We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night was not enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One night was not enough!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

One night was not enough at this hostel in a private room (with bathroom) in the trees, we would have stayed for 1 week if possible and were sad to move. We didn't realise how full the hostels can be in low season so I recommend reserving this one in advance. The gardens are lush, with a stream out back and a hot tub under a tree by the creek that looked like a lot of fun while occupied by our neighbours (sadly we didn't have time in our short stay to use it.)
The staff were very helpful after my partner arrived having had a motorbike accident and showed a doctor who was staying at the hostel to our room - who was wonderful and gave us peace of mind. They also helped push start my partner's motorbike, and called me a taxi.

The bed was very comfortable and the bed linen crisp and clean. Our room was quite small, and very clean too. We had a tv, balcony, bathroom, and stream view for $38 per night. It is located very near to the town centre. When we moved out and looked at other accommodation we found nearby hostels to not be so lovely. We ended up staying in Hostal Boquete with a balcony and river view - a fair alternative if this place if full.

I would definitely come back!

Room Tip: I think we were in room #1, one of the private rooms facing the stream. Felt private, looked onto na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    88
    24
    9
    10
See reviews for
25
165
114
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morriston, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent a single night at the hostal and would have enjoyed staying longer but they didn't have space available. We were lulled to sleep by the sound of the river alongside the "Tree House" apartment with private bath. The cabin design was fun and bed very comfortable. Happened to be there on a night when you could get pizza to enjoy in the patio. It was good and really enjoyed the music provided by a steel drummer. Very talented individual!
Made breakfast in the kitchen which was well equipped.
We met many really nice people and enjoyed great conversations.

Room Tip: Loved the Tree House and would definitely recommend it for couples. Delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I ended up in a dorm for 1 night, then three in a private room (Ruiseñor 2 I think). The dorm was ok (no curtains on the windows, so it got light very early, and the bathroom was quite grotty), but the private room was wonderful! It was very secluded, with a pretty balcony overlooking the river. The room itself was small, but perfectly adequate. The bathroom was nicely done, and a world away from the dorm bathrooms. I’d highly recommend it – it had so much charm and character, it’s one of my favourite ever hotel rooms. The staff were generally quite helpful. The kitchen was always quite busy, and not too tidy. I only went in once to get a glass…there were none to be seen, either in cupboards, or dirty on the side. There was just 1 mug on the shelf, which I made do with.

Room Tip: Avoid the dorms, go for a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Great place! One of my favourite hostels. Dormitory with heaps of space, good kitchen, lots of common areas, amazing setting, lovely staff. If you want somewhere quiet and relaxed. You will still meet lots of people. I didn't want to leave.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WanderingWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in April for 2 nights and just enjoyed my time. It's a clean, safe and well situated hostel which is the best I stayed in while in Panama! The most notable thing is that the stuff is absolutely friendly, helpful and caring. Especially Luigini, the owner, is a nice mate. The rooms itself are clean, calm and you have great wifi connection everywhere. Also, the house and garden are lovely. I whish I stayed longer. If I return to Boquete I will stay there again, that's for sure. I love this place and I love Boquete.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

An amazing and luxurious break from standard hostels! We had a private room (which could have slept 4) for only $30 a night which was on the river and you were woken by he birds and the water in the morning. Hot tub on the river is also great after a hike. Staff are very helpful. Kitchen was nice and clean, theres a super market five minutes away.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ashcoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Magic!

Amazing place, great energy, personal, kitchen, rooms, placement...peaceful way of interacting with such a beautiful region as Boquete.
Close from everything yet you feel away from it all.

Go for it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.1 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
337 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#3 of 49 in Boquete
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#6 of 49 in Boquete
428 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Machico Boquete
El Machico Boquete
#1 of 49 in Boquete
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio

Property: Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
Address: Av A Este | Bajo, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known in town as the “luxurious” hostel for backpackers, you are always surprised to discover that such a beautiful house has been transformed into a hostel. Our place has been carefully furnished and decorated and also has 8 private all of which some have private and some have shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Refugio Del Rio Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing