We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private room is hotel standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

An amazing and luxurious break from standard hostels! We had a private room (which could have slept 4) for only $30 a night which was on the river and you were woken by he birds and the water in the morning. Hot tub on the river is also great after a hike. Staff are very helpful. Kitchen was nice and clean, theres a super market five minutes away.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ashcoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Magic!

Amazing place, great energy, personal, kitchen, rooms, placement...peaceful way of interacting with such a beautiful region as Boquete.
Close from everything yet you feel away from it all.

Go for it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The location is just right being off the main road but everything is easy to walk to. The price was spot on and a better value than any other place we stayed in panama. The staff could absolutely not have been anymore hospitable or helpful. It really feels like you are staying with friends more than you are in a hostel. Muy tranquilo.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jonathan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in February. We took the bus to Bouquette; it was a little challenge to find, but is in a nice location near downtown. It is off the main streets which minimizes traffic. The location by the rushing creek is pleasant, and there is a nice lawn area by the creek when it is nice to sit out, (it was mostly windy or drizzly during our stay). The small cabins with balconies overlooking the creek are nice little retreats, and it was nice to have your own bathroom. Air conditioning is unnecessary due to good breezes. The staff was always helpful and friendly. The communal kitchen and dining area are often busy, which you would expect, but a great place to chat with folks from around the world.

Room Tip: Get a cabin with a private bath and balcony if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobL190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Location was great. Price was good. Hostel amenities were amazing. The room itself was good, but not great. The room was clean and perfectly serviceable, but kind of in a weird location and the bathroom was just okay. We arrived very early in the morning and the hosts let us hang around until our room was ready. They were helpful with booking onward transportation.
There is a river running through the back with places to sit and relax ... lots of places to sit and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderlustCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights in a dorm room. As the door is constantly open, the cat of the hostel always lies in the dorm beds.

As I am allergic, that is a no-go. Staff put a sign on the door, which was nice.

There are many people hanging out, so it was never clear to me, who actually was staff and who was a guest. The staff I recognized was always super friendly.

The whole three days I stayed there, the dorm and bathroom wasn't cleaned once.

The worst experience was but the snake on the window sill, which must have come into the room somehow. But as nobody ever cleans, it wasn't discovered early. Someone took it and saw that it was already dead. So nobody seemed to care much about it.

The nice thing was the hottub outside near the river. Wouldn't stay in the dorm again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed a week in a private room overlooking the river-that you would easily pay 4 times more for in the states.. So beautiful and relaxing. The staff was so helpful and friendly. Such a great location-so private but two minutes from downtown.We are in our 60s and felt totally welcome even though most guests were in their 20s. Loved having access to the kitchen. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitehairedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#7 of 12 in Boquete
190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#2 of 50 in Boquete
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
El Machico Boquete
El Machico Boquete
#1 of 50 in Boquete
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#6 of 50 in Boquete
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Gaia
Hostal Gaia
#11 of 50 in Boquete
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio

Address: Av A Este | Bajo, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Boquete
Price Range: £14 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known in town as the “luxurious” hostel for backpackers, you are always surprised to discover that such a beautiful house has been transformed into a hostel. Our place has been carefully furnished and decorated and also has 8 private all of which some have private and some have shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Refugio Del Rio Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing