We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Valle del Rio
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in late February 2011 and absolutely loved it. The room was very spacious, clean and pretty with a balcony over looking the a creek and the side of a mountain. There was hot water, good wireless internet and cable TV. There is no airconditioning in the room, but it isn't needed because the nights are cool. There is a ceiling fan in the room. It is located in a very quiet part of the town about 5 minutes walk from the center. At night you can see many stars in the sky and listen to the pleasant sound of the stream from the creek.

There is also a fitness center and assistance at the front desk for booking tours. It is easier to just walk into town and check out the different excursion companies and compare prices and itineraries. The food in the restaurant is also very good. It is located in a very pretty part of town, just gorgeous. I was very happy with my stay.

The dining area has an outdoor patio with a beautiful view of the creek and mountain. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vacaciones71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    55
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
67
64
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We stayed here our second night in Boquete after having to change hotels because we planned our trip late and didn't book far enough in advance. Our first hotel recommended this one and when we drove up, we were not expecting much as our first night was at an amazingly picturesque spot. They were able to check us in early so we could head out on a coffee plantation tour, and found our rooms (we were traveling with another couple) better than the first hotel that we all raved about. The views out the back to the stream and the mountain were gorgeous. The balcony was a great addition to the spacious room. The furniture is a little ornate for my taste, but the bed was comfortable, there was sufficient lighting and storage and extra seating. The bathroom was a good size although we had a little trouble getting hot water for the second shower. The fridge was amply supplied, but we brought our own beverages. Breakfast the next morning was great although they never did turn on any lights in the dining room - we thought it was closed at first. Our only complaint was that we could hear music from The Wine Bar below our room. This hotel should think about painting the exterior and ditching the casino...who comes to Boquete to gamble?!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

As others had reported on TA, I expected a room with gaudy decor, but did not find that to be the case, so perhaps the rooms were redecorated-we found them to be quite nice. The sound of the river at night was awesome and really was a pretty view.

While the food was good, service at the restaurant was somewhat slow-(lthough typical for Panama, we are learning) We were there for a very early dinner and could not seem
to get our server's attention.

The front desk staff were mixed in their helpfulness-some were outstanding, while one woman admitted that she knew very litle about the Boquete area when asked some questions. Perhaps she just moved there, but there was no other person available to help-which was frustrating.

After seeing some of the other hotels on the area, we were pleased with the location,condition of the hotel and our choice in Valle del Rio.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suett1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farallon, Panama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We loved our experience in Boquete, which happened to be during the Flower and Coffee Festival which was a bonus. It is a beautiful mountain village with lots of amazing eateries and beautiful scenery. And of course no trip would be complete without a Coffee Plantation Tour. I would definitely recommend the Riuz, Carlos does an outstanding job. Our hotel was excellent. It is a beautiful setting nestled against a mountain river overlooking a coffee farm. A short walk to town and away from the noise and acitivites, but close enough to feel you are a part of the town. Our room was great, very nicely appointed. The hotel has a great restaurant and the food was excellent. Would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone going to the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovtravln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Location is good-natured just outside of the town center. A car is helpful, but you need a car for most places in boquete. Rooms are wonderful, as are lobby, deck etc. Staff was friendly and helpful, with the exception of one person trying to talk us into a ridiculously overpriced guided hike up the volcano.. clearly there's some commission there. Italian restaurant was ok, but not bad for Panama. Wine bar was neat

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bms930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

great rooms,great views of the river,good break fast, nice workers
but..............nasty management
We got soaked in the rain so we used the clothes dryer only once
hotel charged me $62 for using the dryer, and refused to under stand my point that we did not use full service laundry
also it is impossible to use the phone as they keep your phone blocked
also not allowed to send or receive cell phone calls
plus they do not deliver messages to your room
we enjoyed the hotel but will not use it again

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skicrazyhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelValledelRio, Owner at Hotel Valle del Rio, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
1. It is very the l y sad that this customer will undermine our strength for their mistake.
They had a price list of laundry services beforehand and they send 22 pieces of clothing between Jackets, shirts, pants etc.. and got them back neatly folded. the original price was $87.00 according the list and was discounted after their complaint. Do they want this service for free?
2. Hotel telephones are blocked for security reasons an upon request by the customer management will unlock it. In fact this customer was asked if it wanted this done and decline.
3. It is outrages to suggest that we will have the technology to block Cellphone calls.
My staff gave this customer all the attention we are accustom to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Stayed in the executive suite and had the most amazing experience. Staff were very friendly and attentive, bed was wonderfully comfortable, decor was stylish and elegant and the food was superb (the pineapple jam in the morning was definitely worth getting up for!). Woke up to a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains and river every morning which inspired me to go and explore the hot springs and numerous treks that were just a stones throw away!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyMorris22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.8 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valle del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valle del Rio

Property: Hotel Valle del Rio
Address: Camino Valle Escondido | Bajo Boquete, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valle del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hotel in Boquete with 2 Signature Restaurants.River runs in the back of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Valle del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing