We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best meal of our trip”
Review of Hotel Ladera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ladera
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
roatan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best meal of our trip”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

My girlfriend and I spent 2 and half weeks in Panama and the meals we had here stand out as the best. A quick inspection of the grounds told us we were in for a treat before the food even arrived. The construction looked brand new despite being many years old (I asked) Stainless steel screws were used on the outdoor areas and LED lights were recessed into the stairs. A canal next to the restaurant held floating flowers arrangements and a worker was wading thru the water to pick up errant rose petals (I'm not making this up). We had soup, salad, a main course, desert and drinks for $60. My only complaint was the lemonade was very bitter, but the orange juice is fresh squeezed. The ceviche was the best I ever had.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    51
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
49
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stumbled upon Hotel Ladera before our hike up Sendero El Pianista while staying in Boquete. The food was absolutely delicious - we were pleasantly surprised. We had expected a quick lunch before a long hike, but ended up eating some of the best ceviche and most delicious watercress salad we had ever had! Needless to say, we went back for dinner and tried out more of the menu - this is one of the best restaurants in Boquete - I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakedape13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The rooms were very nice, clean, and spacious. They have a really cute little balcony that looks out to the mountains right over the river - very picturesque. It's a short walk over the bridge into town. It's nice to have the restaurant on site to have breakfast or a drink at night. The staff was a bit strange. I don't have anything negative to say about them, but they were just not very welcoming and they seemed to have very elaborate processes for simple transactions that were time consuming and odd.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FOXtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We shopped around, and when we perused Hotel Ladera, we booked our entire stay here! Comes with breakfast, and the room, specifically #20, I was in love! With a fabulous terrace, although small, perfect for two, to take in the sounds of the rushing river, the butterflies flying by our windows. Wonderful, romantic, we will be back soon and absolutely coming back here!!!! (Coffee divine)!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canapana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We traveled from the Panama City, Panama area to Boquete by car. It's not a short trip, but it's a nice drive. We wound up in Boquete a few hours before the sun was going down, with no reservations. We had looked up some places online and figured when we got to Boquete something would shake out...
After going to several of the hostels, many of which we booked, we heard about Hotel Ladera. We went there on a whim...
What we found was a great hotel, tucked away. We asked about rooms and found they had availability on short notice. The front desk staff person, Ricardo, was very accommodating, bilingual (Spanish/English) and funny. After a little bit of negotiation we booked a nice double.
The rooms have a nice patio and the hotel opens up nicely to the sounds of the mountains and the city. Very clean, warm showers and comfortable beds.
The kitchen/bar staff were great, funny and very helpful.
The hotel staff in general were quick to assist us in our many needs...from helping us book flights, to giving us advice on where to go next in Panama, to helping us access the local tours that Boquete had to offer...hiking, coffee farms, etc.
If I find myself back in Boquete, Hotel Ladera is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztraveler1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel from November 03 until November 06 2010. This is, and I have been in Boquete a LOT !! The most terrible service hotel EVER.
The water services was OFF EACH DAY
NO HOT water every day neither
No electricity on November 03 until 10pm, neither water.
On November 04 no personnel were in the restaurant, like 10 persons did not find any breakfast at all, only 1 person was trying to help like 10 tables completed with people.
And the worst of everything the recepction team never apologize for the inconvenience or try to make us feel good or better due to the problems. I will never go back to this hotel. There are some others with the same rate and with 100%better services.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LP50726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo V, Manager at Hotel Ladera, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Hello LP50726

Sorry for your bad experience, we are under new management and we would like to change your perception about our property, please contact me so we can discuss the problems you had with your trip and how we can improve.

vr/
Pablo
gerencia@hotel-ladera.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orting, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We were I think one of the first to stay in this hotel after the flood. The Manager was wonderful she made sure we were given the best service. The rooms are beautiful with nice balconys to sit on and listen to the river. The location is wonderful. We will be going back soon as we head there every 3 months. They also have a wonderful Suite/Apartment which is stunning and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandinmyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1.3 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
334 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#6 of 11 in Boquete
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ladera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ladera

Property: Hotel Ladera
Address: Via Palo Alto, Calle Buenos Aires, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ladera 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ladera Hotel- Boquete . A hotel with beautiful contemporary design on the banks of the rushing Caldera River. Enjoy mountain views of Volcan Baru in one of the most beautiful areas of Boquete. We offer rooms, suites and an apartment. Breakfast for two is included.Enjoy our onsite restaurant with the highest Trip Advisor Rating in Boquete.Located in the beautiful Palo Alto section of Boquete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ladera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing