We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Modest”
Review of Shalimar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rawalpindi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Rawalpindi
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stay here only if you are really short of money. The place really need lot of renovation. Apart from that hotel also needs good staff

Room Tip: Only select after visiting that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SarfrazKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2009

My wife and I had to visit Rawalpindi in an emergency and had never been to Pakistan.before. Someone recommended the Shalimar hotel to us and we decided to take the risk.

When we arrived outside the hotel, we were a little disappointed and very worried as to what we had got ourselves into. My wife is very picky and choosy, so you can imagine, I was worried. However, as soon as we went in, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was was clean and all the basic necessities that we required. The beds were clean and comfy and the bathroom was clean and again, did the job, the only problem was that the pressure of the shower wasn't great, but tat that price you couldn't complain.

The room was airconditioned and it worked very well, remember we were there in the peak summer season. We were both taking malaria tablets, but there were no signs of mosquitoes or flies. This was a great relief.

Room service was excellent and timely. We constantly ordered food and teas/coffees etc and they were of a good service and very reasonably priced. The laundry service was excellent and I on a number of occassions had clothes ironed and washed at short notice. On a few occassions I asked for my shirts to be ironed asap and they were returned in 15mins..
Our room was cleaned everyday and were given fresh clean towels on a daily basis.
We had a mini bar in the room, no alcohol, but soft drinks only, aswell as the 'God Send' bottled Nestle water with a seal on it. (be careful not to drink any other brand of water other than Nestle and always check the plastic cellophane seal).

The hotel staff were very helpful and a true display of 'Service with a smile'.
Breakfast was complementary and was a buffet with a wide variety of things to choose from.

Had a swim in the pool, but I was worried about whether it had been treated properly for use, so I kept away. But saying that, it did look beautiful.

The hotel is opposite the Pearl Continental (better known locally as the PC), but the Shalimar is at the 3rd of the price.

I would really recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cardinalpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2007

The group of us stayed at the hotel because (a) our travel agent booked it and (b) it looked respectable as the PIA put up its air crew here as well. (Notice the choice of words--put up.)

Alas, never judge a hotel by its guests.

A few of my friends had to change rooms right away when they opened the door. Rooms were unmade or just unclean. In my case, the hot water pipe burst just before I took my evening shower.

A friend called and they told him 30 minutes. He waited 30 minutes and called again. They told him 10 minutes. He waited 10 minutes and then called again. They told him 4 minutes and right away he smelt the rat and so he asked: Honestly, how long will it take. The reply: we don't know.

Service was inconsistent. I discovered that the large towel on the hand towel rack was the bath mat.

The business centre had no internet access. The attendant kept typing
[----] in the address bar and could not understand why they were not connecting. They were on dialup and he was not dialling up.

However the number of stars this hotel has, discount them all.

The group of us met the tourism minister and when she asked for our honest feedback, we did. She said she was going to strip one or two stars from the hotel. We cheered.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2006

When I arrived in June, I was somewhat put off by the constant banging of hammers and drills, but upon my return in August was astounded at the imporovements they had made to the rooms. They are almost uncomparable to the old ones. But if you go, ask to stay in one of the new suites (aka only some of the rooms have been renovated). Overall, AGAIN Excellent stay and outstanding service from the hotel staff. A great value/quality ratio at about 108 USD a night standard (most tour agencies can get the price down to about half that.) Will be staying there next year without question!!!

Nick RIce

7  Thank climber8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2005

I stayed at the Shalimar Hotel Apr 4-20 2005 and I couldnt have been happier about my stay there.

The rack rate is about $100 a night there but I stayed for about $50 a night which was a good deal for that hotel.

This was my first trip to Pakistan and I only knew a few people there before I arrived. They were more helpful than I could have hoped. From the shift managers to the doorman, everyone was more than pleasant and as helpful as they possibly could be.

The rooms are honestly not the nicest that you will ever stay in but are comfortable and clean with a very receptive staff.

The Beds and blankets were very nice and new. The TV was not new but worked well with a good selection of Paki and American channels.

The furniture hasnt seen the attention to detail that would make it look like a luxuious hotel but if you are not going to sit in the room and critique it, should be fine.

There is a comp buffet breakfast every morning from 7:30 to 10:00 am with a good selection of breakfast foods.

The pool was not open at that time and looked as though it might not be for some time.

The lobby and the lounge were both comfortable and attractive.

This was a different sort of stay for me as I was looking to meet Pakis, to learn about the culture and to see how the common people live there. I would often meet people from all backgrounds from the city and the hotel staff was very protective of me with the people that would call or stop in to see me.

Aside from being very patient with my near constant requests for botttled water and taking my many phone messages, the shift managers would "interview" my visitors for my safety. I wouldnt expect that from just any hotel or just any group of caring people.

The Peal Continental is right across the street from the Shalimar but if you are looking to do some kind of business in Pindi/ Isb and arent looking for gold plated toilets and the like, I'd suggest staying at the Shalimar for about half the price.

I hope to go again this fall, it's a great place to stay...and wonderful people there.

33  Thank slang324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tokyokko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
Thank Mehmet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawalpindi
0.0 mi away
Royalton Hotel
Royalton Hotel
#1 of 11 in Rawalpindi
55 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi
0.8 mi away
Flashman's Hotel
Flashman's Hotel
#7 of 11 in Rawalpindi
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grace Crown Hotel
Grace Crown Hotel
#2 of 11 in Rawalpindi
4 reviews
6.1 mi away
Shelton Guest House
Shelton Guest House
#6 of 23 in Islamabad
3 reviews
5.9 mi away
Royal Crown
Royal Crown
#9 of 23 in Islamabad
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Hotel

Address: GPO Box No.93, Rawalpindi, Pakistan
Region: Pakistan > Punjab Province > Rawalpindi
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Rawalpindi
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Shalimar Hotel Rawalpindi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing