We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ruwi
Sohar, Oman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb accomodation”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for three nights and I was satisfied by their excellent service, delectable food, accommodating staff, free and fast Wifi, and clean and spacious rooms. I personally like Ms Nina and the other Filipina girl who really assisted me during my stay in the hotel. Before I left, I requested if I could check out four hours later and my request was granted. I will surely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aqui2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmanHotels, General Manager at Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Aqui2014,

Thank you for your visit to Ruwi Hotel and forwarding your comments on Trip advisor. We are very happy to hear that you have had a wonderful experience at Ruwi Hotel.

My staff and I are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the food, rooms, wifi facility and friendliness of the staff.

I thank you once again for posting your comments on trip advisor and wish you all the very best for a great future.

Yours sincerely,

Harsha Theverapperuma
General Manager
Ruwi Hotel-Muscat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    188
    114
    12
    5
See reviews for
66
87
86
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The services are really good. I really appreciate front desk officer named Shanavs.

I will surely come over next time and will ask my other collegues to stay here.

The breakfast was good and so the room cleaning.

keep it up.

Fawad

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fawad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmanHotels, General Manager at Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear S Fawad,

Thank you for your visit to Ruwi Hotel and forwarding your comments on Trip advisor. We are very happy to hear that you have had a wonderful experience at Ruwi Hotel.

My staff and I are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed the food, rooms, wifi facility and friendliness of the staff.

I thank you once again for posting your comments on trip advisor and wish you all the very best for a great future.

Yours sincerely,

Harsha Theverapperuma
General Manager
Ruwi Hotel-Muscat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April,2014. The concierge is awesome and very helpful. The breakfast is good and the staff so very pleasant. The rooms are a good size and comfortable but something bit my legs and the next room found a red bug on the bed. There was no compensation for this mishap. Do not book through the hotel as the rates are higher than booking .com.

Room Tip: Check for bugs before sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wherenext136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a nice hotel in Ruwi area, which is the business area of Muscat. There are Ruwi souq, kfc, bus station, airlines offices, etc. nearby the hotel. The room was a bit old and not absolutely clean, but it´s acceptable. At least, everything functioned well. Staffs are helpful. Breakfast is delicious. Wifi only at lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Ruwi is in a convenient position in the city and has potential to be a very good hotel, but to say it is tired is to be quite kind. It is quite old fashioned and not well planned. The public areas don't flow, and are not particularly welcoming or cosy. The rooms are getting quite tatty and are decidedly grubby. There seems to be an unwillingness to change linen, both bed and towels and beverage tray and soaps etc are not well maintained. When we raised the issues with reception, our "free" daily newspaper ceased to arrive!
On the other hand, all the food and bar service staff were very helpful and efficient and meals were of a good standard.
Hotels in Oman generally, certainly in the 3 star bracket, seem to be very expensive for the standards they achieve, being fairly recent entrants to the tourist market.
Finally, under no circumstances,should you think of changing money at reception. The rate of exchange is abysmal, absolutely the worst we saw in the whole of our time in Oman
Would we consider returning if we visited Oman again. Most certainly not, unless a complete refurb was carried out, alongside a review of customer service standards.

Room Tip: There are many hotels in Muscat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieRolo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight before travelling on to Salalah we used their free airport shuttle which when you include in the price is very good the hotel. It was a little outdated but very clean the staff were very friendly the breakfast was very good good location very easy to get to port area 2 Rial by taxi. Overall a very nice hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We spent a delightful two nights in the Ruwi Hotel. Staff were attentive and friendly (Shanavas), organising dinner reservations and a dolphin sightseeing trip. It was a short 10min walk to pick up the Big Bus tour at 9:10am in time to catch the shuttle bus to tour the Grand Mosque. The hotel itself did not disappoint, our adjoining rooms were comfortable, clean and well proportioned. Ruwi Hotel, I will be back :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandOons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruwi
0.8 mi away
Al Falaj Hotel
Al Falaj Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ruwi
504 reviews
3.2 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 52 in Muscat
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 52 in Muscat
1,512 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#9 of 52 in Muscat
1,395 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#13 of 52 in Muscat
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat

Property: Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat
Address: P. O. Box 2195, Ruwi 112, Oman (Formerly Ruwi Hotel)
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Ruwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ruwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat Hotel is located in the heart of the city centre overlooking the capital’s main business and banking district and within close proximity to Ministries, Oman’s Capital Market Authority (CMA) as well as some of the popular tourist attractions. 25 km of scenic drive from the Muscat International Airport bring you to the hotel. Renowned as one of the best 3 stars hotels in Muscat, Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat Hotel is ideally the best place to stay for business travelers or tourists alike. With its archetypal fortress-style building, 100 well-furnished and spacious guest rooms and duplex Suites, elegant restaurant, a multi-purpose conference room, recreational centre, free WIFI and free self-parking are also provided. This hotel in Muscat is sought after by many who enjoy its traditional Omani hospitality which is complemented by an international standard of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat Oman/Ruwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing