We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loukoumi taverna

Loukoumi taverna
Ranked #6 of 561 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Greek seafood restaurant, 718-626-3200
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went with a party of eight on a Saturday night. When we arrived, our table was ready, and the service was great all night.

We ended up sharing a lot of appetizers and everything was excellent! Highlights included the octopus, mussels, sausage, and hummus. Our waitress also brought out a bunch of other stuff that we did not order (for free!) just so we could try everything.

For the main course, I had the branzino (which was excellent). Can't speak for everyone else, but - if it's any indication - we did not leave a lot of food on our plates.

The desert highlight was the yogurt, but I am not sure if it is available on most nights.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    25
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“If you want authentic Greek....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This is the place to be if you want an authentic Greek atmosphere from the servers to the chairs and especially the food! We ordered a plentiful array of Greek dishes and all were delicious. Splendid Greek wine to choose from the wine menu. Perfectly quaint outdoor eating area in the rear of the restaurant. If you can't eat your Yia-Yia's cooking, try Loukoumi. The server interacted with our young boys perfectly! We will be back!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyVacationing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It's all Greek to me.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

What a little gem of a restaurant. So happy I went there. I had a difficult time getting past the pita bread. Seriously. That was the best pita bread I have ever eaten. So good! The rest of the meal was fabulous. Very friendly staff and inviting atmosphere. If you like Greek food, this place is a must.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Garcarcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We planned dinner out with our Greek friend and he suggested Loukoumi! It was amazing. We had so much fun and it was so delicious. The staff was attentive and so friendly. We shared many appetizers, carafes of house wine and after dinner drinks. It was all amazing. We definitely want to go back. They were finishing the outdoor patio and we would want to dine there. It would also be a great venue for a party, wedding reception, engagement party, etc.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“... and thanks for all the fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We live in Manhattan and we discovered Loukoumi Taverna through a referral from our Greek painting contractor. I asked him what was the best Greek restaurant in Astoria and, without hesitation, he told us Loukoumi. In the time since then we've run into him here several times.

Loukoumi is a family restaurant run by a warm and wonderful family. Dad runs the kitchen, Mom runs the dining room, and their friendly outgoing son is everywhere making everyone specially welcome. The food is hearty delicious Greek fare, particularly featuring incredibly fresh fish simply grilled and filleted. For starters we love their Saganaki, a delicious cheese that's served fried and melty. The Horiatiki Salad is full of tomatoes, onions, feta, and cucumbers.

There's a wonderful starter that's layers of grilled eggplant, tomato, and cheese ... I don't remember the name, but it's completely delicious. Fried zucchini chips with a tasty potato and garlic sauce are to die for.

Somehow we're always bursting come dessert time, but we still manage to polish off some of their sweets. A particular treat is one of the the simplest, wonderful fresh yogurt with the sweetest honey. The traditional baklava is delectable as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loukoumi taverna also viewed

 

Been to Loukoumi taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing