We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

So much more than just a hostal, Refugio del Rio is a beautiful place to stay in Boquete. The main house is clean and a great place to read or relax. The kitchen is stocked and always smells wonderful as guests cook throughout the day. The outside area is incredible; I met so many cool people from all over the world just by hanging out on the patio. Soothing sounds of the river make the backyard an excellent spot to chill, and the sauna was a welcome respite after a hike up Volcan Baru. Don't be scared of the outdoor shower and toilet, they work great. Many travelers stayed in their tents next to the river and I can definitely see why.

The staff is very friendly and helpful despite my limited Spanish (hola Gina!). Wifi was solid throughout the entire property area and they have four PCs for use as well. Two different travelers who had been all over told me this was there favorite hostal in the entire world. Such a great spot.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Rented a tree top room for 6 days. Great views, nice quiet area. Wifi always worked from our room so we didn't have to go to the common area.However the common area was nice & clean, like the rest of the property. Free coffee in the mornings was a nice touch.
Pleasant, helpful staff

Room Tip: If you want more privacy book a tree top room. You can still meet fellow travelers but only have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CD1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Refugio del Rio is true to its name, it is a refuge by a wonderful river. The sound of the river can be heard from the tents or from the private treetop rooms. All reasonably priced and worth much more than you pay. It is more than just a hostel, it's a home. The staff treats you like family, the facilities are immaculate, and the location is centered perfectly in the middle of the small town of Boquete.

I could continue to go on about the surroundings and decor, but it should be reemphasized that they really treat you like an old friend, or a traveling family member. So open, warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a treehouse!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The individual rooms are great for the price: 36/night for a nice and quiet room by the river. There's a big kitchen, a jacuzzi and functional WIFI. Be careful about booking a day trip, you can do most of the hikes on your own without paying for a guide.

Room Tip: For couples the rooms by the river are with the 10 extra compared to a dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Really cheap for what you get. You won't like it if you don't enjoy meeting new people. Big house with wifi, four pc's and really nice kitchen. There are contacts everywhere so you won't suffer because of low battery : )

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Great service, big shared kitchen, hot tub and lovely grounds make this a great place to stay in Boquete. The riverside cabins are a great value (we didn't stay in one as they were fully booked), the other rooms vary (try to book one facing the river rather than one behind the kitchen) and they also offer camping (tent, air mattress and sheets provided) when it's full. The owner is a great guy!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGrunkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

I loved it here. The location is great - not just for the river but 2 blocks from the main road means its a bit quieter as well, but still within easy walking distance to everything. I had one of the cabanas for the first night -wow! Sleeping to the sound of the river was perfect! Since I decided to stay an extra day I had to switch rooms, and the second room was much less enticing - darker and not as welcoming - but it still did the trick. If you're in boquete you shouldn't be indoors much anyway. The common area is always there if you want to take a nap in the sun by the river. I didn't use the kitchen much or anything. The staff was nice. I would stay here again for sure! But I would probably try and book a cabana room.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank leahg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
344 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boquete Lodge
Boquete Lodge
#1 of 52 in Boquete
88 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#2 of 52 in Boquete
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Jungla Experience
La Jungla Experience
#4 of 27 in Boquete
70 reviews
2.5 mi away
Spanish by the River-Boquete
0.2 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#6 of 52 in Boquete
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio

Address: Avenida a Oeste | Bajo, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Boquete
Price Range: £10 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known in town as the “luxurious” hostel for backpackers, you are always surprised to discover that such a beautiful house has been transformed into a hostel. Our place has been carefully furnished and decorated and also has 8 private all of which some have private and some have shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Refugio Del Rio Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing