We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari - a bit of a journey from Nizwa”
Review of Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Safari Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Nizwa
Zanzibar
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Safari - a bit of a journey from Nizwa”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This hotel is located some way outside Nizwa - on a busy road - near the Firq rounderbout
this is good for long distance bus connections to Muscat, Salalah and beyond Nizwa
it was clean and met our basic needs
the swimming pool was empty, the lift was not working, and there was no security box (not reception/room)
recommended only if you need to visit Nizwa and everywhere else is full or beyond your budget

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwezapweza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    22
    14
    9
See reviews for
6
20
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
RW
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

The safari hotel is a simple hotel, just okay for one night. It is not as clean and tidy as all the other hotels we have visited in Oman, but because of the fact that all other hotels were fully booked we had to choose this place.

The good thing is that it is close to the Spicy village restaurant, which is the finest and oldest multi-cuisine restaurant chain in Oman.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank defreule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I think Safari is an ok place to stay one or two nights. We checked in total four different hotels in Nizwa and the others were either overpriced or disgusting. The location is quite far from the center but non of the hotels in Nizwa are in the town center and you would need a car anyway.
Our room was reasonable clean but don’t expect much for OR30 in Oman. Hotel prices in this country are high and never good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mittnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Pls do not compare w hotels in Europe. We checked most of the hotels and accomodation is Oman is relatively expensive and in bad shape. Safari Hotel is clean
and tidy. Good for the value. 30 OMR for inc breaksfast for double is good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangetree76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid March after we found the Faljah Daris full.

The hotel has a rather austere/Business feel to it with half tiled corridors and we were disappointed to see that room service trays were left outside rooms and not collected to the following morning

Rooms were small, clean and basic with fridge, TV but no tea/coffee making facilities.. There was internet available in the lobby. The hotel is located on a main road 10 kms from the centre of nizwa. There are no gardens and although the hotel says it has a pool it was empty and looked as if it had not been used for a long time. Breakfast was adequate but we ate out in the evening. We were out and about during most of the day so for just a bed for the night the hotel was OK. but if you want nice facilities try the (considerably more expensive) Faljah Daris .

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Arrived in Nizwa late in afternoon and there were 3 rooms available. Rooms were average in make up eg bed, tv, cabinets but towels were not clean and members from our party complained of fleas/bugs the following morning. The pool was empty and dirty. Breakfast was also just ordinary as the group were very circumspect about the cleanliness of utensils etc.

Stayed January 2010
Helpful?
Thank stennie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nizwa hotels

Rome
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

The only reason why we ended up at the Safari Hotel is because the travel agency had made an error with the booking for that day and we only two free suites there.
The hotel was quite expensive for the offered service: we had two suites for three persons each but we only received one towel per room. The dinner was offered by a kind of Turkish/Chinese fast food at the corner, and after seeing it we decided to go to another place.
The breakfast was very poor.
Moreover, the SPA (which is publicized in some guides, like e.g. the "Petite Futé") offers actually another type of service provided by Chinese girls... so take care before booking a massage, because if you're not looking for this kind of offer you could find yourself in a very embarassing situation (one of the clients of the hotel told us that the Chinese girl was very insistent..)!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nizwa hotels
6.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Nizwa
Golden Tulip Nizwa
#3 of 9 in Nizwa
382 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
#8 of 9 in Nizwa
34 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nizwa Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Alila Jabal Akhdar
Alila Jabal Akhdar
#1 of 2 in Jabal Akhdar
792 reviews
15.8 mi away
SAHAB Hotel
SAHAB Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nizwa
436 reviews
15.5 mi away
Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Hotel

Property: Safari Hotel
Address: PO Box 202, Nizwa 611, Oman
Region: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Nizwa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Nizwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing