We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Pension Marilos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boquete
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Marilos
Ranked #20 of 27 Boquete B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice, clean, comfortable rooms at Pension Marilos. The prices are extremely reasonable for what you get! This is a great place to relax at night and get a very comfortable sleep. There is also a kitchen with a very nice dining room, good wifi, hot water and a very friendly parrot who greets you when you walk in the door.

Boquete is a fabulous little town and places like this make it more enjoyable.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bumblebee0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Pension Marilos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Pension Marilos was probably the best place we have stayed during our trip so far. It's so cheap, ($10 dollars each for a private room with private bath) especially for what you get. The room was really nice and absolutely spotless. It's a quiet place, apart from the parrot, so its lovely after a day of hiking in Boquete. It's cheaper than the hostel on the square and is only a two minute walk down the road from the restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaaikePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in early May. We had stumbled upon it on the internet when looking at reviews for other hostels and decided to give it a go. It didn't start well when we called to make a reservation and Frank said he wouldn't take reservations. We tried again another time and he relented. We were not greeted with the warmest of welcomes and were a little concerned but there was no doubt the room was great value, very large, super clean with ensuite (only lukewarm water though) but for $20 a night it was clearly great value (especially as we saw some of the other hostels in town where friends were staying that charge more for considerably less).
There is a good kitchen you are welcome to use and wi-fi (a little unstable at times). After a day or so Frank warmed up and he had some interesting stories to share. The atmosphere is very quiet but that suited us fine.
In Boquete be careful of information, everyone has a different answer (including Frank) and very few people seem to know anything about public transport, treks etc.
Franks parrot is very talkative and ask Frank to get him to go for a walk into the dark room, you will swear a practical joke is being played with the amazing sounds it can make. During the week the women who work here live with their children and it can be a little noisy and chaotic but no big deal.
If you want a super clean (cleaned everyday, daily change of towel!!!) good sized room and don't mind a lack of atmosphere and the lowest price in town this is your place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at Pension Marilos for 4 nights in June 2013. It was an excellent value at US$20 / night. The atmosphere is very laid back and the owner and the workers are all friendly and non-obtrusive. The parrot and the dogs are cute, but the parrot is a little bit noisy (and sounds like a per-pubescent goat).

The rooms are big and airy and nice for the money.

The hot water wasn't working in one of the rooms we took-- however the laid back atmosphere made it easy to swap to a better room.

Room Tip: Choose a garden-side room-- the street-side rooms get a bit noisy and are much less private.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worlando52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

$20 for 2 of us in a spacious room with private bathroom. Plus our room was serviced daily! The parrot is very noisy but luckily not during the night. Located in a quiet street a few minutes walk from the main street. We got our laundry done across the street, had a great massage with Kitzie at Spa Boquete & highly recommend dinner at Fish House.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amaanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

When moving to Boquete we stayed for 3 weeks and loved it...Frank and his staff are awesome!
Very clean, beds are comfortable and everyone there are always willing to be helpful...At night its very quite...We highly recommend Franks place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinroman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We have been for 1 month in Panama and we were 5 nights in Pension Marilos. We didn't need warm showers to get warm here. It was the atmosphere: Frank, the house keeping their kids, the other people and the kitchen. which gave us warmth. Thank you Frank for a great stay in your place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.1 mi away
El Oasis Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#8 of 12 in Boquete
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Garden by Refugio del Rio
0.2 mi away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#6 of 50 in Boquete
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Topas
Pension Topas
#16 of 27 in Boquete
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Marilos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Marilos

Address: Entrega General, Boquete, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range: £4 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boquete, Chiriqui in Western Panama, Pension Marilos is consistently recommended as one of the best hotels in Panama for travelers. Owned and operated by Frank Glavas, with his welcoming attitude, fluent English & Spanish, and extensive knowledge of the local area, Frank has made Pension Marilos a preferred resting stop for many travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Marilos Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing