We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, close to everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Valle del Rio
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel is small but very nice. The room is just as pictured (very pretty). We would stay there again. Didn't have any problems with the bill. My only suggestions if the hotel wants to attract more Americans would be: to add split unit AC to the rooms (the weather is great, but AC would be nice in the afternoons, it gets a little warm).; most of the staff speaks very limited English; The wi-fi only works in the lobby, not the rooms. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant but it was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were looking for a hotel in Boquete at the last minute over a holiday week-end. Valle del Rio was the only decent option for us and we were fortunate we were able to book here. The rooms and grounds are pleasant, well sized and comfortable. All very clean and tidy as well. Conveniently located just a 5 minute walk from the center of Boquete, but far enough from the center to be out of the hustle and bustle of Boquete. Service was mostly good; when we checked in, the desk clerk was neither helpful nor friendly. But the next morning, the person on duty was very helpful when we requested late check-out and a place to store our luggage. She also arranged for a transfer to David, which worked out very well for us. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and there were extensive options.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We recently booked this hotel over the phone. I gave my credit card information. On arrival I gave them my credit card which they ran though as usual. We had to walk up two flights of stairs as the elevator wan't working (with no help from the guy who was supposed to be showing us to our room (he took the stairs two at at time while we struggled with our baggage). We had expected a king size bed, our room had two queen's instead. We were not impressed with the service or the room and decided to leave.
We explained our position to the girl at the front desk and after consulted with the manager by phone she told us we would have to pay the cancellation fee. I asked her to get the manager back on the phone but she said he couldn't be reached! I told her we would not pay as it it the hotels fault that they do not live up to the standard we expected. I asked for my credit card slip back and also the booking confirmation that had my credit card number in it. She gave them back and I tore them up in front of her. Today I saw my visa statement and see I was charged anyway!!! Unethical and definately not customer oriented.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank shani p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelValledelRio, Propietario at Hotel Valle del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

We are very sorry you feel this way but you read and accepted our cancelation policies and you where in any hotel in world. Your received the room that you reserved and our hotel never announced to have and elevator in the web site you reserved and the day of your arrival it was being installed since e have just recently got one.
We are a 26 room hotel and a cancelation or no show is very harmfull to our business and if you where on our shoes you will understand. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectation but you gave no real reason as for wanting to leave. The Room was impeccable you just had another reason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This hotel is a little out dated as other reviews have said, but is very clean and comfortable. The hotel is a short walk from the main part of town. There is a restaurant in the hotel, we only ate lunch once in it, but it was good. The front desk staff spoke good english and were very helpful. The only down side was the wifi did not work in our room so always had to go to the lobby to use the internet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelValledelRio, Propietario at Hotel Valle del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Guest
I really appreciate you comments about our Small Hotel but with all do respect I do not understand the Outdated part. Our Rooms have all the confort and amenities available today Like Mini Bar, quality bedding, excellent furniture, hair dryer, Safe, Coffee maker etc.. and we have just installed a panoramic Elevator. Our bar has all the spirits and a large selection of Wines and our restaurant is one of the best of the area With six 50" Plasmas for watching sports, News etc..
and the Hotel is 4 Years Old.
We do not advertise WiFI in the rooms but we do have Wired internet.
I sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to exceed you expectations and look upon us with a different perspective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Excellent value--very affordable price for excellent service, great beds, great location. Located just before the entrance to Valle Escondido, you can easily walk just several blocks back into Bajo Boquete town. I even took a walk at night under the moon and stars and it was lovely, safe, back off the main roads. Rooms are good size with refrigerator, great shower, balcony looking onto river. Restaurant terrace outside by river. Friendly, speedy, helpful bilingual staff. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We liked upstairs with a slightly higher up view of the river and mountains. We like close to the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Very helpful and very friendly staff in wonderfully decorated hotel in a beautiful location. This is one of the best hotels in Panama. Everything is clean and beautifully designed, with a great view from most of the rooms. The best thing here is the service. The receptionists here were very helpful in finding and booking activities in Boquete. They let us stay for a late check-in until 3pm with no problem. They also let us leave our car here for a few days AFTER we checked out. When the battery died, they helped us find someone to fix it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The location of Valle del Rio is perfect: a short hike from the bustle of the town's main drag, nestled next to a narrow river/creek. Their sign comes up pretty fast after you round the bend (watch for the casino dice). There's a steep driveway (which tested our tiny rental car) & ample parking.

The lobby is warm and welcoming, as were all of the front desk staff we dealt with. The 4-story atrium over the front desk is striking, as is the number of WiFi-hungry hotel guests maneuvering for a signal in the lobby.

The room had a pleasant balcony overlooking the river with amazing vistas of the surrounding cloud forest and mountains. The sight of the mist rolling over lush hills as flocks of yellow birds darted around our balcony was one of the best recollections of our Panama visit.

We left the balcony door open to hear the water rushing all night and birds at dawn. Lots of closet space, clean banos, nice mattress, coffeemaker, fridge, safe, big TV. Iffy hot water during peak times, but ample during off-peak. The breakfast was OK (decent papaya & pina for me, so-so huevos for the spouse). The dining area offers great views of the mountainside and river.

We dined there one night: nice ambiance, attentive service, affordable. And my Trucha Almondina (trout) was fantastic, one of my best meals in a 10-day trip.

For some reason, we had to switch our room on the 3rd night to a first floor unit above the bar (which was blasting Lionel Richie for a few hours). The new room was the same set-up as the first one, but less of a view and a balcony door we felt safer shutting at night. Despite that disappointment, I'd recommend Hotel Valle del Rio.

Room Tip: Don't get the room right about the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdub333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1 mi away
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
0.7 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#2 of 13 in Boquete
351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#8 of 13 in Boquete
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
7.9 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
4 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#4 of 13 in Boquete
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valle del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valle del Rio

Address: Camino Valle Escondido | Bajo, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range: £93 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valle del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Hotel in Boquete with A/C in every room, Impecable service and large rooms with balcony and breath taking views. Paladar Restaurant with his large terrace overlooking the River will delight you with his exquisite menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Valle del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing