We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazingly beautiful”
Review of Oman Fjords

Oman Fjords
Book In Advance
More Info
US$222.00*
and up
Cruising in Khasab
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Khasab
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“amazingly beautiful”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

panoramic views from Khor Al Najd, the beach and the shells at Seebel Kareeb, the colourful fishes at Telegraph Island area

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank thetraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    180
    26
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nature wonder”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Nobody would expect to have Fjords in Oman. Reality, there are. They remind of the sounds in NZ or the ones in Chile. Dolphins along the way, deserted islands and remote villages. A place to go from Dubai for sure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mpancorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must if you going to Khasab”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My partner and myself decided to do this as a day trip and i personally think was perfect. We left Dubai (where we live) at 10 clock and got to Khasab in the Omani enclave of Musandam after an easy drive and stops on way around 1.30. Spent an hour checking what little there was in the town and visited the small Castle for around half and hour. For only a pound you get a little brief insight in to why the castle is there and a little bit about Islamic custom in Oman - which I found interesting some might not.

Anyway after working out where the so called 'port' was at the end of the town we came across loads of tied up boats and not a lot going on. However after being tracked down rather quickly by the only two gentleman around , and with a little bit of haggling of price from 400AED down to 300 AED we secured our own boat for 2 , the captain, snorkelling equipment and soft drinks for the whole journey. This works out for 10 pound per hour each for 3 hours long. Im sure you could with ,great negotiating skills get it a little lower but my parter and I thought for the cost of the petrol, man hours, maintenance or any other costs the owner has to pay along that this was his living was a great price. I must mention that Ali the captain spoke absolutely no English..im was in luck though as having a partner that speaks Arabic I got a guided tour via translation, so that was my added bonus. However don't be put off by this as Ali was more than happy , with his big smile to let you get on with what you want to do. (meaning length of time walking on island or amount of time snorkeling)

The cruise goes around 20 mins round a headland then into and amazing array of fjords and inlets. He Shows you fishing villages only accessible by boats. Theres a small island that the British hijacked for the war for communications to India (get walk on this small island). The scenery is breath taking , the sea is warm and you get to snorkel with tropical fish.

There is a promise of dolphins which we took with a pinch of salt knowing nature can't be relied on however true to word on way back 3 humpback dolphins joined us . To top the trip off , if it couldn't get any better)as getting back to port we witness the Iranian smugglers in full force. Yes you read that right and I had to google this when i got back to Dubai tonight. (you tube and google both have vids and articles about how and why this happens).. with a sunset drive along the coast back to the UAE the whole trip took 13 hours and worth every penny and minute of the drive.

PLEASE note if you hiring a car make sure you have the right hire car as if you don't have the extra Omani insurances you won't be allowed to take the car across the border to Oman. If it help we hired from HERTZ. Learnt from previous mistake.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank tobieallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
261 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Oman Fjords...The Beauty of Arabian Peninsula”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had the experience of visiting Oman Fjords by taking this tour from Arabian Desert Safari Tours Dubai.The drive is not very much scenic but as we entered Fujairah,the deep blue clean sea delighted our sight. On arrival at Oman UAE border there's a precise but necessary checking.Soon we went to harbour where many Traditionally decorated Dhow Cruise ships were there.One of them was our tour operators.The details of the whole tour I wrote in my Musandam Dibba review,but here I will only love to write about the masmarizing beauty of Arabian Penisula,the Oman Fjords.Clear blue water with natural cut rocks enhance the charm of this destination.Snorkling here is a life time experience
Highly recommended to visit.But keep your passports and necessary travel documents with you because at border there's thorough checking and if you are hiring a self driven car make sure that it's documents are legally accurate.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Naureen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Khourshem Tours-Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The punctuality and 'no problem' attitude of the Shemeer and his guides simply made our trip to Oman and the UAE the wonderful experience that it was. We knew that we wanted to take a dhow cruise to see the Oman coastline and fjords, but were uncertain about the best way to get there from Dubai. Schmeer and Siraj took care of us from start to finish to help us craft the tour that we wanted in the limited time that we had. We were a group of 4 friends and thanks to them, we were able to experience:
* full-day Musandam fjord dhow trip - their dhow is spacious, with a 2nd deck and provides a delicious lunch, drinks, snacks and 2 opportunities to snorkel.
* 1/2 day 4 WD mountain safari to Jebel Harim (Mt. of Women) seeing vistas, fossils and bedouin villages with excellent guide Smile, who also treated us to this wonderful Tea/Coffee shop and snack.
* transportation between Dubai, Khasab, Al Ain and Abu Dhabi -- which also included seeing the Emirates Palace and the Grand Mosque.
* an easy visa/entry process between UAE and Oman.

My recommendation is to just do the 1/2 day dhow trip unless you want to have a full day relaxing on the water. We felt that the dolphin experience would be better if there was not spent so much time chasing the dolphins but simply observing them if and when they joined us as we cruised the fjords. For us, the visibility was only about 6', so snorkeling once (as one does on the 1/2 day tour) rather than twice would have been plenty.

In summary, know that you are in good hands when you book time with Khourshem Tours! www.khourshemtours.com

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank activechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oman Fjords also viewed

Khasab, Musandam Governorate
Khasab, Musandam Governorate
 

Been to Oman Fjords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing