We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful place in a beautiful location with a friendly host.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Pedro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Pedro
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful place in a beautiful location with a friendly host.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We stayed 4 nights in the queen room with a shared bathroom. Peter was a warm and welcoming host, and Marilin provided us with some lovely breakfasts - the biggest platefuls of fresh fruit I have ever seen! The garden is nice, with 2 white rabbits and a pair of tame parrots all hopping around freely, and they feed the wild birds so we saw some beautiful tanagers. It's on a quiet road with great views up above the town, although this caused us a few difficulties staying there without a car. Maybe it was because we stayed during carnaval, but the buses were so infrequent and unpredictable that it was not worth waiting for one. Taxis should only cost $2, but inexplicably for a country that is otherwise fairly efficient, all taxis in Panama are un-metered, so you have to stand in the street arguing with drivers about the price before you can go anywhere. It takes 45 minutes to walk down the hill into town, but it is an easy and scenic walk along a quiet road. Don't even think about walking back up from town! My other main gripe was the shared bathroom: the single cold tapped trickled constantly, and the shower alternated between ice cold and scalding hot water. The services of a plumber are badly needed. The two bedrooms we saw are in need of a fresh coat of paint, too. But overall we had an enjoyable stay with wonderful hosts. They even presented me with a big cake when it was my birthday!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim-Robbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
24
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

Peter was a great host. He was very polite and helpful, answering any questions I had concerning local activities, transportation, etc. His wife, Marilin, cooked us AMAZING Panamanian meals for a very affordable price. If you stay here, I highly recommend having breakfast and dinner here, and anything else Marilin offers you. The house was nice; it's a few minutes drive from town, which only costs $0.60 by bus or taxi. The yard is beautiful, and there is a mountain nearby you can climb up and see an epic view of Boquete (it's a bit steep, beware). The two best things about Casa Pedro: FOOD and PEACE.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brastein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

I had the opportunity to visit Panama during the month of December, 2009. After a not so comfortable stay at another hostel in Boquete, I found Casa Pedro online and stayed for 4 nights in the Suite, which includes a king size bed, full bath tub and separate toilet and sink room. It also has a lovely deck with screened french doors and morning sunshine for those lovely mountain breezes to come in as you sleep. The bed was wonderful, the tub sublime, with lots of hot water (more so in the morning). To find a tub in Panama is a wonderful thing! Hot water is great, too!
Peter Capon and his wife Marilin are lovely hosts, their son Peter Jr. is also a hoot. Marilin cooks a great breakfast, just say what you'd like, she'll do the rest! Do try the fresh Pineapple drinks. This is a B and B, so breakfast is included in the room rate. The casa boasts chickens, rabbits, an organic veggie garden, organic coffee grown on the property, plus a big screen tv in the living area for guest enjoyment. Peter has hundreds of movies to choose from, plus can help you sort out places to visit, sites of interest.
The prices are reasonable, and the Casa can accommodate small to large parties, plus has a standalone casita in the back that can be rented for longer visits. Do visit Casa Pedro on your next visit to Boquete (the hostel is 8 minutes to town) for nice folks, great accommodations and good food and company! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazpizzazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

We had a wonderful stay at this off-the beaten track but accessible little hotel/hostel. My husband and I stayed for 2 weeks in a lovely, sparkling clean and nicely furnished private guest suite, with gorgeous views, w/ private bath and balcony and access to a fully equipped kitchen and laundry. We toured the countryside on foot and by bicycle and car, took Spanish classes at the excellent school in Boquete, and tried out the town's many charming restaurants. Several low-price shared-bath rooms were also available, so there's something for all budget ranges here. Go, you'll be glad you did.

  • Liked — the picturesque setting
  • Disliked — we liked everything
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1.0 mi away
Hostal Nomba
Hostal Nomba
#14 of 48 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.2 mi away
El Machico Hostel Boquete
0.3 mi away
Villa Marita
Villa Marita
#7 of 48 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Rio Encantado
Cabanas Rio Encantado
#10 of 48 in Boquete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
4.3 mi away
Spanish by the River-Boquete
0.6 mi away
Boquete Garden Inn
Boquete Garden Inn
#2 of 30 in Boquete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pedro

Property: Casa Pedro
Address: Arco Iris, Alto Lino | Diagonal a Clinica Dental Dr. Riviera, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pedro is a picturesque, small mid-range accommodation, bed and breakfast, hostal and lodging on the outskirts of Boquete with an outdoor cottage, situated in a picturesque plateau with stunning panoramic views of the hillside and surrounding valley, with abundant recreational and sightseeing opportunities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing