We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long term stay for language school”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Topas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Topas
Ranked #16 of 30 Boquete B&B and Inns
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long term stay for language school”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed nine weeks while attending HablaYa language school in Boquete. The pension is on the school's recommended list of places to stay. It is good value, very basic but clean accommodation. The gardens provide a real escape from the town. The location is good - close to Sugar and Spice bakery and less than 10 minutes from the school. The rooms could do with a facelift but overall it is very well priced if you are staying for an extended period. The wifi is pretty weak - you have to sit by the pool to get a decent connection, and that is not so good in the rainy season.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower room in the separate building by the river - it is damp. Go for the rooms with ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    23
    17
    10
    2
See reviews for
5
38
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

we enjoyed the stay in total !!! beautiful clean place great pool, nice people evrything just great.
will come back for sure !!!
the pool was clean as also the rooms and the breakfast was quite an experience. they served a big selection of all we could expect for a super breakfast.
the owner is very friendly and help with information about whre to go, what to visit,the whole 9 yards.
in general a place to stay, a place to come back !!!

Room Tip: all rooms are nice !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roland f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bischofszell, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I spent 2 Nights here and when we got there it was raining hard and cold. After a short adventure outside, because the gas for the hot water ran out we could cuddle up in bed. Really a warm and nice place, with great breakfast and a helpful host who has a great antique collection.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 36MarcoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

The Topas is a great place to stay in Boquete if you are looking for a frienly place that is not too expensive! Obviously no place in Boquete is always quiet, but I am looking at some of the negative reviews and just have to laugh! I stayed for 3 weeks at Topas and was very satisfied with comfort of room ( yes, I did have the best one with cable TV and ensuite bathroom, but the daily price goes down when you stay longer). The garden is lovely, lots of birds, lots of intersting people meeting up at the shady, wind protected court yard- it seems to be THE place to meet travellers who come by car from Argentina or Canada! Also anything from young backpackers to families with children have passed through while I was there. The pool is great on hot days, the owner and his family are very friendly and knowleadgable and keep the place super clean. there might be some confusion about the lack of an office or reception area- you just have to knock on their door and wander into their cozy kitchen, but I never felt I was interrupting anybody. I highly recomend this place! And yes, the simple room with outdoor bathroom isn't great- but you get it for the price of a dormbed anywhere else...
4 blocks from the downtown Plaza and 1 block away from the best bakery cafe in Panama (Sugar&Spice)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iristravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

This place is very cute, cozy and clean, friendly staff and found the owner very helpful. Located close to town, only about a 5 minute walk. Area was quiet and safe.

Thought the value was great and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandGirl127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I first when to this hostel about 10 years ago during a trip around panama in 2002. I really enjoyed all the Tintin paintings (I would read all the books when I was a kid). Overall the first stay was nice. This stay however, was much much different. To break down the rooms from what I know you have three different types. First you have a few rooms around the court yard that seem to be very nice. The price seems to fluctuate but I was last quoted 36USD for one of these rooms... busy time in Boquete. The second rooms were in the back of the yard and were nice the last time I was there. They were occupied when we tried to stay there a second time. The third room is 100% horrible. Seems cute from the outside, but It is a shack, with an outdoor bathroom. We have traveled a lot and sleeping a room with an outdoor bathroom is fine, but if that's going to be the case then please have a way to keep the bugs (i.e. very large spiders and centipedes) off the bed at night, either a screen on the window or a bug net over the bed. I have spent plenty of time sleeping with bugs but have never paid 18USD to do so. When we woke up there were plenty of bug bites to go around, the worst being a major bite on my girlfriends knee that caused problems for a few days (maybe a spider bite). The roof is also loose, and will shake loudly all night if there is wind (which there always is). Overall, the owner was nice enough, last time I stayed there the breakfast was great, and if you want to pay for the $36 rooms (Im sure they vary during the year) your time there will be great, cable tv! but whatever you do, do NOT stay in the simple double room/storage shed, you'll know your in when you see it! Needless to say, we left the next morning and found a great place a block away with en ensuite bathroom for the same price.

Room Tip: Suites by the back patio are cool and spacious. Don't choose the double with shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AandD_VentureOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This place was not very welcoming. first it's a long walk from the center of Boquete, if you are a backpackers don't go there 'cause it's not worth it. The advantage would be that it's a calm place but not, there are 10 kids of the owner's family constantly noisily playing in the garden all days long so if you wanted comfort forget it ! after check-in we didn't have any more service. Don't even know if there was a breakfast. Absolutely no help or tip for the activities in Boquete.
the pool is 4sq meters, first day dirty, 2day empty, 3rd day full of the owner's kids and friends...
I really felt like intruding into a family in this place... And if it rains, be careful it may rain into your bed ! there are leaks in the roof !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StenRett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
4.5 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#8 of 30 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Machico Hostel Boquete
0.8 mi away
Hotel Central Boquete
Hotel Central Boquete
#9 of 30 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Topas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Topas

Property: Pension Topas
Address: Avenida Belisario | Languna Porras, Boquete, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Topas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Topas Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing