We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable trip”
Review of Khasab Sea Tours

Khasab Sea Tours
Ranked #6 of 22 Tours in Khasab
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Khasab Sea Tours is a professional and oldest travel company in Musandam region. We provide Khasab Musandam Dhow Cruise, Musandam Overnight Dhow Cruise, Khasab City Tour, Mountain Safari, Khasab Beach Camping, Swimming & Snorkeling. We also operate Khasab tour packages for the Cruise Ship Passengers in Musandam Oman. Khasab is destination for the Cruises such as MSC Cruises, Costa Cruises, TUI Cruises & other Cruises to Khasab Oman.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We booked a full day and overnight stay on a Dhow. The boat trip through the spectacular Fjords was very relaxing and the 2 crew made sure that we saw plenty of the wild dolphins in the area. The snorkelling site near Telegraph Island was the highlight for me as the beautiful warm sea was full of fish such as parrot fish, clown fish and many more. The boat was basic (particularly the toilet) but it was comfortable and the night sky was wonderful. Food was good and plentiful and the crew made sure we were well looked after. I'd thoroughly recommend the overnight trip.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank DP50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"telegraph island"
in 14 reviews
"clown fish"
in 2 reviews
"small office"
in 2 reviews
"cold drinks"
in 6 reviews
"dhow cruise"
in 17 reviews
"fruit"
in 16 reviews
"professional staff"
in 2 reviews
"arranged everything"
in 2 reviews
"overnight trip"
in 3 reviews
"half day trip"
in 4 reviews
"family group"
in 2 reviews
"city tour"
in 2 reviews
"bread"
in 3 reviews
"life jackets"
in 3 reviews
"wild dolphins"
in 2 reviews
"private tour"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

We had booked from Khasab Sea Tours (KST) already in November 2016 a full day private dhow cruise to Kumzar Village for 2 persons including VISITING the village for 11 August 2017. On arrival at KST’s office in Khasab on 10 August 2017, we paid AED 2000 for the trip.

For visiting Kumzar one is required to have a permit to be arranged by a tour company, in our case KST.
On 11 August 2017, at our arrival there at about 12:00 noon local time, the skipper of your dhow told us that he was unable to bring us ashore to visit Kumzar village, because his dhow had too much draft. Bobbing in front of Kumzar for an hour or so, the skipper was trying to phone some people.

KST had obviously failed to arrange for someone capable to sail a flat bottomed boat to bring us ashore. They also had not organized a tender to be tied to the dhow. The skipper himself could have brought ashore, after he had dropped anchor.

Therefore, we could not go ashore to visit Kumzar village. The only other option was to tie the vessel up at the dock which involved a one way walk of at least 30 minutes.

On 11 August 2017, Kumzar village reached midday temperatures of soaring 38°C in the SHADE. In the SUN the temperatures would have been much higher. Walking in the sun to the village and return would have caused us heat exhaustion, if not a heat stroke.

We did not pay 2000 AED for being skippered around for a few hours without seeing anything, not even dolphins. The purpose of booking AND paying for this trip was VISITING Kumzar village in person.

On our return from a world trip, we informed KST immediately by email requesting a refund for NOT being able to visit Kumzar village because of their firm’s failure to organize a flat bottomed boat or a tender tied to the dhow.

We attached copy of our entire correspondence to our email. We did so twice, requesting a return receipt with highest priority. None of our emails were answered, let alone Khasab Sea Tours confirming a refund.

You better stay away from them!

Date of experience: August 2017
5  Thank Ramses II P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Overall, I enjoyed a trip with Khasab tours, they picked us up from the border and were very reactive. The only minus is the lack of English speaking guide on the boat.

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kamila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khasab Sea T, Public Relations Manager at Khasab Sea Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi,

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to your day trip with us. Thanks for your suggestion regarding English speaking guides. We try our best to solve this issue for next time. We are looking forward to seeing you again sooner.

Best wishes...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

We were staying in Dubai and Khasab Tours picked us up at 6 am at the hotel and brought us over the border to Oman. The driver handled all of our Visas and checkpoints. Once we made it to the dhow we were in the hands of the boat captain. We chose the full day excursion thinking there would be other people on our boat to speak with. It was only the two of us which was nice as well. They had fresh fruit for us when we got on the boat. They took us to photograph island where we did some snorkeling and swimming. As we ventured to the next stop the captain took out lunch which consisted of grilled chicken curry and rice, and hummus and vegetables. We had cold drinks all day as well. It was a beautiful day, remember to bring sunscreen with you! Our captain was great and went diving to bring up sea urchins, sand dollars and star fish. We also saw numerous fish and dolphins.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank tksheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khasab Sea T, Public Relations Manager at Khasab Sea Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi,

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to your day trip with us. We appreciate the way to explain the activities and our services. We are looking forward to seeing you again sooner.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017

From start to finish this experience was brilliant. The crew worked really hard to make sure everyone enjoyed the wholes cruise. They served fresh fruit, an assortment of coffee, water, cans of pop and juice throughout the cruise.The whole team worked hard and treated all like family. We saw dolphins swimming free and had the opportunity to snorkel and swim for a short time. Well worth the trip. Excellent value for money.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khasab Sea T, Public Relations Manager at Khasab Sea Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your response; thanks for your positive feedback. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again. Best wishes...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khasab Sea Tours also viewed

Khasab, Musandam Governorate
Khasab, Musandam Governorate
 

Been to Khasab Sea Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing