We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Average Service”
Review of Loukoumi taverna

Loukoumi taverna
Ranked #5 of 575 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Greek seafood restaurant, 718-626-3200
Woodmere, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food, Average Service”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

It was Sunday visit with family. Food was ok, nothing spectacular but nothing to complain about. Unfortunately, service was even less than average.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    27
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek place”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went to this place on Sunday during lunch time. Maybe this was a Sunday thing, but the service was very slow. After we got seated, we probably waited for 10 minutes before the menus were put on our table. After we placed our orders, and the food started arriving, I realized that it was a very good decision to go to this place to eat authentic Greek food. Everything that was brought to our table was fresh and delicious. I was particularly impressed with how calamari and octopus were cooked – they were not overcooked, and were perfectly seasoned. Sea bass, Lavraki and lamb chops were also cooked to perfection.
Our lunch took about 3 hours with us ordering appetizers, main courses and desserts. Since we were not in a hurry, this didn’t bother us too much. Overall, I liked this place and would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to experience authentic Greek food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vkramaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went with a party of eight on a Saturday night. When we arrived, our table was ready, and the service was great all night.

We ended up sharing a lot of appetizers and everything was excellent! Highlights included the octopus, mussels, sausage, and hummus. Our waitress also brought out a bunch of other stuff that we did not order (for free!) just so we could try everything.

For the main course, I had the branzino (which was excellent). Can't speak for everyone else, but - if it's any indication - we did not leave a lot of food on our plates.

The desert highlight was the yogurt, but I am not sure if it is available on most nights.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If you want authentic Greek....”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This is the place to be if you want an authentic Greek atmosphere from the servers to the chairs and especially the food! We ordered a plentiful array of Greek dishes and all were delicious. Splendid Greek wine to choose from the wine menu. Perfectly quaint outdoor eating area in the rear of the restaurant. If you can't eat your Yia-Yia's cooking, try Loukoumi. The server interacted with our young boys perfectly! We will be back!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyVacationing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It's all Greek to me.”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

What a little gem of a restaurant. So happy I went there. I had a difficult time getting past the pita bread. Seriously. That was the best pita bread I have ever eaten. So good! The rest of the meal was fabulous. Very friendly staff and inviting atmosphere. If you like Greek food, this place is a must.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Garcarcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loukoumi taverna also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Loukoumi taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing