We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are looking for character...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Bay Hotel Muscat
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ruwi
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
24
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
199 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2008

I was attracted to this hotel due to its "low price". But believe me, this was no low budget hotel, it seems in Muscat, anything under $300 is super tough to find! I give the hotel an A+ on hotel decoration but that is about it and this can only go so far, especially when you feel like you were just raped by paying $38 for 24 hours of internet. I've stayed at some of the tip top 5* hotels in the world and NOBODY charges $38 for internet! But then again, Oman has got to be on par with Europe or Russia in terms of being expensive! The room was fine, no real problems but for what you were paying, $250, I'd expect a royal suite with a view of the ocean, instead I get a view of someone else's apartment! Wow.........what an inspiration! Also, ONE GIGANTIC drawback is how far it is to town. It is a good 15-20 minutes into town by car, no way can you come close to walking. And, there is NOTHING nearby except the Hyatt Grand. If you want a meal, it is either the hotel or a 20 minute walk to McDonalds or the Shell Station. Staff seemed very indifferent, did not care at all about my complaints! I asked them what there was to do in Muscat, they looked clueless. No matter where you stay in Oman, be prepared for EXTREME sticker shock!

  • Liked — The lobby theme
  • Disliked — The outrageous prices they charge for internet and the staff indifference!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank seahawksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend trip from Dubai. Although slightly weird as it is all decked out like a ship it was pleasant enough. The rooms were nice and clean and although not huge they were sufficient for us.

The breakfast is very basic. The staff in the cafe are also a bit clueless but not the worst I've seen.

For dinner every night (we were there for 2 nights) we went across to the Hyatt which is only about 50 metres away from the front door.

Overall I would stay here again especially if it is just for a few nights and you are going to be out and about during the day.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ajhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2007

Stayed here because there were no other rooms in Muscat. What an extraordinary place. The whole hotel is done out like a ship, including the staff being dressed as "Roger the cabin boy" which certainly gave us a few laughs. There is no pool or outside place so a lousy place for a holiday. We had to pay to use the pool at the Hyatt instead. Room ok but clean, breakfast not very good. I didn't think this hotel was good value at all but then Muscat is an expensive place. The reception staff also tried to charge us a higher rate than on our booking confirmation.

I would only stay here again if there were no rooms available anywhere else.

  • Liked — Close to Hyatt
  • Disliked — No pool or place to relax
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Buggy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ruwi hotels

San Diego, CA, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2007

I stayed at this hotel from March 16-20, 2007. My room was extremely clean and comfortable. Every employee I encountered was very friendly and professional. The breakfast buffet included in the room rate was delicious and service was great in the restaurant. I would definitley stay here again! Shatti Al Qurum is a nice neighborhood, and the beach walk is near the hotel so you can take a nice stroll. Got a great rate online of 45 Rials per night.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank tjsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2007

I last stayed here in December 2005 with my parents on a trip from Dubai to Oman and returned January 2007 as somewhere to stay on a diving trip.

The hotel is basic and functional - expect so no frills - and is "dry" (no alcohol). However, it is clean, for Muscat it is very reasonably priced and, best of all, is located less than 5 minutes walk from the Hyatt, which has a number of bars and restaurants, including the Safari Grill, which has a 3 course all you can drink dinner option (which includes some spirits as well as wine and beer) starting from OR 18 (approximately GBP 30).

All in all, a good option if you want a cheap (for Muscat) bed for the night.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Nothing; can't be faulted for the price (you can get a drink next door!)
  • Tips/Secrets — Hyatt Safari Grill has good meal deals
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank UAEexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2006

There is definitely getting to be a shortage of hotel rooms in Muscat. And with that comes the higher prices of even places like this Best Western.

The rooms were pretty typical of a Best Western type motel, clean and quiet but nothing spectacular. The breakfast is included in the price, which is nice. Room service was prompt although the menu was a little limited.

The nice thing is that this is right across the street from the Grand Hyatt so you can always just walk next door for "fancy food" and nice clubs and bars.

Beware of the taxis in Muscat, as is common in the region overall, they don't all use the meters so get an idea of what the price should be before you go and be prepared to haggle.

If you just need a place to sleep that is not outrageously priced the Best Western is the spot to go.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank lolabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruwi
0.0 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Ruwi Hotel
Ruwi Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ruwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 52 in Muscat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Al Falaj Hotel
Al Falaj Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ruwi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#13 of 52 in Muscat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bay Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bay Hotel Muscat

Property: Beach Bay Hotel Muscat
Address: Shatti Al Qurum - Hayy As Saruj | P.O. Box 3951, Ruwi 113, Oman (Formerly Coral Hotel Muscat)
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Ruwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ruwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Bay Hotel Muscat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach Bay Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muscat Coral Hotel
Beach Bay Hotel Muscat Oman/Ruwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing