We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full day dhow cruise was fun and a good deal”

Musandam Sea Adventure Travel and Tourism - Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Khasab
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Musandam Sea Adventure Travel & Tourism is one of the leading Tour Operators of Oman/Musandam Region. We offer several daily excursions to the exciting sites around Musandam Peninsula. Dhow Cruise, Overnight & Special trips with Yacht Rubba, Mountain Safari, Overnight camping, Dolphin watching, Boat Trip to remote Islands, Trekking and Mountain Biking, City Tours.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Full day dhow cruise was fun and a good deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked the full day dhow cruise.They picked us up from our hotel in Dubai and drove us to Musandam to get onto the dhow. It's a long drive but pleasant enough.

The area where the dhow cruise doesn't look like much and I was a bit concerned at first about what we had signed up for. But once we were on the boat I was very impressed. The boat was comfortable, had lots of shade and the staff were attentive. The sights were great and I was surprised by how many dolphins we were able to see. Very much enjoyed the snorkeling too, and the provided equipment, incl. towels, was convenient. The lunch was really good too.

Overall, it was a fun day and considering the length of the trip and the services provided, it's a good deal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kerryg838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    39
    5
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAo Paulo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good full day Dhow cruise but poor overnight camping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

If the dhow cruise was very well organized (good food, very nice sightseeing, good timing and helpful/nice crew) I won't say it was the same regarding the overnight camping.
After the full day on the boat we were taken to a creek (5mn away from the main port, that could not been seen) were we stayed for the night.
The site would be very nice if the beach wasn't fully covered with tents (more than 30) not in a very good shape (our tent could not be closed properly ).
The beach was not well maintained as papers, cigarettes and so on from the previous campers were still laying on the sand.
They were providing mattresses and bed sheets but I covered them with my own towel as they didn't look very clean.
We almost did not sleep, some people stayed out late, talking loudly without any one from the staff telling them to be more quite.

Diner was good but served pretty late ( young kids were very hungry). Breakfast was poor and no milk was provided.

Go for the full day cruise but avoid the overnight camping which is way over priced for what you get.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Delphine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
261 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great Half day Adventure Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The tour started in mid of the day ,in Arabian style set Dhow Cruise,boarding along multiple Nationalities,more than 40 people.Before we were picked up from our hotel at Dubai,in a comfortable Vehicle.The crew was very helpful and friendly.Generous refreshment offered again n again in the form of juices,fresh fruit,tea and candies.Adequate supplies of Snorkling apparatus,costumes and life jackets were present.Dedicated Speed boat took people to the beech.People were given full opportunity to swim,snorkel and Banana Boat ride.
Delicious Lunch served in afternoon.After that fishing hooks were provided,unfortunately none of us could catch a fish.In the evening again we were dropped back to our hotel by our company.
This tour is highly recommended for any one who loves fishing,swimming,Snorkling and cruising in the beautiful clear sea.Of course Fjords scenery is the highlight .
The tour costs 85USD per adult and 65for kid,inclusive of everything.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Naureen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great dhow cruise through fjords”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Good service - we booked a half-day dhow cruise by email, when we arrived in Musandam the company were only running the full-day trip and asked if we'd like to do the full day instead. Unfortunately we were due back in Dubai that afternoon, so a speed boat was arranged to pick us up from the dhow at 1pm to be back in the harbour by 1.30pm.

The trip did not get off to a great start, we were due to depart at 10am but had to wait 45 minutes for a large group to arrive, which was quite a chunk out of a half-day trip. This large group was also quite an overpowering presence on the dhow and might have been better off on their own boat as 3 different dhows were available that day.

The guide spoke all the languages of the tourists on the boat, including English, Italian, German and French. She also knew a great deal about the history of the area.

We saw dolphins and had the opportunity to snorkel over coral where we saw a variety of smaller reef fishes. The scenery of the fjords was amazing and the water lovely and clear.

A great day out if you are staying in Khasab.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Well organised fjords tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Want to see Dolphins and go snorkeling in the middle east, do not miss the full day trip organised by Musandam Sea Adventures. Apparently the Dolphins are found throughout the year and also respond to the captains calls.

Our family of four and other European groups of 20 people were on a Dhow cruise set in Arabic style from the harbour at 10am. Earlier we had driven down from Dubai by our car and parked it in the Khasab harbour.

Being vegetarians, we did not quite like the lunch but the abundant tea, fruits, water and juices quite made up for it. We has also packed some home food in anticipation.

We were disappointed that there were no sand beach any were near and no corals to see while snorkeling.

The water is by and large very clear and clean. Although the rocks are very sharp and sea urchins are found at the ocean floor, it is advisable for experienced swimmers only.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RavichandranH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musandam Sea Adventure Travel and Tourism - Day Tours also viewed

 
Khasab, Musandam Governorate
Khasab, Musandam Governorate
 

Been to Musandam Sea Adventure Travel and Tourism - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing