We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and friendly management”
Review of Pension Marilos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boquete
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Marilos
Ranked #19 of 27 Boquete B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This place is a great budget option. The rooms are basic but very clean; think the guest bedroom at your grandparents' house. The bathroom was clean but our shower wasn't the best; it was hard to get hot water and the temperature changed frequently, but I can't wouldn't complain, this place is a wonderful value. The staff are very friendly! Frank was really nice and Luisa was very sweet as well. It's both family- and couple-friendly. I would recommend it to other budget travelers. It is basic, well-kept, and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pico427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a lovely place to stay in Boquete. Close to town, about three blocks from the city centre. Rooms are clean and a good temperature. There is a nice dining area to have breakfast and use of a kitchen to cook your own meals. Staff are friendly. Unbeatable value at $USD15 for a room with a shared bathroom. Lonely Planet described the rooms here as well worn, but that certainly wasn't our experience.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank robby71187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We could not believe the price that Frank asked us for a comfortable room with 2 beds, hot water, wifi and use of the kitchen and fridge, very well located in Boquete! And when we had to postpone our arrival, he was very nice about it and said "no problem, arrive whenever you can, you'll have a room". This is by far the best price we've had in our three-month road trip in Panama. We became friends with the dog Lucas and the parrot Rikki, who spoke a lot yes, but not enough to annoy us since we were busy walking up and down Boquete, or going on tours. The house was very quiet most of the time and if you chose the right moment you had the kitchen for yourself, I was usually alone at breakfast time, except for Frank cleaning up Rikki's cage and preparing food for his dogs before going to work. Another great thing was that I could do my laundry and hang it outside in the sun.
Nous avons discuté plusieurs fois avec Frank qui a une histoire familiale intéressante et est amateur d'art et d'antiquités et qui, contrairement à ce qu'un des commentaires donne à penser, n'est pas avidement intéressé par l'argent, bien au contraire, nous disant que nous pourrions le payer à la fin du séjour alors même que nous sommes restées une semaine!
La maison est propre, la seule chose que j'aurais aimé avoir sont des chaises de jardin pour profiter de ce bel environnement et lire dehors plutôt que dans la salle à manger.
Merci Frank, Rikki et Lucas pour un agréable séjour chez vous!

Room Tip: Our room was facing the garden area, and therefore very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micarmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Located a 5' walk from main square and supermarket in a safe area
Mattresses are good,beds warm and room clean, all areas are well cleaned daily. Bathroom and shower fairly clean. Warm water at all times
Cheapest in town,quiet after 10,good if running away from party crowd
Kitchen and fridge can be used,shared with owner and his staff
Animal friendly,lovely and well behaved dogs around
Strong and reliable internet connection
Lovely back garden where you can hang clothes to dry. Some rooms face this area,which seems like the quietest (ours faced the street,noise was easily bypassed with earplugs)

Cons
Very noisy parrot that cries non-stop, making being in the common area nerve-wracking at times
Loud tv playing music pretty much all day,allegedly TV room is for common use; in practice is mostly used by owner and his staff,using it feels out of order. Must say I asked owner to lower volume and he did it at once.
We were not explained where kitchen things where or how to use it,it'd been nice to know which things were ok for guests to use and which ones not
Owner,although polite and informative when asked,was quite serious and unfriendly at times,raising his voice even when politely asked why the price we were given on the phone was $1 higher than the one published in the notice board as the official one and asking whether possible to have it at the published price if staying an extra night.His answer was to raise his voice saying business costs were now too high and he was already offering the cheapest price in town. It's a fair point,however increasing your published price is illegal as far as I know,as is the fact he didn't give us an invoice (legally enforced in Panamá to avoid tax evasion,massive poster on the same board), so not sure what to think. In any case the angry tone was completely unnecessary and only made us extremely uncomfortable, negotiating a cheaper price is common practice across Latin America and we accepted his refusal without a former word.
He didn't smile or initiated conversation with either us or any other guests in our presence in the 4 days we were there, I respectfully disagree with the description that calls him friendly,that was not our experience,rather the opposite. Very unfortunate, if not made feel more like intruders than guests,I would say it's perfect in terms of price,cleaningness and location. I must add we were allowed to keep our luggage in the hall for free, which was quite nice from them.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Thom_and_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We spent three nights at the Pension. The value for what you get is great. We were happy with our room, it was comfortable and clean. Although the pension was full, it was quiet. It was a really nice family feeling with the common area and kitchen. The owner is helpful too with anything you need.
We really liked that it was only a couple of blocks from the main center of town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JypsiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

The price we payed for a big double room with privat bathroom was too good too be true!
The host is realy nice, speaks super good english and spanish and can help you with allmost anything.
There is also two quit dogs and a very cute bird!
Realy clean rooms and also the rest of the house is very clean. :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HenrikSandberg76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I occupied alone during 4 days, a double room with shared bathroom for $10 per night. The room was large and well decorated. Guests can use a large and well furnished kitchen, and a dinning room. The pension is clean and rooms are made daily.
The owner gave me appropriate advices to organise several activities around.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 69Hilander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.0 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valle Escondido Resort Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boquete Lodge
Boquete Lodge
#1 of 52 in Boquete
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Jungla Experience
La Jungla Experience
#4 of 27 in Boquete
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Marilos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Marilos

Address: Entrega General, Boquete, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range: £5 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boquete, Chiriqui in Western Panama, Pension Marilos is consistently recommended as one of the best hotels in Panama for travelers. Owned and operated by Frank Glavas, with his welcoming attitude, fluent English & Spanish, and extensive knowledge of the local area, Frank has made Pension Marilos a preferred resting stop for many travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Marilos Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing