 in Port Harcourt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.0 mi away
Swiss International Mabisel
Swiss International Mabisel
#1 of 39 in Port Harcourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sparklyn Hotels and Suites GRA
Sparklyn Hotels and Suites GRA
#11 of 39 in Port Harcourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Port Harcourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Port Harcourt

Property: Novotel Port Harcourt
Address: 3 Stadium Road Rumuomasi, Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Rivers State > Port Harcourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Harcourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Port Harcourt 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Port Harcourt is located in the heat of the garden city. It embodies the very best of Nigeria in the refinement of interior design,the warmth of the welcome, the excellence of service and the art of exceptional cuisine. Close to the offices of the major oil and petroleum services companies, transfer from the Nigeria Airforce Base is a ten minutes drive and 25 minutes from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Novotel Port Harcourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Port Harcourt Hotel Port Harcourt
Port Harcourt Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing