We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Times” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atana Khasab

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atana Khasab
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Khasab
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I've been to Khasab for the very 1st time, and the car ride is breathtaking until you reach Khasab City from Al-Darah Border post (Oman - UAE). The stay at the resort was amazing, clubbed along with tasty breakfast, having enough vegetarian and non-vegetarian options that you feel bruched.
The rooms are luxury for 2 and comfortable for 3. Room service was a little slow but I've seen a lot worse, so compared to that, it was okay. October-November-December-January are the best months to visit for the morning mist, sea view, chilled air, dhow cruise, snorkeling, dolphin bay, & mountain safari. All in all good experience, it doesn't needs more than 2 days and 1 night unless you are relaxed on your schedule. Enjoy :D like I did.

Room Tip: Ask for SEA view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prafsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    289
    120
    29
    14
See reviews for
192
219
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel was decent, made better by the friendly and personable staff at reception. Our room was clean and we had a nice view out onto the water. This said, the hotel is old and worn. It does the trick for a night if you're in Musandam to see the Fjords but I wouldn't pay full price. Go with a Cobone/Groupon deal, this hotel always seems to be offering them. We weren't brave enough to eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food.
Another tip regarding the Dhow cruises if you're planning on doing one: there are TONS of companies in the town of Khasab and virtually all of them go out on a daily basis. We visited a couple different places and were able to negotiate a great deal. We actually ended up getting our own private motor boat with driver plus snacks and snorkelling gear for cheaper than a dhow cruise. And, by the way, don't buy a cobone for the dhow trips, the cobones are actually more expensive than the real daily dhow rates in Khasab are!

Room Tip: Pay the tiny bit extra to have a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
205 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Golden Tulip in Khasab is definitely a 4-star place that I thoroughly enjoyed for two days. It is located right on the trip of the Mus.... Peninsula and has a pretty large swimming pool and a small kiddy pool with wonderfully warm water and a turquoise color.

My air-conditioned room was very clean and spacious with a balcony that overlooked the Strait of Hormuz. The room had two double beds which were quite cozy. There was lots of closet space with ample coat hangers. I found a safe in the closet.

Unfortunately, the small bathroom did not have a bathtub but it did have an adequate shower with plenty of hot water. Of course, there was a clean sink, commode and ample bath towels which were changed daily.

I thoroughly enjoyed the tasty breakfast buffet which was certainly ample, and the service was exemplary. I also like the hotel’s dinner buffet that I partook outside on a terraza.

The hotel has Internet service but it will cost you $7 US dollars for only a half hour use. I felt that was a rip off, so I passed on using it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclopath43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I can't tell how helpful and friendly the staff was at this hotel - doing its best whenever I asked for anything including losing my access cards to my rooms. Besides, the hotel is wonderfully located on the top of a rock overseeing the sea providing for a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere. It has a small private access to the sea below the swimming pool areas, where you can snorkel. If you look for a beach, a wonderful one is just 5 minutes walking distance on the right of the hotel. At night, besides the calm and serene atmosphere, I enjoyed having a shisha on the terrace located above the main building. Areas of improvement: buffet and breakfast meals were a little poor compared to other hotels of same standards in the UAE for instance. The gym also is totally outdated with only one antique cardio not working when I was there and very little tools to use for practice. But that's not what I came for and I had what I wanted: the blue sea, the snorkeling, calm and relaxing nights and the greatest hospitality ever, Omani style.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a seaview - wonderful sight in the morning on the calm blue sea , nothing interferin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BertoldV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I visited this hotel in Sept. 2013. When my son was swimming in the hotel swimming pool in the evening, a sharp object inside the pool injured his leg. There was a deep cut in his leg probably due a projecting metal part and or a broken object and blood was coming from his leg due to this injury. When I reported this to hotel staff they were least interested even to listen to us. They behaved as if it was my problem and hotel had nothing to do with it, though the injury was in the hotel pool. They were least interested in attending to us and just ignored us despite seeing that my son is in pain.

We approached the hotel reception for help and they gave us first aid kit. However, there was no one trained in the hotel to give first aid treatment. Plus the first aid kit was not fully equipped. Luckily my friends wife, with whom we had gone to hotel, is a doctor and she gave first aid to my son. The only help we received was from the person in hotel reception who arranged a vehicle for us to go a hospital. No one came to the pool area to investigate the reason for the injury caused to my son. Probably, they are waiting for few more accidents to happen before responding.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone visiting with family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

After a long drive from Dubai, we finally reached our destination. And the very first stop was at this beautiful hotel. It was nearly 9 pm, however, the place was so nicely kept that we felt refreshed. A must stay place if one ever visits Khasab, Oman. The pool is beautiful and restaurant are not bad. You must book in advance, because otherwise you may have to look for other options. It was only in the morning that we realised the real beauty of the place. When we looked outside, we had the beautiful sea view and it was just right for this holiday.

Room Tip: Must request rooms facing pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Traveled from UAE via road to OMAN Khasab and stayed in the Golden tulip hotel in Khasab. Hotel is located beside the see with great landscape. Rooms are spacious and hotel staff are friendly. Dining and breakfast was very good. Swimming pool is very nice and well maintained. We enjoyed our family vacations and over all it was great experience....

Room Tip: Room facing See and with bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drjeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khasab
1.3 mi away
Atana Musandam
Atana Musandam
#1 of 4 in Khasab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
2.8 mi away
Khasab Hotel
Khasab Hotel
#3 of 4 in Khasab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diwan Al Amir
Diwan Al Amir
#4 of 4 in Khasab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Nizwa
Golden Tulip Nizwa
#1 of 6 in Nizwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Resort, Sohar
0.0 mi away
Resort Ras Al Hadd Holiday
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atana Khasab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atana Khasab

Property: Atana Khasab
Address: PO Box 434, Khasab 811, Oman
Region: Oman > Musandam Governorate > Khasab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Khasab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atana Khasab 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atana Khasab is surrounded by the majestic Musandam mountains and overlooking the Strait of Hormuz. Proximate to the hotel lie the fjords that contributed to the epithet, "The Norway of Arabia". A true haven for those who love the great outdoors, Atana Khasab offers the perfect setting to explore the history, culture and landscape of an archaic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Atana Khasab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Khasab Hotel Khasab
Khasab Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing