We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the hype”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This place is a dump. The pictures are completely misleading. There were cockroaches in my room and the kitchen is very dirty! It is also very noisy late into the evening and early in the morning. You can get nicer places in Boquete for the same price.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luchini L, Owner at Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Rachel,

We are really sorry for your bad experience, however, we have a few notes that might be useful for you, and for everyone who reads it.

Our system shows that you stayed in our dorm. Out of 11 other people, no one had experienced cockroaches. Moreover, since we started operating, we never received concerns regarding cockroaches. Based on the fact that we have a cat living mainly in the dorm, we highly doubt the existence of them in our hostal.
We clean our common facilities usually 4-5 times a day. It could happen, that after a busy afternoon you will not find everything flawlessly clean, but we do our best, and if any of our guests experience anything like this, the staff is really happy to help - just let us know please.
Regarding the noise; we have a strict policy, that states that quiet time is 11pm, this is respected by the staff and by guests as well. Nevertheless, you have stayed in our hostal during the carneval. That is another thing, that we can not control, but we made sure to let every of our clients know, that if they want quietness and tranquility, we have a hotel up in the mountains that can satisfy these type of needs. This information is attached in every confirmation letter that you receive after making a reservation with us.
At last but not least, an advice for your further travels; if you experience any problem during your stay at any lodging, please talk to the management after the first issues you have problem with, it is more likely that you can enjoy the rest of your stay there, than writing a bad review afterwards which is far from the reality.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was a really pleasant place to stay in Boquete. It's a large hostel, with plenty of opportunity to meet people to hang out with or to explore the area. The kitchen is large and well equipped, and there are plenty of shops and markets nearby to stock up on local produce. The kitchen does get very busy, do be prepared to wait a while. The Panamanian staff were very helpful and friendly, a little Spanish will go a long way. It's a shame that the western staff couldn't be more disinterested if they tried. We stayed in the 10 bed dorm, which was spacious, and then the 6 bed dorm, which was a little more crowded but fine. We stayed longer than we anticipated. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robotwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stumbled upon this place while searching for a hostel in Boquete. We were looking for a hostel with private rooms and privets baths. This beautiful place is located a couple of block from the town square sitting alongside a small river. It was clean and very affordable. The staff were super helpful. For the price we were blown away by how nice the amenities were. We plan on more trips to Boquete and El Refugio will be our top choice.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Strangrpilgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

So much more than just a hostal, Refugio del Rio is a beautiful place to stay in Boquete. The main house is clean and a great place to read or relax. The kitchen is stocked and always smells wonderful as guests cook throughout the day. The outside area is incredible; I met so many cool people from all over the world just by hanging out on the patio. Soothing sounds of the river make the backyard an excellent spot to chill, and the sauna was a welcome respite after a hike up Volcan Baru. Don't be scared of the outdoor shower and toilet, they work great. Many travelers stayed in their tents next to the river and I can definitely see why.

The staff is very friendly and helpful despite my limited Spanish (hola Gina!). Wifi was solid throughout the entire property area and they have four PCs for use as well. Two different travelers who had been all over told me this was there favorite hostal in the entire world. Such a great spot.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Rented a tree top room for 6 days. Great views, nice quiet area. Wifi always worked from our room so we didn't have to go to the common area.However the common area was nice & clean, like the rest of the property. Free coffee in the mornings was a nice touch.
Pleasant, helpful staff

Room Tip: If you want more privacy book a tree top room. You can still meet fellow travelers but only have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CD1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Refugio del Rio is true to its name, it is a refuge by a wonderful river. The sound of the river can be heard from the tents or from the private treetop rooms. All reasonably priced and worth much more than you pay. It is more than just a hostel, it's a home. The staff treats you like family, the facilities are immaculate, and the location is centered perfectly in the middle of the small town of Boquete.

I could continue to go on about the surroundings and decor, but it should be reemphasized that they really treat you like an old friend, or a traveling family member. So open, warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a treehouse!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The individual rooms are great for the price: 36/night for a nice and quiet room by the river. There's a big kitchen, a jacuzzi and functional WIFI. Be careful about booking a day trip, you can do most of the hikes on your own without paying for a guide.

Room Tip: For couples the rooms by the river are with the 10 extra compared to a dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boquete Lodge
Boquete Lodge
#1 of 52 in Boquete
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#2 of 52 in Boquete
80 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Jungla Experience
La Jungla Experience
#4 of 27 in Boquete
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#6 of 52 in Boquete
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio

Address: Av A Este | Bajo, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Boquete
Price Range: £12 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known in town as the “luxurious” hostel for backpackers, you are always surprised to discover that such a beautiful house has been transformed into a hostel. Our place has been carefully furnished and decorated and also has 8 private all of which some have private and some have shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Refugio Del Rio Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing