We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The new crew is far better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Nahda Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barka
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The new crew is far better”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was my fourth stay at this resort. Previous 3 times i returned with a bad flavor as beginning from check-in the attitude and response was not to my liking.
However this time round, armed with assuarance from my friend who has now joined this group, Ms. Namrata Dhanwani, Sales Manager, that i shall have a better experience this time, i chose once again to stay here during the EID holidays last week. Security officer at the gate welcomed me (never done before), Reception desk was still lacking that quick turn around of guests, housekeeping was responding faster (the staff still needs grooming while interacting with guests) and rest of the facilities was showing visible changes, as promised by Namrata.

The newly appointed resort manager Mr. Krishna Suri is a pleasant change from previous ones. He is very hospitable and truly the good choice.

Overall, this resort shall now be recommended to all my friends & colleagues.

Thank you Krishna! Thank you Namrata!

Room Tip: Premium Suite is very good for absolute privacy and with large rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    107
    50
    27
    36
See reviews for
101
91
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Good hotel ,very clean and quiet
Faithful excellent service and good staff
I ask the hotel management if possible to provide a free transport by shuttle bus from airport to hotel and vice versa because transport is very expensive

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Writing a review for this "resort" is just a waist of time!!! The words "Resort & Spa" Should be removed from the name of this place.
Its simply a boring place with nothing to do!!! Not at all what we expected, and its going to be our first and last stay!! Its a place to go and sleep early!!
Oh yeah... while having dinner which was included in our room rate the waiter comes up to us in front of everyone embarrassing us saying that we are not allowed to have dinner because its not in our room rate, and he made us wait till he called the reception to make sure finding out that it was included.
Boring, Boring, Boring, Boring, Boring, Boring, Boring, Boring

Room Tip: Don't Go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barka hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Kids loved the place, Huge area to run around , play and ride the bicycle while we relax. Staffs are friendly . Big rooms ,very much private enclave (Premium Suite) .Check in was smooth and Ahsan was very helpful . Great pool with life guards who are friendly and helpful again.
Gym was excellent, pleasantly surprised with the equipments they have, Additional advantage is , If you drive, Muscat is just 40 min drive away, and you have a city centre shopping mall which is 20 min away towards Muscat. (Dinner options)

Rooms were clean, but not clean enough for Al Nahda Resort, (Dusty , Underneath Sofas, and bed , Specially with kids things being thrown pushed under the furniture). Hotel was fully occupied during our stay (16oct-18th)

2 nights well spent, We are planning for a getaway again with few friends. And Mr. Krisha who was very helpful and easy to converse with for a Resort Manager. He was most definitely an added advantage to the resort.

Room Tip: Go for Premium suites, it would be separate unit and loads of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Althaf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We spent Eid al Adha vacation in Muscat and we decided to stay in Al nahda resort. The place is just great for families. Although it is far from Muscat ( arround 60 kms in arround 45 to 50 minutes) but it is ok as once you will get to Muscat you will spend the day and go back by the end of the day to the resort.
The resort is as if you are staying in a villa in the jungle. Trees of all kind are all arround you.
Huge space, you have to walk a pretty long way from the reception to your room, to the restaurant or to the pool. But they have this amazing service to rent a bike! You have your bike and it is easy to go all around the resort!! The kids lived it!
The breakfast buffet is good. Service is very good. They are doing their best to satisfy everybody.
The rooms are clean, a little old but very well maintained.
Great experience. I would definitely go back.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Farrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Overall, one of the worst resorts that I have ever stayed... I stayed two nights with my family. It was very unwelcoming from the beginning... We drove from Dubai, The front gate security guard stopped us from going inside as they don't have enough parking spaces. I had to argue with him to go inside to reception area at least to get my family get down and luggage out of the car.

The reception was not very friendly...seems lack of training. The resort is a big compound and they dropped us to the room in battery operated car. The room though big enough was not very clean. A very old small picture tube TV with not many options for channels, no internet connection at the room (neither wired nor wi-if!), toilet with foul smell, a fridge with nothing in it etc. The bed was very uncomfortable, sofa and chairs were dusty...

They offer bikes for rent, however we found that our four bikes missing at the restaurant area. Though, they initially didn't want to accept the responsibility, finally waived the rent. The compound doesn't seem to very secured... No security cameras on the pathways or passages... No security guards around.

The pool was not clean and open only during 8am-6pm! Spa bath (jacuzzi) was dirty and with broken tiles. There was steam tunnel (they claim to be the longest) without steam! However, the Spa was not bad with friendly staff.

To make the matters worse, there was no water in the toilet for more than half an hour in the morning.
The breakfast and dinner buffet was terrible to say the least... Service was poor! Not enough choice...no value for money. They are grossly understaffed and lack training is very visible.

Overall, very bad experience, nothing for children and I don't recommend this resort for family holidays.

Room Tip: Select a room near the pool or near the restaurant to avoid long walks. Or rent a bike with a lock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reji2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

My Wife and myself are so grateful of the Team at Al Nahda Resort for making our 5th Wedding Anniversary so Special! We couldn't ask for more...from the minute we arrived, we were treated so well and received so many surprises with a personalised service! The entire Team there was very attentive and portrayed a fantastic Can-Do attitude! Special mention to the Chef about the exquisite Dinner we had in the Restaurant Khalab! Thanks a Lot for Everything! Mouncef Bencherif

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mouncef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barka
21.9 mi away
Millennium Resort Mussanah
Millennium Resort Mussanah
#1 of 1 in Al Mussanah
861 reviews
18.7 mi away
Dunes by Al Nahda
Dunes by Al Nahda
#2 of 2 in Barka
45 reviews
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Muscat Al Seeb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Ramee Dream Resort
Ramee Dream Resort
#42 of 55 in Muscat
20 reviews
22.6 mi away
Oman Palm Hotel Suites
22.2 mi away
Eastin Residences Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Nahda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Nahda Resort & Spa

Property: Al Nahda Resort & Spa
Address: PO Box 502 | PC 320, Barka 320, Oman
Region: Oman > Al Batinah Governorate > Barka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Nahda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an oasis of thirty acres of gardens, enclosed by sprawling greens and clusters of mango trees, Al Nahda Resort & Spa provides the ultimate in tranquillity and relaxation. The resort's 109 rooms are designed in apartment, free-standing villa and bungalow styles and boast some of the largest rooms in Oman. The Eram Spa is one of the most unique spa concepts in the Middle East with more than 60 treatments offering wellness and healing therapies, as well as signature treatments and a host of other relaxing, medical and rejuvenating experiences. Three restaurants and two bars provide a variety of eating and drinking choices for all guests. For those looking to keep fit, our gym with 24 state-of-the-art machines, provides the latest facilities. Additional facilities include two floodlit tennis courts, a sand volleyball court, a dedicated children's play, underground meditation centre, steam tunnel, spa baths, amphitheatre, large swimming pool, 30 acres of gardens, Room service and the Eram Spa with 22 separate treatment rooms. Located a 30-minute drive from Muscat International Airport, Al Nahda Resort & Spa is the ideal setting for a relaxing break, away from downtown, though in the Muscat area, and surrounded by a selection of trees and nature to provide the perfect tranquil atmosphere.Al Nahda Resort & Spa is the Sultanate of Oman's first and only Preferred Boutique hotel, part of the Preferred Hotel Group, showcasing distinctive travel experiences in some of the most exceptional hotels and resorts around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Al Nahda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Nahda Hotel Barka
Al Nahda Resort And Spa
Al Nahda Resort & Spa Oman/Barka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing