We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most overpriced restaurant in Boquete”
Review of Hotel Panamonte

Hotel Panamonte
Ranked #7 of 104 Restaurants in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Since 1914, the Hotel Panamonte has been the Old world charm in the enchanting highlands of Boquete luxurious rooms and indulgent culinary experience of choice for travelers from near and far. For more than 50 years, the Collins-Elliot family has blended their Old World Swedish tradition of hospitality with the friendliness of Panama in Boquete's extraordinary cloud forest setting of mountains, valleys, waterfalls and flowers. The result is the creation of a destination luxury hotel that combines the best of history with modern amenities. For three generations, families from Panama City, the United States and Europe have been coming to The Panamonte to celebrate weddings, honeymoons, christenings, family, and corporative reunions. Discover for yourself why staying at the Hotel Panamonte has become a tradition-it is so much more than just place to rest. It is a place from which to refresh the body, mind, and spirit and make memories that will last a lifetime.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Most overpriced restaurant in Boquete”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It started out great. BLT was 4.95 and almond trout was 9.99
etc.
Now the BLT is 8.00 and the almond trout is 15.00 and they raised
the prices overnight and a lot of people quit going. a well drink
is 5.00. Most locals do not go there anymore. Nice atmosphere but
San Franciso prices and Boquete is a little mountain town with
no architecture and the high prices just make it a turn off.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    161
    69
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alto Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a nice restaurant whether you are having breakfast, lunch or dinner. A little on the expensive side but the food is very good and so is the service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karena066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level Contributor
148 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“QUALITY FOOD BUT WOULDN'T GO BACK--TOO BLAND!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This restaurant gets a lot of rave reviews, but I just don't agree with them. Yes the atmosphere can't be beat, especially in the bar with the fireplaces and the perfectly manicured grounds. So if you want to have a look maybe just go for happy hour.

We ordered a nice salad with cranberries, cheese, nuts, etc and it was very tasty. For the two entrees we had the mushroom risotto and the almond trout with mashed potatoes and creamed spinach. Everything except the spinach was quite bland and needed salt added for flavor. They were both cooked spot on and visually a feast, but seriously lacking in flavor.

Service was great, but due to the bland flavor wouldn't return or recommend to a friend.















Sent from my iPad

Sent from my iPad this place to a friend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Consistent wonderful service ”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at this beautiful historic hotel and this time we chose the only room with a outdoor fireplace. Very glad that we did as we spent countless hours during our weeks visit in the cool evenings ( as the temperature drops to 60 degrees or so ) watching the fire, the stars and enjoyed wonderful conversation. The room service is also excellent and the good is 5 stars.

Helpful?
Thank mandmsilverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
248 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Dinner on a Wednesday”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Dinner on a Wednesday night highly recommended by our local friend Randy. This place is very romantic. They have a nice wine list for those that enjoy a nice glass. Fireplaces set around the bar area for those that like a more outdoor loungey feel while they sip on their vino. Moderately priced but cheap when compared to similar places around the world. First class fresh locally sourced ingredients and great service make this my #1 choice for a romantic night out.

Helpful?
Thank Fries_with_Ketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Panamonte also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Hotel Panamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing