We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Nizwa, good value”
Review of Safari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Safari Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Nizwa
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Pls do not compare w hotels in Europe. We checked most of the hotels and accomodation is Oman is relatively expensive and in bad shape. Safari Hotel is clean
and tidy. Good for the value. 30 OMR for inc breaksfast for double is good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orangetree76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid March after we found the Faljah Daris full.

The hotel has a rather austere/Business feel to it with half tiled corridors and we were disappointed to see that room service trays were left outside rooms and not collected to the following morning

Rooms were small, clean and basic with fridge, TV but no tea/coffee making facilities.. There was internet available in the lobby. The hotel is located on a main road 10 kms from the centre of nizwa. There are no gardens and although the hotel says it has a pool it was empty and looked as if it had not been used for a long time. Breakfast was adequate but we ate out in the evening. We were out and about during most of the day so for just a bed for the night the hotel was OK. but if you want nice facilities try the (considerably more expensive) Faljah Daris .

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Arrived in Nizwa late in afternoon and there were 3 rooms available. Rooms were average in make up eg bed, tv, cabinets but towels were not clean and members from our party complained of fleas/bugs the following morning. The pool was empty and dirty. Breakfast was also just ordinary as the group were very circumspect about the cleanliness of utensils etc.

Stayed: January 2010
Thank stennie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

The only reason why we ended up at the Safari Hotel is because the travel agency had made an error with the booking for that day and we only two free suites there.
The hotel was quite expensive for the offered service: we had two suites for three persons each but we only received one towel per room. The dinner was offered by a kind of Turkish/Chinese fast food at the corner, and after seeing it we decided to go to another place.
The breakfast was very poor.
Moreover, the SPA (which is publicized in some guides, like e.g. the "Petite Futé") offers actually another type of service provided by Chinese girls... so take care before booking a massage, because if you're not looking for this kind of offer you could find yourself in a very embarassing situation (one of the clients of the hotel told us that the Chinese girl was very insistent..)!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2009

We booked this whilst in Nizwa as it was all we could find and our preferd option Falaj Daris was full. OR35 for 2 inc breakfast. Advertised in our travel book with a bar and pool. No bar and no pool. Licence revocked a number of years ago and pool empty of water and clearly broken. According to the receptionist the work to fix the pool 'may' start soon! The room itself was typical double room in any hotel in any part of the world I guess. TV, air con. clean sheets and comfortable bed. Shower room but no bath (if thats your thing) Breakfast was very dissapointing. Cold buffet affair and not appealing at all. Plumped for tea and toast and left. All in all would I stay here again. Not unless I had no other choice.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bart1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

While a bit remote from the heart of town, the Safari Hotel is clean and relatively inexpensive. We stayed here as all the other hotels in Nizwa were booked. Its not a bad base from which to explore the area, but it is not a destination in itself, you must have a car to access decent food, places of interest.
Pros: easy parking, comfortable rooms, inexpensive, relatively clean
Cons: remote location from town, seems to suffer from lack of maintenance
Choose rooms not facing the road (traffic noise at night, hotel lights flood room, nightly TV lounge set up in parking lot after dark can be noisy).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

We ended up at this hotel for a night as we had arrived in Nizwa late afternoon on a holiday weekend without a booking. The Golden Tulip and Falaj Daris were both full and the other smaller places looked a bit dodgy. Unfortunately, I really can't think of anything positive to say about this place. The worst thing was the beds, which only had one sheet, on the bottom and then there was a bedspread but no top sheet. We asked for more sheets thinking there must have been some mistake, but the guy looked really confused and said there were definitely sheets on the beds. We tried to explain there were only sheets on the bottom and not on the top but he didn't seem to get it. On top of that, the sheets and pillow cases clearly hadn't been changed as there was hair on them and sequins that must have fallen off the attire of the previous guest. Yuk! As we were in the middle of a camping trip we had our own bedding in the car, so I brought in my own sheets and pillows, which made it slightly more bearable. The pool was not operational and the breakfast was pretty dire. As far as the location goes, all the hotels are a way from the town centre and you definitely need a car no matter what. The Falaj Daris is a bit closer to town than the Safari but the Golden Tulip is much further out. As the Golden Tulip is charging OMR150 and has terrible reviews, I will try and book the Falaj Daris for my next visit to Nizwa . I have heard good things about it from people who have stayed there and it certainly can't be worse than the Safari.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nizwa hotels
3.4 mi away
Nizwa Hotel Apartments
6.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Nizwa
Golden Tulip Nizwa
#3 of 9 in Nizwa
436 reviews
17.6 mi away
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
Jabal Akhdar Hotel
#8 of 9 in Nizwa
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Falaj Daris Hotel
Falaj Daris Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nizwa
286 reviews
18.2 mi away
Alila Jabal Akhdar
Alila Jabal Akhdar
#1 of 2 in Jabal Akhdar
1,045 reviews
15.5 mi away
Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Hotel

Address: PO Box 202, Nizwa 611, Oman
Region: Oman > Ad-Dakhiliyah Governorate > Nizwa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Nizwa
Price Range: £48 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Safari Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Safari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing