We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Port Harcourt - Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Port Harcourt
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Like any hotel, the first impression has a lasting effect Security company at the gate is utterly useless. Reception - employ friendly efficient ladies.Keep the man that carried my bag to the room. Explained everything how it works, the total package. Only remove the power indicator light on the AC or cover it, it is rather bright. Slept like a log. Did not hear generators, power flicks that effected the AC, or the bar down stairs. WiFi works fantastic. Breakfast - ok. Not to many variation on the food. Checking out friendly efficient.Upgrade is required on the exterior and interior. Would I return Yes

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1toSweeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    32
    18
    3
    7
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
1
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed in hotel for 2 nights in August '13 but the bath in the rooms were not much to be desired as they where damaged and stained.

The food was just average for this class of hotel.

The hotel is also noisy especially I can hear noises from staff at the gate around 4am in the morning.

Some of the staff needs more customer service training on politeness to customers.

On the positive side, the hotel takes security serious. I couldn't fault them on this.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oidowu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Harcourt hotels

Cremolino, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I spent numerous night in Port Harcourt for business over the last couple of years.
The city is not as bad as international press describes, but it does pose challenges, in terms of spread criminality, power interruptions, thick traffic.
I always stayed at the Golden Tulip, if I can: besides a few drawbacks (very expensive for the food & service offered; rooms are not that quiet), it definitely has what it matters the most to an international traveller: safety, good international food, internet/TV/AC and shower working most of the time.
All in all, I recommend it to all business travellers who are seeking a sure thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianmarostica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaka M, Manager at Golden Tulip Port Harcourt - Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very pleasant comments. We are glad to know you loved and enjoyed every bit of your visit with our facilities and of course our services. With this we know we are actually creating great hotels guests love.

It is our desire to satisfy our guests and to create in-the-know experience for them. Sure, this was your experience during your last visit as you discovered the different facets of our hotel.

The entire team is working hard to ensure that all that you experienced will not repeat it self again. we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Many thanks and warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
266 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed one night and reasonably good experience. Placed in the GRA so near to most important places.
A clean hotel room ,I was happy it was a good stay.
Restaurant food was ok for Nigeria no other experience in PH.
Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColmV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaka M, Manager at Golden Tulip Port Harcourt - Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Colm V,

Thank you very much for your review and comments posted on TripAdvisor. We always value the input of our GUESTS. Please be assured that we will keep up the best guest service standard at all times.

We thank you once again for your valued input and look forward to welcome you again at the Golden Tulip Port Harcourt Hotel.

Please be so kind to see the undersigned when next you visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Very average hotel in a global context but in the context of the city and country, slightly better one. There is only one other better hotel which is Le meridien. Others are even worse than this one. Breakfast is very decent and pool is small but nice and doesnt seem to be used at all. staff are courteous. Rooms especially the beds arent very nice

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munzir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaka M, Manager at Golden Tulip Port Harcourt - Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
We thank you for taking time to write a review. All your points have been well noted.
All necessary actions are taken to improve our services.

We wish to welcome you once more to Golden Tulip Port Harcourt. Management is working hard to ensure that our guests has a flawless stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

It never ceases to amaze me that hotel franchise owners allow their names to used for mediocre hotels. Golden Tulip Port Harcourt is one of these. It is not a patch on its sister in Lagos. It's safe, reasonably clean, a western traveler will be comfortable here, but it just does not shine. Ok if you don't want to pay the exorbitant prices at Le Meridien.

Room Tip: check the room before you agree to take it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmfenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaka M, Manager at Golden Tulip Port Harcourt - Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and comments posted on TripAdvisor. We always value the input of our GUESTS. Please be assured that we have looked into your comments regarding the rooms and the level of service. We have taken all the necessary steps to ensure that these issues do not repeat itself.

We thank you once again for your valued input and look forward to welcome you again at the Golden Tulip Port Harcourt -Hotel

Sincere Regards

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

This was my first return to Nigeria since 1998 and I must admit I was a little apprehensive, we were late getting to the hotel location due to a traffic jam but our security escort got us there safely, a buffet dinner had been organized for us being a group of 27' food was good but not overly special.
My room was a Suite and was quite good only fault being the shower control falling of in my hand whilst trying to shower.
Security was good whilst in the hotel. With breakfast being a little slow.
Other than this a reasonable hotel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Harcourt hotels
0.0 mi away
Swiss International Mabisel
Swiss International Mabisel
#1 of 38 in Port Harcourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Ogeyi Place
Le Meridien Ogeyi Place
#3 of 38 in Port Harcourt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Port Harcourt
Novotel Port Harcourt
#18 of 38 in Port Harcourt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidential
Hotel Presidential
#10 of 38 in Port Harcourt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sparklyn Hotels and Suites GRA
Sparklyn Hotels and Suites GRA
#8 of 38 in Port Harcourt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landmark Hotels Port Harourt, Nigeria
Landmark Hotels Port Harourt, Ni...
#27 of 38 in Port Harcourt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Port Harcourt - Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Port Harcourt - Hotel

Property: Golden Tulip Port Harcourt - Hotel
Address: 1c Evo Crescent GRA Phase II, Port Harcourt 500101, Nigeria (Formerly Hotel Garden City)
Region: Nigeria > Rivers State > Port Harcourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Port Harcourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Port Harcourt - Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 106 bedroom hotel opened in March 2006. Ideally located in the GRA, 30 minutes drive from Port Harcourt airport. The hotel is ideal for corporate and conference guests boasting two conference venues, a boardroom, business centre and, an in-house travel agent. Guests can also work out in the gym, lazy around the poolside, or be treated at our wellness centre. The hotels' restaurant serves exquisite local and international cuisine. Wireless internet is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Port Harcourt - Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing