We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deliciously Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mundo

Mundo
Reserve with OpenTable
Mundo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 563 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mysterious, adventurous, and decadent, savor our signature eclectic cuisine.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Deliciously Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

You will completely miss this place if you don't put on your goggles. This little gem is hidden on a side street off Broadway in Astoria. Mundo is a tiny little restaurant with a deliciously unique menu. I highly recommend going with a bunch of friends and ordering as much as you can so you can try it all. The Ottoman dumplings were magnificent, empinadas were tasty, and the chocolate lava with ice cream was to die for :).
Make sure to go early ... by 8pm there is a line out the door!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    37
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
174 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“I love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband, daughter and I ate dinner tonight at Mundo. We are long-time fans of this place, but every time we go back there we are reminded of how wonderful it is. We live on Long Island,so it is not exactly around the corner for us but the drive is well worth the food.
Willie, the owner it such an incredible host- he makes you feel so welcome. Lena, a waitress, is such a sweetheart! The food speaks for itself. The Red Sonja, their signature dish, is worth the price of admission. Their menu is ecclectic and can satisfy any palate.
We had tonight veggie empanandas, split pea soup, an amazing vegetarian dish called peruvian causa, etc. I could go on and on. This place is amazing! Treat yourself- and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great organic place, fit for vegans and vegetarians as well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

One of my vegetarian friends took a group of all-meat eaters to this cozy restaurant, back in the holiday season. It's small, but cozy, great music, and the food was great! We were all pleasantly surprised, for she has chosen other places before where the food wasn't very good. I'm not a vegetarian, but I enjoy any food, as long as is well prepared, and tasty. When we arrived, the waitress wasn't very friendly, but she made some room for us since "we didn't have a reservation". The rest of the evening our group was taken care of by the owner, who is an amazing host! by the end of the meal, we have forgotten about the "friendly reception" and enjoyed the food and the music to the fullest. We chose different plates to share, and got some of his recommendations, he took the time to explain about the food, how they make it, overall excellent. The presentation of the plates, the flavors, were incredible. I can honestly say they cook with "love". I will come back soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dipasaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Very small place, cozy, with friendly service. Very good beer and wine selections. Loved the red lentil dish! My husband is not as crazy about this place as I am.

Helpful?
Thank BesosToAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Uniquely eclectic, casual dining in Astoria Queens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

While it has a Broadway address the Mundo Cafe is actually on 32 St just a few steps south of Broadway, in Astoria, Queens, one block from the "N" & "Q" lines Broadway station (10-15 minutes from midtown Manhattan on the train), Mundo, a small, family run, friendly and unpretentious cafe, is a wildly eclectic dining place, offering original spins on traditional fare from Turkey, Argentina, Peru, Eastern Europe, the Near East and beyond. We've eaten here many times. What we like most? For starters, the Red Sonja, a red lentil patty, is a must; also the Peruvian Causa, a layered cake like concoction of yellow potatoes, mushrooms, beets, avocado & red onions. For mains: the Ottoman dumplings (ground beef or spinach), lobster ravioli, the veggie wrap al pesto or the mundo burger with frites (great frites - by all means get a side of the frites!). And the desserts are sinfully scrumptious - save room for at least one! Many veggie dishes are on offer and one can do tapas too. There are specials that change daily or by season. There is a good selection of reasonably priced wine and beer, but no hard liquor. A complete meal for two, including two starters, two mains, two desserts and a bottle of house wine will run around $100, minus the tip.
We're life long New Yorkers and Mundo is further proof of what we've said here before: in NYC the borough of Queens has the best food! Even if you're staying, or living in Manhattan, Mundo Cafe is very much worth the short subway ride out to Queens.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob-n-Nadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mundo also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing