We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic facilities, rooms, location, and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Salalah
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic facilities, rooms, location, and service!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a rough first night at this hotel due to a cramped room and noise coming up to our room from the lobby. First thing in the morning, we were making arrangements to change hotels when Susan from Guest Relations came to the rescue. She took quite a bit of time out of her morning to help us get re-settled in another room and that made all the difference! They gave us free buffet breakfast for the remainder of our stay, too. We had a fantastic vacation and a complete turnaround from that first awful night.

I recommend the ground-floor rooms that open up onto the lawn and pool area. It was so nice to have easy access to our room for the kids. Breakfast was delicious. Our kids never got tired of the pools, and it was easy to keep things interesting because the beach is right there, too. The hotel is very close to the Museum of the Frankincense Land, which is a must-see.

I can't speak for how crowded and noisy this place gets during the high season, but during the off-season, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Ground-floor rooms have direct access to the lawn and pool area. High-floor balcony rooms are affect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenobianblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking a moment of your time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah. We are very pleased to receive your review and your excellent feedback. Although we are disappointed to read that you experienced discomfort on your first day, we are pleased to know that our staff was able to off set this displeasure with great service. . Thank you for your kind words about the hotel's facilities, such as the room, location and service.

The team looks forward to welcoming you once again to Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah.

Kind regards,
Manuel Levonian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    254
    100
    25
    19
See reviews for
142
246
40
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalmar, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

april -13 I visited this hotel and stayed here for a week. I liked everything about the hotel, It is great if want to just relax and tan. The hotel has two small eateries on the hotel area which you can order in soft drinks from.

Room Tip: My room was on the left of the entrence. The decoration and overall image was of high standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheroeliassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to convey my gratitude for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort for your recent visit to Salalah. We are very pleased to know that you were satisfied with the quality of our services and facilities of our hotel.

We thank you for your continued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again for a pleasant stay with us.

Kind regards,

Manuel Levonian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oman
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have stayed in all the hotels in Salalah but this was the first time at the Crowne Plaza. It is by far the best hotel in town with excellent facilities and great location. All the staff were very friendly throughout the hotel which made the stay even better. The beach locatioin is amazing and the pools are good and clean. The bars are OK (a bit 1970's) but enjoyable. We ate at the Dolphin restaurant for lunch on the beach and the food was very good. The breakfast was a poor let down though, a feeding frenzy, no tables and poor food. My only complaint is that the rooms and outside areas are looking a bit tired and maybe its time for a refit!! But great place I would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FatGingerNeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time writing this review and choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah for your recent stay.

We try to create Great Hotels Guests Love and appreciate your comments about our rooms, service and staff. We have a great team working in the hotel and we will relay your positive comments to all of them.

At Crowne Plaza we take such reviews constructively and try and work on our product enhancement continuously and let me assure you that based on your comments we have started working on our breakfast service and other areas which were not into your liking.

We look forward with pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Manuel Levonian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hoteel is excellent with great staf and good food on a wonderful beach. The rooms are ok,the lobby nice. It's an old Holliday inn changed to crowne plaza. The staf is international with people from Asia which are very well trained and naturly friendly.the Omani are also most kind and friendly. The animation is nice,not too loud. Very nice is the Lebanese music at the diner in the beach restorant. I would probably change the tables and chairs on the balcony and add some wooden ways on the beach. But that's it. We will come again !

Room Tip: Ask for balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah for your recent stay and for your kind and affirmative review placed on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that it has exceeded your expectations in many ways. We certainly apologize that some aspects were not to your liking and thank you too for your suggestion and rest assured that these will be taken positively to further enhance our products and services.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah.

Best regards,

Manuel Levonian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klagenfurt, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing ambiente, perfect beach, rooms are very comfortable and clean, very friendly and helpful staff, excellent beverage, dinner in dolphin restaurant is marbelous, so our holidays became a special experiance. The placement of the hotel is perfect near to town and sea. From this point its perfect to start sightseeing and touring. So it 's also possible to learn about the history, nature and people of the southern part of Oman. We are a group of 17 people and all of them enjoyed our holidays in this resort.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Erich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful remarks. We are glad that you are delighted with your stay with us. Here at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, we strive to deliver service and facilities that exceed guests expectations. This is why a wonderful review like yours is our own success story.

We are looking forward with pleasure to be of service to you again for you next visit to Salalah.

Thanks & regards,

Manuel Levonian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had a romantic 2 night break here. Would advise getting a room with a balcony, but there aren't many. Great seaviews. Beach is huge. Plenty of sports activities to do there. They did a wonderful valentines dinner on the sand, lovely food and very reasonable package $100 per couple for 5 course meal with a glass each. Staff very friendly. Good idea to rent a car as there is nothing around the hotel, but then again there is nothing really in the city either. There is a great archaeological around 2km towards the port worth checking out and also the Oasis club for some good food and cheap drinks, but its 20kms away. Only thing I would say is the rooms are pretty small and the hotel has a bit of an 80's feel to it. Was quite expensive for what it was, even with out breakfast but it's either this place or the hilton if you want to stay on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark_from_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your opinion with other TripAdvisor users. It gives me great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that it has exceeded your expectations in many ways. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel's facilities, such as the room with balcony and great sea views.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Best regards,

Manuel Levonian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We spent an extremely relaxing 10 days here in November 2013. Salalah is an as yet undiscovered tourist gem in an area rich with history and amazing drives and landscapes, so the rewards in terms of space and hospitality for those who make the effort are all the greater. The only direct flights here from Europe are from Sweden and Germany, which reflects the guest mix.

The Crowne Plaza occupies a stunning position next to an endless expanse of white sandy (empty) beach in wide, expansive gardens that are larger and nicer than any of the other hotels' in and around Salalah. The hotel may be slightly dated compared to some others, but it has been tastefully modernised and the lobby area is very befitting of the locale, rather than just being a generic 5 star hotel lobby, and we liked its Arabian grandeur. It is very well positioned for most of the tourist sites which are located east of the city.

My partner is paraplegic and we therefore stayed in the disabled room, which was perfectly equipped (unlike other 5 star hotels including the Chedi in Muscat where we stayed afterwards). The room was just next to the pool on the ground floor. We were able to park our car next to a side entrance which security would open allowing easy access to our room. The room service was attentive and friendly- and the housekeeping supervisor Surendram stood out in particular in providing professional, competent and thoughtful service and tending to our every need.

The breakfast buffet offered a good range of dishes. Given the lack of tourists, Salalah has few eateries of note and so we ate at the beachside Dolphin restaurant most nights in perfect outdoor temperatures, with an incredible array of well-prepared dishes from international cuisines on offer. It is more expensive than restaurants in town, but is also much better food so definitely worth it.

Our only complaint during our stay was of noise outside our room during our first day and night caused by a large group of off duty US marines celebrating by the pool. When we complained to the front office manager, Mr Khamis Arafa Al Hambasy, he took time to listen to our concerns and was most generous in offering us compensation and an apology for this disturbance.

We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tihana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your word of appreciation on the hospitality you have received during your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah. Thank you too for your detailed review of our hotel. We certainly apologize that some aspects were not to your liking. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

When reading appreciation words like the ones you have written to me makes me feel very proud of all our associates and especially the team whom you mention personally in your note. It shows to me that they are dedicated to you our customers and to the success of the hotel. You have made my day and week and I cannot thank you enough for that.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you in person on your next visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah.

Sincerely yours,

Manuel Levonian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salalah hotels
9.2 mi away
Hilton Salalah
Hilton Salalah
#4 of 20 in Salalah
985 reviews
10.1 mi away
Fanar Hotel & Residences
9.9 mi away
Juweira Boutique Hotel
Juweira Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salalah
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Salalah Gardens Hotel
Salalah Gardens Hotel
#8 of 20 in Salalah
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salalah Beach Resort Hotel
Salalah Beach Resort Hotel
#11 of 20 in Salalah
59 reviews
7.4 mi away
Salalah Plaza Hotel
Salalah Plaza Hotel
#13 of 20 in Salalah
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah
Address: Al Khandaq St, Salalah 211, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Dhofar Governorate > Salalah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Salalah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salalah
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Salalah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah is situated in 45 acres of lush tropical garden, overlooking the Indian Ocean and on a long stretch of pristine white sandy beach. The resort enjoys an ideal location for Business Traveler's, Meeting & Events and for Families. Just 10 minutes drive from the Salalah International Airport, 8 minutes from the city center and 15 minutes from the Port of Salalah. All 153 rooms including 9 suites and the 19 three-bedroom family villas are stylishly well appointed and equipped with private bathroom, radio, International direct dial telephone, voice mail, interactive television including satellite channels, and mini-fridge. The Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah boasts of the only 'Green' 9 hole Par 3 Golf Course in Oman. The THREE meeting rooms at the Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah are tailored to meet the ever-changing requirements of the discerning travelers and meeting communities alike. The ballroom is equipped and caters to any social or business event, such as gala dinner, wedding, cocktails, meetings, seminars and conferences, product launches and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah Hotel Salalah
Crowne Plaza Salalah
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salalah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing