We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting in the forest”
Review of Tinamou Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boquete
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tinamou Cottages
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
287 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting in the forest”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were two couples who shared Highland Tinamou Cottage for four nights. As birders, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Sitting on the back terrace waiting for the birds to arrive is a comfortable, lazy way to bird. We also went out with Terry, the co-owner, who is an accomplished birding guide. Boquete has a delightful climate and a great change if you have been spending time of the coast or in Panama City. Tinamou Cottage is quite far from town, so it is best enjoyed by those who have their own transport. Terry brings a morning breakfast basket to your cottage and Boquete is endowed with a number of good restaurants. An alternative is to buy food at a local supermarket and cook dinner in the cottage which has a kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sptravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a wonderful mountain retreat. The hosts, Terri and Hans made us truly welcome - we only stayed 2 nights but we already felt like we were visiting old friends.
The cottage was lovely. Humming birds come onto the balcony and there is an abundance of other birds and wildlife. Only wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperopolis, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed with my husband and 3 adult children for 4 nights recently and staying here was a real highlight of our trip through Panama. The cottage is beautiful, all the comforts you could wish for-Best of all, each morning a basket of pastries, fruit and wonderful coffee are hanging outside your door! The beds are super comfortable, the living and kitchen areas are great and the porch provides a lovely view of coffee trees and birds. Hans and Terri are wonderful hosts! We also took a tour of a coffee finca and found it to be extremely interesting- as well as delicious coffee tasting! Staying here was a real treat!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel but hired Hans for a cloud forest tour. He was informative, interesting, and very accommodating. But his forte is his story telling...loves to spin a story tying in little details that are thrown out in the beginning and somehow ties it all back in the end ;-) Great guide!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gzbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
341 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Every step of the way Terri and Hans were gracious hosts. You will love your stay at Tinamou, it is beautiful and a great place to relax, chill, hike, bird watch, or check your wifi. Terri sent out a very comprehensive list of things to do, places to eat you name it. When we arrive we were impressed with the workmanship of the cottages. Really a more comfortable place you won't find. We went out birding with Terri and saw about 60 different birds on what Terri claimed was a slow day. In the morning you will be greeted not only by birds but a carafe of coffee of the day and baguettes. The only negative of this place is that we didn't stay longer. Near by the town is a must visit along with finca lerida. Oh and the two dogs you will fall in love with them.

Room Tip: It is easy to transit to Bocas del toro from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esopus35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I'm surprised more birders don't know about the Tinamou Cottages. Your hosts Hans and Terry are absolutely hospitable and make sure your every needs are met. You get strong wifi in your cabin, which is something that was very important to me during our stay. For coffee drinkers, you get a different coffee each morning in your breakfast basket (and Boquete is world-famous for its coffee), along with pastry and fresh fruits. We recommend that you go into town and get some protein, like yogurt and cheese, if having protein for breakfast is important to you. We also bought some orange juice as well. The kitchenette is perfect if you want to cook too. Frankly, I could have moved in if Hans and Terry would let me. Boquete has great restaurants and Hans and Terry have terrific recommendations. We also booked Terry for two days of bird guiding, which was some of my favorite days birding.

Comfortable bed, good bathroom with shower and hot water. Plenty of electrical outlets to plug into, very clean two friendly dogs (Spot and Max) who will greet you every time you come back to the cottages.

We're definitely going to stay there again when we go back to Boquete.

Room Tip: If you're a birder we highly recommend the Great Tinamou Cottage. You've got great views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed with Hans and Terri for three nights in the little tinamou cottage which was perfect for the two of us. We enjoyed the coffee tour with Hans as well. There two dogs kept us company. They lead other hikes and bird watching as well. They leave you a breakfast basket with coffee and pastries every morning. Yum! Like Santa!!! We found it to be very affordable and a good value especially with good wifi and friendly advice provided

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tntbolsachica2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 11 in Boquete
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boquete Garden Inn
Boquete Garden Inn
#2 of 28 in Boquete
834 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Marita
Villa Marita
#8 of 48 in Boquete
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinamou Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinamou Cottages

Property: Tinamou Cottages
Address: Finca Habbus de Kwie | Habbus de Kwie, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Boquete
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tinamou cottage. Located 5 to 10 minutes by car from the Boquete center (now all asphalt road !). Three romantic cottages with all comfort amongst nature. Privately situated in the jungle on the 22 Acre Habbus de Kwie estate. Imagine waking up in the morning with an orchestra of birds. Starting your day with delicious breakfast on your own private porch overlooking the jungle...While sipping one of the fines coffee on the world. Every morning a different Boquete coffee to taste ! Specially bird watchers and the nature lovers are invited to stay. Hope to meet you soon Terry & Hans ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing