We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coral Hotel is quaint, slightly tired but very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach Bay Hotel Muscat
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ruwi
Sunshine Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Coral Hotel is quaint, slightly tired but very clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Coral Hotel has a nautical theme which is cute. Cafe is quite small but does the job.

Front desk wasnt that welcoming, but not offensive. The night staff and cafe staff were nice.

The hotel ordered a cab for us and the taxi driver was GREAT, telling us lots of info about Muscat and giving us ideas - very nice (his name was Hamed Al Harasi ph: 00968 9888 1585). If using general taxi's (not hotel taxis, they r different) ask how much the trip will be first as they dont have meters in Muscat. Suggest going to the Grand Hyatt when trying to get back to Coral Hotel as this is next door and some taxis dont know where Coral Hotel is as its small.

Coral Hotel best recommended for a short stay I would suggest.

Best part about the hotel is that it is walking distance to the beach which was lovely to visit for a swim and walk.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RashaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    31
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
24
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

The service is good. Rooms quite spacious, bathrooms a little small and need some attention. Close to the beach / Grand Hyatt and consulate houses. Good value for money in Muscat. 10 minutes from airport.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelvincraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

If you are looking for a hotel with good size rooms and no frills, Coral Hotel is a good choice. The service is very good and accommodates many personal requests. Housekeeping needs improvement, but the location is great. Mind that this is a "dry" hotel, i.e. no alcohol served, not even in the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanneMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

I found hotel in Muscat expensive. This one was priced ok and had all we needed. Decent quiet area 20 min drive from the airport, enough parking. Quiet neighbourhood (embassies and other hotels), close to the sea. Better to have your own car. There was some construction just in front of the hotel but it did not bother us. Appreciated free wifi in the room. Internet was slow but for emails ok.
People in the hotel were nice to us, breakfast buffet was decent and the little room where served cute.
The only problem, but serious one, was with payment. It was not clear from the Coral hotel group web pages that the payment we made online was just a deposit and the actual payment was due on our check out. We paid cash and now, 2 weeks after, still waiting for release of the blocked amount.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlenaBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
135 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

Muscat has not a single zone that can be called the centre of the city. On the contrary, the city is distributed approximately along the coast in an extension of about 20 km. This said, no hotel can be said to be located or nearby the centre of the city.
The Coral Hotel is located just 5 min walking distance from the beach and from a stroll that runs just next to the beach. This is what makes the location of the hotel pleasant. There are a lot of people, most Omanis, both on the beach (young people playing football, large families making picnics, people walking along the sea) and on the promenade. So, it is a wonderful place to watch the people passing by and simultaneously enjoy the gorgeous view of the long strip of white sand and the sea. On the other hand, there are no shops or restaurants nearby with the exception of a couple of restaurants by the beach.
The hotel itself is fine. The building has a somewhat strange outside architecture (it is suppose to resemble a boat), the lobby and common areas are quite kitsch but the rooms are of a more sober taste.
The rooms are roomy and comfortable, with a very good mattress (neither too hard nor too soft), comfy pillows and good quality linens. Both the rooms and bathrooms are modern and well appointed, the whole hotel being in very good conditions. The less positive aspect is the restaurant which is very dark, small and with a quite limited choice of food. The breakfast is fine.
The staff of the hotel is very kind and helpful. I found a strange, non-identifiable noise in the first room that was given to me and I reported it to the desk staff. They gave me another room straight away, helping me in moving my things.
Regarding the price and in absolute terms, the hotel is overpriced but it is in line with the prices of hotels in Muscat.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misflopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
242 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

The hotel is situated in a very good are, in the Diplomatic quarter, just 100 metres from the beach. You can access it through the Hyatt hotel which is across the road. The hotel seems modest (it has a large entrance) from the outside but the rooms are actually comfortable despite being quaint. In fact the rooms are quite large and they are well appointed.

Muscat is one of the gems of the Persian Gulf. You do need a car to travel around. The hotel offers free parking. Wi-Fi Internet access is available at no cost.

I would highly recommend the hotel if you wish to have a good standard of accommodation without paying the high rates demanded in the five star properties. If that is your mood, this is a very good understated option.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

My heart sank when we arrived at the Coral Hotel and I was greeted by three Chinese 'ladies' walking out of the restaurant. They were all smiles when they saw me, but moved off hastily when my wife appeared. When this happens in the Gulf, you don't start to expect much from your hotel.

Like so many places in the region, a little bit of thought would turn the Coral Hotel from an overpriced place you 'end up staying in' to somewhere you might actually choose to visit for pleasure.

The reception staff are pleasant Omani gentlemen who are clearly not empowered to do anything to improve a guest's stay, or the hotel in general, beyond smiling sweetly at irritated visitors.

It took four room changes before we had a room that was clean and had AC which was not ridiculously noisy.

Breakfast was dismal, with the whole experience worsened by the bizarre chilled cake stand in the lobby area, just next to the entrance to the breakfast room. This device, which contained the same three tired looking cream cakes throughout our two night stay, sounded rather like an ageing tractor. It was so noisy you could hear it throughout the public areas of the hotel. We had a wonderful thirty minute respite from its rumblings when I pulled the plug out one morning. Sadly, a hotel worker plugged it back in a short while later.

The building appears to have been converted from offices into a hotel, with each room's bathroom seemingly added as a customised afterthought. There is also a slightly bizarre nautical theme that adds a not-unpleasant surreal feel to the place.

Our stay was very expensive for what we got.

I would recommend avoiding this place - better value to be had elsewhere in Muscat.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redstar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruwi
0.0 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Ruwi Hotel
Ruwi Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ruwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Al Falaj Hotel
Al Falaj Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ruwi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#13 of 50 in Muscat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bay Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bay Hotel Muscat

Property: Beach Bay Hotel Muscat
Address: Shatti Al Qurum - Hayy As Saruj | P.O. Box 3951, Ruwi 112, Oman (Formerly Coral Hotel Muscat)
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Ruwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ruwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Bay Hotel Muscat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach Bay Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muscat Coral Hotel
Beach Bay Hotel Muscat Oman/Ruwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing